Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Which LNB is for Sat 119 ?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   R DAVIS

R DAVIS

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2008

Posted 21 September 2012 - 06:40 PM

HELP. This is driving me nuts. I want to use the aluminum foil trick to cover LNBs for 110 and 129 so I can peak my signal on 119 to make SURE I am aiming at the correct sat with the correct LNB. Receiver is VIP 211K (only one receiver) and dish is 1000.4 WA

When looking at the Dish Network instruction sheet that came with my dish, there are two different diagrams of the LNB setup on the 1000.4 WA dish. One shows the center LNB to be 110, and another shows the center LNB to be 119. WHICH IS CORRECT ?

Also, on the Dish Summary Screen, in what order left to right, should the Satellite Input show after I run Check Switch? Should it be Port 1-119, Port 2-110, and Port 3-129 or WHAT?



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,966 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 September 2012 - 06:44 PM

Middle is 119; Should be Port 1-119, Port 2-110, and Port 3-129

#3 OFFLINE   R DAVIS

R DAVIS

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2008

Posted 19 October 2012 - 11:10 AM

OK. I did the aluminum foil trick and peaked the dish on 119 T 21 and am getting signals above 80 on 119 T13 and T21. Everything checks out fine on check switch and I get all programming EXCEPT for what is on Sat 119 EVEN Transponders. No signal at all on the even transponders, but strong signals on the 119 Odd transponders, and both odd and even on Sats 110 & 129.

I replaced the coax with new GE RG6 which did not help. Then I hooked up the receiver to a different WA dish and it works just fine on the other dish, so that eliminates it being a receiver issue.

SO, what can be the problem ? Can it be in the feed horn / switch, or does the fact that odd and even both work on the other sats eliminate that as a possible problem ? Can it possibly be mis aimed ? Since I get a strong signal on all the sats and transponders except 119 even, I am doubting that.

This is a receiver and dish I own, and I would prefer to fix the issue myself rather than have a tech charge to come out. It's getting to be a personal challenge now.

Can anyone help ?


#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,966 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 October 2012 - 11:16 AM

If you using SAME coax/port for two different boxes and got different result, then I would start measures of 13/18 VDC at the failing receiver.

#5 OFFLINE   R DAVIS

R DAVIS

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2008

Posted 19 October 2012 - 12:42 PM

If you using SAME coax/port for two different boxes and got different result, then I would start measures of 13/18 VDC at the failing receiver.


No, perhaps I didn't make it clear. I used the SAME receiver but connected to different dishes, one and then the other.

The receiver performs properly when hooked to one of the two dishes, but does not receive the even transponders on 119 when connected to the other dish. These two dishes are mounted on different ends of my roof. The problem one now has a new coax to no avail. Both dishes have unobstructed view of all the sats, and both indicate approx same signal strength.

Does this sound like a feed horn / switch issue or something else. I understand the different voltages control which polarity is used, but need to know where the problem lies.

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,966 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 October 2012 - 12:54 PM

1k4 dish has internal switch, so you're limited to expensive trial: get new 1k4 LNBF combo
or call dish order DHPP and complain in a few days after that, perhaps it will less costly solution for you
oh, don't stop the DHPP early or you'd pay $25 termination fee !




Protected By... spam firewall...And...