Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Go back to the old layout


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   NateCohen

NateCohen

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 01:38 PM

Hi I currently have a HR22-100 receiver.
Ever since getting the new update to my receiver it has been VERY slow.
I takes like 5 seconds for the guide to show up.
When I type in channel numbers is always takes forever for the receiver to register.
The channels take forever to change.


It's just so frustrating.

Is there a way I can go to the old layout because that one was much faster. I just can't deal with the new set up.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 23 September 2012 - 01:51 PM

Is there a way I can go to the old layout because that one was much faster. I just can't deal with the new set up.


No way to go back. Call support and complain. Maybe you will get free Showtime ;)

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:01 PM

No, you can not go back. What software is your HR22 running, NateCohen?

Are you using IR or RF for the remote?

Do you find the same slowness when operating the play, pause, fast forward and rewind functions or only when changing channels and in the Guide?
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#4 OFFLINE   NateCohen

NateCohen

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:04 PM

Is there a way to make is faster then? It's pretty much not usable.

#5 OFFLINE   NateCohen

NateCohen

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:06 PM

The DVR functions aren't too bad it's pretty much using the guide and changing channels and inputting numbers.

Like I will press numbers and it won't respond...but like 2-3 seconds later they will all show up. It makes it so hard to type in a certain channel number.

#6 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:09 PM

Have your tried any number of suggestions found here?

The first one is to restart the DVR in the Reset Settings section of the Menu.

I very rarely actually enter the channel number anymore.
I use the Quick Tune feature and have a Favorites Guide.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#7 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,556 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:12 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...954&postcount=1

Try that (if you use be Directv remote) and turn native and scrolling effects off.

#8 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,856 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:32 PM

To try to speed up responses,

Try this:
Go into Menu, Settings, Display,
Resolutions and uncheck all but the 1080i resolution,
also
Display, Video and set Native to OFF

Menu, Settings, Display, Preferences and set Scrolling to OFF.

Now Menu, Settings, Reset and use the first choice in the list to reset the receiver.

You might want to try this also.
Go to channel 1.
Once the page is operating including audio,
use the remote and press Red, Red, Blue, Blue, Yellow, Green in exactly that order.
This must be done quickly. Otherwise the yellow press will bring up a quick
options menu. That will display a message about the NVRAM being cleared inthe lower left.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#9 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:33 PM

The OP should be able to enter channel numbers and use the Guide successfully.

It doesn't sound like IR interference. I'd still like to know which software he's running.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#10 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,556 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:41 PM

To try to speed up responses,

Try this:
Go into Menu, Settings, Display,
Resolutions and uncheck all but the 1080i resolution,
also
Display, Video and set Native to OFF

Menu, Settings, Display, Preferences and set Scrolling to OFF.

Now Menu, Settings, Reset and use the first choice in the list to reset the receiver.

You might want to try this also.
Go to channel 1.
Once the page is operating including audio,
use the remote and press Red, Red, Blue, Blue, Yellow, Green in exactly that order.
This must be done quickly. Otherwise the yellow press will bring up a quick
options menu. That will display a message about the NVRAM being cleared inthe lower left.


According to VOS, it's going to channel 1 for long enough that does it, not clearing NVRAM.

#11 OFFLINE   Xsabresx

Xsabresx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 981 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:46 PM

It's getting bad when you have to reboot and then disable virtually every function to get the DVR to work with any semblance of speed.
since 2001

HR20-700 -- LG 55LH55 LCD
HR23-700 -- Sony KDL-60EX500 LCD
HR21-100 --Vizio VA26LHDTV10T
H24-100 -- Hitachi 51F59 Rear Projection
H24-100 -- Some tube that wont die

#12 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,596 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 03:16 PM

It's getting bad when you have to reboot and then disable virtually every function to get the DVR to work with any semblance of speed.


It's never been a problem with my receivers. The new UI has been a huge improvement.
DTV = Digital Television

#13 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 23 September 2012 - 03:48 PM

Agreed that the HD GUI update has increased, not decreased, the speed of my DVRs.

There was that batch of bad software a few months ago, and after the HD GUI update, that slowed down my HR23 but didn't seem to affect my HR20 too badly. With the latest update, 0x5d2, which came out last June, the slowness went away.

That's why I continue to be interested in the software the OP is running.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#14 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,856 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 23 September 2012 - 03:58 PM

According to VOS, it's going to channel 1 for long enough that does it, not clearing NVRAM.


I have not seen that post.
Are you saying that just being on the channel 1 for "x" amount of time helps the same or better than clearing the NVRAM ?

Thanks

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#15 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 23 September 2012 - 04:14 PM

Yes, that is what I remember VOS' post saying.

I imagine if you enter the Red-Red-Blue-Blue-Yellow-Green sequence, it will clear the RAM more quickly...

...probably because it then says "NVRAM/FLASH Cleared"...

...but according to VOS, just staying on Channel 1 will also clear the RAM.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#16 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,556 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 04:34 PM

I just found it through a search on Google.

http://www.dbstalk.c...98&postcount=13

#17 OFFLINE   Xsabresx

Xsabresx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 981 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 05:14 PM

Agreed that the HD GUI update has increased, not decreased, the speed of my DVRs.

There was that batch of bad software a few months ago, and after the HD GUI update, that slowed down my HR23 but didn't seem to affect my HR20 too badly. With the latest update, 0x5d2, which came out last June, the slowness went away.

That's why I continue to be interested in the software the OP is running.


Honestly, I think you are just used to the slowness. It bogged my HR23 down with the Feb (I think) release and has never really gotten better. It is tolerable but by no stretch of the imagination is it an increase or "improved performance" running 0x5d2.

Granted I do have Native on and Scrolling effects on, but my point is that turning them off should not be required for improved performance. It should simply be a preference.

My HR20 has never really been an issue.
since 2001

HR20-700 -- LG 55LH55 LCD
HR23-700 -- Sony KDL-60EX500 LCD
HR21-100 --Vizio VA26LHDTV10T
H24-100 -- Hitachi 51F59 Rear Projection
H24-100 -- Some tube that wont die

#18 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 23 September 2012 - 05:31 PM

Honestly, I think you are just used to the slowness.

I'm glad you know better than me how my DVR works. :rolleyes:

It was back to its normal self after the last software update.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#19 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,705 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 23 September 2012 - 06:43 PM

Honestly, I think you are just used to the slowness. It bogged my HR23 down with the Feb (I think) release and has never really gotten better. It is tolerable but by no stretch of the imagination is it an increase or "improved performance" running 0x5d2.

Granted I do have Native on and Scrolling effects on, but my point is that turning them off should not be required for improved performance. It should simply be a preference.

My HR20 has never really been an issue.


I'm the opposite. My original hr20 choked on the new GUI. My used to be god awful slow HR21 is now lightening fast. I have native and scrolling on. My other hr20 is about the same as it ever was although scrolling is faster with the new GUI.

My h24 is ridiculously fast but it is an h24 and not a dvr.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#20 OFFLINE   NateCohen

NateCohen

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 23 September 2012 - 09:05 PM

Hi, sorry for not responding for a while.
I only use my DirecTV for NFL Sunday Ticket...so my receiver has been unplugged since Feburary...

How do I check to see what's the latest software?

Edit: Never mind found the software... it's 0x5d2

Edited by NateCohen, 23 September 2012 - 09:11 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...