Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34: Version 0x05C2 Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
157 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,832 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 26 September 2012 - 07:49 AM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for HR34, version 0x05C2

Release notes: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=209110

We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.

Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.


Thanks!

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,713 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 September 2012 - 12:06 PM

You can now use drives larger than 2TB on an HR34! Just remember eSATA is unsupported. If it doesn't work for you, don't complain.

My HR34 is working great with 9TB using an eSATA enclosure that supports RAID 5.

I also tested it with a 3TB drive, 12TB JBOD, 4TB JBOD, 6TB JBOD and 3TB RAID 1. Each setup was partitioned to use the full drive.

Just a note: Based on my findings with these setups DirecTV's portion of the drive is 10% of total space.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#3 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 26 September 2012 - 04:31 PM

How do I get rid of these annoying prompts? Everytime I switch to ESPN, a small banner on the bottom of the screen pops up for a few seconds, telling me I can record the show by hitting the Record button. Well, duh! Turning on and off the Genie doesn't seem to make any difference. The prompts show up in both modes.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#4 OFFLINE   don s

don s

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2011

Posted 26 September 2012 - 04:46 PM

My Whole Home issues persist. It's amazingly frustrating that for 4 straight firmware updates now , my HR34 cannot see my HR24 boxes and vice versa. WH was fine when I got the HR34 for many months, until it wasn't. Super super annoyed ...

#5 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,713 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 September 2012 - 05:04 PM

How do I get rid of these annoying prompts? Everytime I switch to ESPN, a small banner on the bottom of the screen pops up for a few seconds, telling me I can record the show by hitting the Record button. Well, duh! Turning on and off the Genie doesn't seem to make any difference. The prompts show up in both modes.


I wonder if those are considered "Recording Tips". If so you can turn those off in info and setup.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#6 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 26 September 2012 - 05:12 PM

I wondered that, too, and I can't find where to turn Recording Tips on and off in the Menu. Where do you do that?

As I play around more, I get these "To record this channel, press..." pop-ups on ESPN, ESPN News, CNN, MSNBC and Fox News. I don't get them on ESPN2, ESPNU, NFL, CNBC or TWC. I also don't see them on my locals or any channel I tried in the 200s, including TNT, TCM, the Science Channel and the History Channel.

I also rebooted my unit. No difference. The pop-ups are still there.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#7 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,713 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 September 2012 - 05:24 PM

I wondered that, too, and I can't find where to turn Recording Tips on and off in the Menu. Where do you do that?


Menu>Settings & Help>Settings>Display>Preferences
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#8 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 26 September 2012 - 05:26 PM

Recording tips can be turned off under settings-----display----preferences. It's the first choice

#9 OFFLINE   thunter913

thunter913

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2008

Posted 26 September 2012 - 05:29 PM

I believe the 30SKIP issue has been fixed. For those who don't know about this issue it occurred if a box was set to use the 30SKIP functionality and if the box was restarted, then it would revert back to its default setting of 30SLIP. At least on my box, now when I restart it, the 30SKIP setting holds between restarts.

Unfortunately, DIRECTV still has not fixed the issue of the progress bar appearing every time the Advance button is pressed :mad:

#10 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,726 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 26 September 2012 - 05:34 PM

Menu>Settings & Help>Settings>Display>Preferences

Haven't spotted a difference between OFF/ON in months. There maybe a tip somewhere that gets shut off, but I haven't notice it.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#11 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,713 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 September 2012 - 05:39 PM

Haven't spotted a difference between OFF/ON in months. There maybe a tip somewhere that gets shut off, but I haven't notice it.


I can tell a difference. With them set to "Off" I don't see them and when set to "On" I see them. The most obvious way to tell that they are off is go to into your Series Manager and choose "Move To Top". If your tips are on you'll see a message saying the series link has been moved to the top. If your tips are off you won't see the message.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#12 OFFLINE   nmetro

nmetro

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 585 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2006

Posted 26 September 2012 - 05:41 PM

Things I noticed since update:

1. Audio drop out on recording of "Revolution" from last night. Simple fix; stop and play fixed it.
2. Guide seems to once in a while to scrunch a couple lines together. Up arrow fixes that.
3. New recording show pop up. Turned off Recording tips and it has no affect.

On the good side.

1. Genie looks good. It populated very fast, after being activated.
2. Picture Quality is still great on HD and SD
3. HR34 nice and responsive on using the guide.
4. HR34 nice and responsive on using various playback functions skip, forward, skip back, etc.

Now a comment about the Guide.

1. Considering most of the info is displayed in the top banner, it would be nice to add another line for info. 9 out of 10 times pressing "Additional Info" yields one or two additional words.
2. It would be nice if one could change Guide Grid Area colors, and the information presented in "Additional Info" from white on black to black on white for better contrast.

#13 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 26 September 2012 - 05:45 PM

Menu>Settings & Help>Settings>Display>Preferences

Thanks. The Recording Tips were/are Off. That isn't it.

Now I don't get the pop-up on Fox News or ESPN News but I still get it on ESPN, CNN, and MSNBC. It doesn't matter if I tune in the channel through the Guide, QuickTune, channel step up, channel step down or direct access.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#14 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 933 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 26 September 2012 - 06:12 PM

FFx while watching networked HR21 is useless. It advances instead of auto-corrects. FFx while watching local HR34 does not auto-correct enough. You have to be VERY precise.Dual instances of upcoming SL's. When deleting double instance in ToDo list it asks if I want to delete or keep the recording, but it is not recording yet!! This NR may not be ready for prime time yet....:nono2:

HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#15 OFFLINE   Justin23

Justin23

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,212 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 September 2012 - 06:13 PM

I have most series set to "First-Run", but as we all know sometimes all episodes get added by mistake.

I went to delete some recordings from the To-Do list and was prompted with the message: "Show Has Already Started Recording". Then after I selected I still wanted to delete the episode, I was asked if I wanted to keep the partial recording.

This was from a show that isn't airing for a week, not a current one.

#16 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,246 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 26 September 2012 - 06:16 PM

Guide blends lines some times when scrolling
Having audio dropouts on AM21 channels and recorded Sat HD channels, as well as a picture/snow/picture/snow handshake flicker that randomly happens. Both require a channel change or stop and start of recording.
Guide is sluggish when AM21 channels are in guide, and you are in the area of local channels.

Using a Marantz AVR, and they seem to never play nice.
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#17 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,726 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 26 September 2012 - 06:23 PM

I can tell a difference. With them set to "Off" I don't see them and when set to "On" I see them. The most obvious way to tell that they are off is go to into your Series Manager and choose "Move To Top". If your tips are on you'll see a message saying the series link has been moved to the top. If your tips are off you won't see the message.

Ah. I see that. So it is only all those Blue & Yellow Tips that can't be control.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#18 OFFLINE   BuffaloDenny

BuffaloDenny

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 689 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 26 September 2012 - 09:08 PM

I have most series set to "First-Run", but as we all know sometimes all episodes get added by mistake.

I went to delete some recordings from the To-Do list and was prompted with the message: "Show Has Already Started Recording". Then after I selected I still wanted to delete the episode, I was asked if I wanted to keep the partial recording.

This was from a show that isn't airing for a week, not a current one.


I'm seeing the same thing - very strange. I also noticed my available space went from 44% last night down to 38% today with no new recordings added.
HR20-100S/Seagate
H20-100
Panasonic TH-58PZ800U Plasma
Pioneer Elite AVR SC-05
Toshiba HD-A1 HD DVD
Sony PS3 Blu-Ray

#19 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 243 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 02:27 AM

There is some very weird stuff going on. I had 2% left when I went to bed. Woke up and it's now 0%, yet nothing that was scheduled to record got recorded. Then I got rid of at least 8 hours worth of shows from the DVR, and it still sits at 0% and I can't add any new recording cause it says there's not enough disk space! I restarted the HR34, and nothing changed. Is this an issue because of this new software release? I don't know what to do! Should I call DirecTV? Help!

#20 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 04:25 AM

I continue to have "To record this episode, press ® on your remote control" pop-ups when I switch to many channels. I can't turn them off.

Some strange things about this:

1) On ESPN and ESPNU, the pop-up seems to come and go depending on the program. If it is a scheduled program like Sports Center or PTI, it's there. If what's playing is a sporting event, it isn't there.

2) If I'm on a channel where I see the pop-up (ESPN, ESPNU, CNN, MSNBC), when it gets to the top or bottom of the hour and a new show starts, the pop up appears for a few seconds.

3) The pop-up is not the same for all channels. On some, there is a lot of space around the ® button. On others, it's behind the "s" in "press".

4) I can't get it to reoccur on Fox News. I would swear it was there initially. Maybe I was wrong.

5) I got another pop-up on Double Play. I started Double Play with Velocity on one side last night. I then forgot about it and maybe an hour later while channel surfing, I stumbled onto Velocity again. On the bottom of the screen there was a grey box which said something like, "To watch this program from the beginning, press << on your remote." Huh? Then I remembered that was the Double Play channel I'd started a while ago and I had a buffer going. I couldn't make that pop-up reoccur.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A




spam firewall