Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

dbstalk not loading


  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#41 ONLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,378 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 27 September 2012 - 02:44 AM

Thanks David, the last change to your system seems to have done the trick, all appears to be well this morning.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,537 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 27 September 2012 - 04:06 AM

Thanks David, the last change to your system seems to have done the trick, all appears to be well this morning.


+1......Two days after experiencing issues site is working again.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#43 OFFLINE   Volman

Volman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 344 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 27 September 2012 - 04:20 AM

I'm good today, as well.

Fred

#44 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,210 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 27 September 2012 - 06:30 AM

I was using Firefox. After reading the last few posts I just tried IE9 and it works fine this morning.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#45 OFFLINE   David Bott

David Bott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Administrators
  • 2,060 posts
  • LocationTraveling the USA
Joined: Jul 12, 2005

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:03 AM

I will keep the change in an see if the trend continues for this morning and afternoon. If so, I will add it back in late afternoon and see if it again starts to happen.

(Just want to be sure as it will end up costing the site a few hundred dollars if I turn it off.)

Thanks

#46 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,210 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:11 AM

I will keep the change in an see if the trend continues for this morning and afternoon. If so, I will add it back in late afternoon and see if it again starts to happen.

(Just want to be sure as it will end up costing the site a few hundred dollars if I turn it off.)

Thanks


If it turns out that this one is the culprit, maybe the provider of it can fix it so that it doesn't hang and hog over half of the memory.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#47 OFFLINE   David Bott

David Bott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Administrators
  • 2,060 posts
  • LocationTraveling the USA
Joined: Jul 12, 2005

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:23 AM

My guess is that is could be Java Script or Flash that might be doing it that was updated recently the the ad call is using. It does not seem to be happening to all...Like I can not reproduce it thus all the questions.

Not that their could not be an issue elsewhere with the other provider...But remember, this would be TWO separate providers I have now disabled based on feedback and testing. As such, I am thinking a recent bad roll out.

It also could be a bad ad that is being served heavily by both providers that is messing up Flash. (Just thoughts.)

#48 OFFLINE   retromzc

retromzc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 236 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2007

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:53 AM

Working fine with IE9 this morning. Yesterday main page would load and then freeze the computer. I had to control-alt-delete to get off the page.
R. B.

1 H20-100 receiver
1 HR24-500 dvr receiver
Sony 40" lcd
Sony XBR46HX929 led

#49 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,210 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:53 AM

I don't think it is a script.
My reason for that is that when I am running Firefox I have a plug in, or whatever it is called, "No Scripts ".
I can let them all run and the site runs fine.
I can block all scripts that are trying to run, several of them, except for the one for the DBS site itself and it still runs.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#50 OFFLINE   patmurphey

patmurphey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 519 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:33 AM

I'm having the same problem with IE9 on this and other vBulletin forums (i.e., satelliteguys.us) that have a large number of ads. IE does not let you see and/or navigate a page until everything is loaded. The contextweb.com is the biggest but not the only delay source. I have to use Chrome to browse these sites because it allows viewing and navigation while all those ads are loading.

#51 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,251 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:46 AM

I'm having no problems using Chrome. I feel left out.. :nono2:

Rich

#52 OFFLINE   David Bott

David Bott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Administrators
  • 2,060 posts
  • LocationTraveling the USA
Joined: Jul 12, 2005

Posted 27 September 2012 - 02:25 PM

So...Still nto sure then if the problem is still their or not as I have mixed response. So, I may just turn the other providers back on as it does not seem at this point to be the issues and IE9 seems to be more of the issue.

Could also be poor routes to the providers with something happening on the net. (Not us directly, but the route to get the ads.)

Augh!!!

#53 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,623 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 02:37 PM

For what it's worth...the screen lockup issues I've experienced here using IE9 a few days back appear to no longer happen as of today.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#54 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,235 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 02:38 PM

If it's costing you mony, then by all means turn em back on. I have other browsers I can use. I think I'll have a few more beers then snap off a letter to the Office of the President. Maybe Microsoft will respond.:rolleyes:
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#55 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,251 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 02 October 2012 - 12:32 PM

I'm having a problem loading DBS pages on Chrome as we speak. Having no problems with other sites.

Rich

#56 OFFLINE   David Bott

David Bott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Administrators
  • 2,060 posts
  • LocationTraveling the USA
Joined: Jul 12, 2005

Posted 02 October 2012 - 12:39 PM

I see no issues I am sorry to say.

#57 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,251 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 02 October 2012 - 12:45 PM

I see no issues I am sorry to say.


Don't seem to be having that problem right now. Just sent you a PM, ignore it. Let me try a few more times.

Rich

#58 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,251 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 02 October 2012 - 12:50 PM

Just tried again and it seems to be OK. Don't know what happened. Whoops, trying to send this post and I'm still not able to without trying numerous times.

Rich

#59 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,251 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 02 October 2012 - 01:09 PM

I'm sending this on Firefox, let's see what happens.

Rich

#60 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,251 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 02 October 2012 - 01:10 PM

No problem with Firefox.

Rich




spam firewall