Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Contemplating ota/dvr options post dish


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,554 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:19 AM

TiVo notes that the newest HD TiVo's (Premiere 4 and Premiere XL4) aren't compatible with OTA. They feature four QAM tuners and no OTA tuners. The Premiere still handles OTA but it is questionable how much longer it will be offered.

The Channel Master (Echostar) has two tuners.


I was recommending the HD TiVo , not the Premiere.

I have 2 TiVo series 3 Model TCD662160's with the original HDD's repalced by 1TB WD DVR drives - 142 Hrs HD, 1241 hrs SD capacity, both together cost me less than $600 including the special DVR hard drives.

I do not even look at the Premiere Line, Series 4, but all but the latest Premiere 4 do have OTA capability, that is something you need to watch with buying a TiVo - read the fine print and make sure the unit you buy is OTA capable.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   thomas_d92

thomas_d92

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2004

Posted 30 September 2012 - 10:36 AM

I bought a Tivo XL premiere with lifetime service for $315 used and it does ota. The new Elite Series Tivo does not do ota. I am very satisfied with my purchase. The Tivo puts my Directv HR20-700 to shame.

#28 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 5,947 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 30 September 2012 - 11:15 AM

Not sure why folkz is buyin' gadgets what has subscription rates when WMC is FREE to use.
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#29 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,554 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:20 PM

Not sure why folkz is buyin' gadgets what has subscription rates when WMC is FREE to use.


Free if you don't mind tying up or having to buy an extra computer.

Dedicated units are much more user friendly, but WMC does work.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#30 OFFLINE   Inkosaurus

Inkosaurus

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2011

Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:02 PM

Drives are nearly loaded up with recordings right now as I'm planning on dropping Dish after this annual renewal since they will be dropping the DVR fee credit.


Wow. WOOOOW.

Of all the people on this forum I least expected a post like that from you SW.
All the crap you've given people over asking for credits or demanding credits to return after they run there course, or people leaving once there credits are done.

And you've been doing the same thing all along lol.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...