Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is my 722 a goner?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jedi5

jedi5

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 22 September 2012 - 06:58 PM

Woke up this morning and my 722 was acting up. No signal so I thought it was the weather as it rained last night.
After awhile I notice that the 722 would keep trying to reboot or rest itself.
I would hear it start to whirl up but nothing happened.
This went on and on with nothing really happening, just the whirling noise.

I left the house pretty much all day and got back this evening and I still have no TV. 722 is still trying to reboot or reset itself... or at least that's what it sounds like.

I've unplugged, pressed the reset button, pulled out the card, talked nicely to the 722 and nothing works.

Is it dead? If so, will I be charged for a replacement DVR?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,830 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 September 2012 - 07:13 PM

unplug power cord, give him 15-20 min to cool down first

#3 OFFLINE   jedi5

jedi5

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 22 September 2012 - 07:59 PM

Done all that and still nothing.

The receiver will reboot on its own, work for 2-3 minutes (if that) and reboot again. That's pretty much what it has been doing all day long.
Some times it will work for those 2-3 minutes other times nothing.

The 722 is not that old, it is 3 yrs old.

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,830 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 September 2012 - 08:44 PM

I would open a cover, direct a fan into it and see if it could run, perhaps its overheating

#5 OFFLINE   jedi5

jedi5

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 23 September 2012 - 04:24 PM

Nope, that didn't work either.

I think my 722 is a goner.

So if I call and request a replacement, I'm guessing they will charge me, right?
Should I sign up the protection plan at $7 a month, get my new receiver, and then cancel the protection plan?

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,830 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 September 2012 - 06:46 PM

Sure you can, just calculate right time for the cancellation, today they will charge you $25 if you'll do that early.

#7 OFFLINE   jedi5

jedi5

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 27 September 2012 - 08:14 AM

Thanks for the help!

New receiver came in and is now activated!

#8 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 336 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 02 October 2012 - 10:26 AM

Thanks for the help!

New receiver came in and is now activated!


I was going to respond that my 722k did much the same thing last week. Got my replacement rec yesterday. Installed it with no problems and all seems good now. I hope hooking up your replacement was as easy as mine

Cost was $0--they waived the shipping charge-I'm guessing because I've been a customer for something like 15 yrs. Today the old rec get's boxed up to ship back tomorrow




Protected By... spam firewall...And...