Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34: Version 0x05C2 Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
157 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • Registered
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 09 October 2012 - 09:49 AM

I am wondering if I have a setting wrong. When we go to sleep at night we place the HR34 on local PBS with the intention of watching kids shows in the morning and being able to rewind as soon as we power up. In the past I would always have the live buffer and was able to rewind roughly 2 hours.

Now I have no live buffer every morning.

Any thoughts?

nsykes, there is uncertainty as to whether or not there should be a live buffer when the HR34 is turned off. Some people say they intermittently have one which proves there should be one. Others who have never seen a live buffer on their HR34 are not so sure.

Until the matter is definitively resolved, the work-around that RACJ2 gave you is the best bet.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   MrLatte

MrLatte

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 09 October 2012 - 11:31 AM

I've had the same issue for quite a while. I just leave my HR34 on all the time, then you have a buffer in the morning. If the panel is too bright, you can dim it. Its been said that this is not an issue, its the way the HR34 works. Although its strange that it sometimes it will buffer with it off and other times it won't.


I leave mine on all the time and occasionally when I try and rewind back into the buffer it freezes up and I have to change the channel to restore it to live.

#128 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,109 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 09 October 2012 - 03:19 PM

I leave mine on all the time and occasionally when I try and rewind back into the buffer it freezes up and I have to change the channel to restore it to live.


That's why I suggest making a Series Link for anything you're (Not you, you!) interested in that might be a regular.

Having a backlog of kids' cartoons is probably a good idea anyhow.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#129 OFFLINE   lansbury

lansbury

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 09 October 2012 - 03:38 PM

Is anyone else still having HDMI issues with the HR34?


Yes not as bad or as frequent, but it is still there. A quick power off and on of the HR34 resolves it.

#130 OFFLINE   augisdad

augisdad

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
  • LocationKC area
Joined: Sep 29, 2011

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:27 AM

nsykes, there is uncertainty as to whether or not there should be a live buffer when the HR34 is turned off. Some people say they intermittently have one which proves there should be one. Others who have never seen a live buffer on their HR34 are not so sure.

Until the matter is definitively resolved, the work-around that RACJ2 gave you is the best bet.


Was doing my own mini-marathon of Vegas last night with the TV buffering the NBC affilliate. After each episode, I had a buffer 90mins behind live - up until the last one when the buffer was dumped and I was back to live. So, it's definitely intermittent.
HR20-100 since 2008 w/27" Sony SDTV
HR34 since 4/3/2012 w/47" Mitsubishi HDTV
HMC since 4/3/2012

#131 OFFLINE   Skerlnik

Skerlnik

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2012

Posted 10 October 2012 - 11:51 AM

Yes not as bad or as frequent, but it is still there. A quick power off and on of the HR34 resolves it.


Me too. TV goes black sometimes. Obviously has something to do with the HDMI handshake. Not sure if it's the TV, HR34, or Yamaha A3010. I know the DTV boxes have had issues handshaking with Yamaha and Denons, and it appears this may still be true. :nono2:

Power cycling the Yamaha or HR34 corrects it-- that is, until it happens again.

#132 OFFLINE   bmmarly

bmmarly

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 10 October 2012 - 02:14 PM

I have exactly the same issue with all three of my RVUs unable to re-establish a connection to the HR34 after being powered off/on. HR34 reboot resolves the issue, until next TV power cycle. VERY frustrating. RVU is great, if only it WORKED!!

Anyone else seeing this issue/have a solution?

#133 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,109 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 10 October 2012 - 03:10 PM

I have exactly the same issue with all three of my RVUs unable to re-establish a connection to the HR34 after being powered off/on. HR34 reboot resolves the issue, until next TV power cycle. VERY frustrating. RVU is great, if only it WORKED!!

Anyone else seeing this issue/have a solution?


Just leave the unit on, turn off the TV. Not elegant, but the box in "On" burns just a watt or two more than "Off".
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#134 OFFLINE   bmmarly

bmmarly

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:57 PM

I wish it was that easy. The problem occurs after powering off the TV, not the HR34. The RVU TV does not re-connect after being powered off, and only re-booting the HR34 fixes the issue.

#135 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,600 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:28 PM

Posting this for a friend as this is the second time this week this has happened to him. He has Survivor set to record, and in the guide it has the record icon, but it wasn't actually recording.

History gives reason as Canceled because it does not match your show type settings or the program has already been recorded. (13)

This also happened with Mythbusters Sunday. I don't watch Survivor, but mine recorded Mythbusters fine.

He also had the screensaver come up while watching.

Edited by dpeters11, 10 October 2012 - 07:00 PM.


#136 OFFLINE   jcwest

jcwest

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 312 posts
Joined: May 03, 2006

Posted 11 October 2012 - 06:26 AM

Have had the HR34 for only two months.

Successfully recorded Fox News Sunday with Chris Wallace via SL for several weeks.

After 5c2 update recording above was cancelled becaust it didn't natch criteria listed in SL, or whatever.

So, I deleted the SL and reset another via the menu.
Last Sunday the HR34 recorded TWO versions of the Fox New Sunday. Same channel and everything. Looked and only one SL shows up in Series Manager.

J C

HR20-700
HR34-700 AM21
HR21-200 AM21N
HR21-200


#137 OFFLINE   unixguru

unixguru

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 11 October 2012 - 08:07 AM

Was in the guide last night and used Green to jump ahead 12 hours. A few seconds later I hit Green again. Nothing happened.

Worse, all remote operations stopped working. Couldn't do anything - not even turn off. I didn't time it but was probably around 5 minutes.

I was about to pull the plug when it came back.

#138 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,014 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 11 October 2012 - 09:59 AM

Was in the guide last night and used Green to jump ahead 12 hours. A few seconds later I hit Green again. Nothing happened.

Worse, all remote operations stopped working. Couldn't do anything - not even turn off. I didn't time it but was probably around 5 minutes.

I was about to pull the plug when it came back.


I've experienced this at times. Not many, and it has happened with other functions. It is like the HR has had a brain fart. I've learned patience with it though. It seems in a few minutes it comes back to normal.....:confused:

HR44-500 HDMI to Toshiba 42
HR24-100

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#139 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 11 October 2012 - 11:26 AM

Just curious before I had a HR34 if I was watching live tv then went to watch a recorded program............finished, then back to live tv on that same channel there was always live buffer there. Now when I switch from live tv channel to watch something recorded on the HR34........finish then delete recording and go back to the same channel I was watching before there is no buffer. Is this something that is just how the HR34 operates.... or a glitch?

#140 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,358 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 11 October 2012 - 11:54 AM

Just curious before I had a HR34 if I was watching live tv then went to watch a recorded program............finished, then back to live tv on that same channel there was always live buffer there. Now when I switch from live tv channel to watch something recorded on the HR34........finish then delete recording and go back to the same channel I was watching before there is no buffer. Is this something that is just how the HR34 operates.... or a glitch?


Glitch
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#141 OFFLINE   MrLatte

MrLatte

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 11 October 2012 - 12:04 PM

I'm tired of these glitches! When's the next software update? They usually happen pretty often with the HR34.

#142 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 11 October 2012 - 11:58 PM

1 of my wife's favorite shows, Vampire Diaries, didn't record tonight. She has it on a 'Series' record, and it didn't grab it for whatever reason............Wifey aggro @ an all-time high with D*, argh.
HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#143 ONLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,910 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 12 October 2012 - 04:22 AM

Ox5cD is now the NR

#144 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,109 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 October 2012 - 08:16 AM

Ox5cD is now the NR


Ox5CD

I hope that's not an omen!
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#145 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 13 October 2012 - 05:37 AM

I got 0x5cd and it still sucks bad.

#146 OFFLINE   ejjames

ejjames

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 896 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 13 October 2012 - 09:06 PM

Well, I guess I'll have to eat my words, because the genie did exactly what I wanted it to. I'd forgotten to setup a season pass for Fringe. I was watching Tigers @ Yankees and kicking myself for my forgetfulness, when there it was!
Former USSB uplink operator.

USSB from '95 to '99

DirecTv since '95

#147 OFFLINE   GregAmy

GregAmy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 24 October 2012 - 10:48 AM

Got the idea from another thread...static IP'ing all four units seems to have resolved this. Prob was the HR2x could see the HR-34, but the HR-34 would see the HR2x (sometimes).

Let's see if this "solution" lasts. GA


Bump. No more troubles with interconnectivity between the various combo of HR2x and HR34 since static-IPing all boxes. - GA

#148 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,109 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 24 October 2012 - 10:51 AM

No more troubles with interconnectivity between the various combo of HR2x and HR34 since static-IPing all boxes. - GA


Good to know. Thanks for the update. (An actual update doesn't feel like a bump to me; you've added real info.)
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#149 OFFLINE   joandarce

joandarce

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2007

Posted 18 November 2012 - 01:04 PM

Any resolution for the annoying popup "To record this episode, press R on your remote control" ???

I have recording tips OFF.

#150 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,109 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 18 November 2012 - 04:57 PM

Pretty sure it'll be fixed in a software update. In the mean time, if you haven't done so recently a Menu Reset might help.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...