Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 disk space issue. Unable to record anything! Help!


  • Please log in to reply
271 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,091 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 06:11 PM

What do you mean by "normal"?


Normal, as in things work the same as they did before the download.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 06:24 PM

Does it stop and revert to normal behavior if you turn Genie off?


No it doesnt.

I had the genie feature turned off, yet it did all this damage anyway. DirecTV really screwed us over this time.

#53 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 06:25 PM

Normal, as in things work the same as they did before the download.

As for the size of free space, I don't think so.
As for setting up recordings, yes.

I've had Genie off for a while and things are "normal".
A.K.A VOS

#54 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 06:27 PM

No it doesnt.

I had the genie feature turned off, yet it did all this damage anyway. DirecTV really screwed us over this time.

I do get that you're upset, but "damage"?
Did you lose any recording with the update?

Have you bothered to count how many hours of recordings you have?
A.K.A VOS

#55 OFFLINE   BuffaloDenny

BuffaloDenny

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 691 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 27 September 2012 - 06:32 PM

I received a message saying that I needed to turn double play off on my 2nd tuner if I wanted to record a 2nd show. Hmmmmm, 5 tuners shouldn't necessitate that type of message when only 2 shows are recording. I subsequently tested recording 5 shows at once, and it did, but the messages with this release are annoying and confusing.
HR20-100S/Seagate
H20-100
Panasonic TH-58PZ800U Plasma
Pioneer Elite AVR SC-05
Toshiba HD-A1 HD DVD
Sony PS3 Blu-Ray

#56 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 06:35 PM

I received a message saying that I needed to turn double play off on my 2nd tuner if I wanted to record a 2nd show. Hmmmmm, 5 tuners shouldn't necessitate that type of message when only 2 shows are recording. I subsequently tested recording 5 shows at once, and it did, but the messages with this release are annoying and confusing.

Yep, it still needs some refinements.
A.K.A VOS

#57 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:05 PM

I do get that you're upset, but "damage"?
Did you lose any recording with the update?

Have you bothered to count how many hours of recordings you have?




Yes damage. I am no longer able to record shows unless I delete shows I haven't even watched yet. So, in essence i will lose plenty of recordings due to this update.

No i havent counted the hours, i am too busy trying to rearrange recordings on other dvrs that i have to try to save at least some of my scheduled recordings, since my hr34 is no longer a dvr thanks to this update.

#58 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:14 PM

Oh please.....understand the frustration, but the drama is a bit much.

#59 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:18 PM

Oh please.....understand the frustration, but the drama is a bit much.


Thanks for the incredibly useful post. Troll along, now.

#60 OFFLINE   Scott Kdot

Scott Kdot

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 9,491 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:19 PM

Guys let's keep on topic. It's a good one and we should keep it friendly.

 


#61 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 07:43 PM

Oh please.....understand the frustration, but the drama is a bit much.

I think most of us understand the frustration, but maybe not that it's been twelve hours since what was needed to be done was posted and nothing has been.

I guess this isn't a "help me" thread but just a complaining thread and I can't fix that.
A.K.A VOS

#62 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 08:20 PM

Veryoldschool, u must be delusionsal. I guess u are one of those guys that thinks it's okay to bend over for DirecTV after they have your money. Sorry, but its not ok what they are doing and i shouldnt have to delete my recordings so they can shove this stupid genie thing down my throat. I paid for the hr34 because of the disk space and now that they have my money, they are taking it away from me. You may think thats ok, but i sure as hell don't!

#63 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,440 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 08:22 PM

Well that certainly clarifies things.

Thank goodness for the Ignore feature at DBSTalk.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#64 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 14,514 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 08:24 PM

Veryoldschool, u must be delusionsal. I guess u are one of those guys that thinks it's okay to bend over for DirecTV after they have your money. Sorry, but its not ok what they are doing and i shouldnt have to delete my recordings so they can shove this stupid genie thing down my throat. I paid for the hr34 because of the disk space and now that they have my money, they are taking it away from me. You may think thats ok, but i sure as hell don't!


xtc - I can understand your frustration and anger. If I had to delete over 30+ hours of programs from the playlist just to get the DVR to start recording again, I think I would feel the same way. Sorry you have to go through this. Unfortunately, I don't think there's any other remedy...

#65 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,599 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 27 September 2012 - 08:25 PM

The way it should work is that with genie disabled (still by default), it doesn't take the space or start recording things just in case you enable it.

If you do enable, then it would take the space and start recording things. Ten it off, you get the space back.

If there was more support for external, I might actually put on a 3TB drive or so.

#66 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 08:32 PM

Thanks drew2k, maybe there is some hope for humanity afterall.

#67 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 08:59 PM

Veryoldschool, u must be delusionsal.

I don't feel I am as I don't expect the world to stop turning or to turn back to some earlier time and place that suits me better.

My first reply was I didn't think you'd like the solution.

I guess I nailed that one!
A.K.A VOS

#68 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:03 PM

If I had to delete over 30+ hours of programs from the playlist just to get the DVR to start recording again, I think I would feel the same way. Sorry you have to go through this. Unfortunately, I don't think there's any other remedy...

Seems a bit more than what would be needed. Sure 10-20 hours is a lot of programing, but to store so much that you couldn't watch it all if you sat down for over a week straight and never slept, might suggest they're too many to ever be watched.
A.K.A VOS

#69 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:13 PM

I don't feel I am as I don't expect the world to stop turning or to turn back to some earlier time and place that suits me better.

My first reply was I didn't think you'd like the solution.

I guess I nailed that one!


Wow. So you're ok with shelling out money for a product that's not delivering as promised? ok. You and I are polar opposites then. I don't let companies walk all over me. Maybe you're ok with that, then good luck to you. You are making it sound as if this is some free service that I'm complaining about? Um, no. If it was, then you would have a point. I paid money for something and I'm not getting what I should. I wasn't told or asked about this big change, it was just forced upon me.

The bottom line is if the only solution is to delete shows that I have saved or haven't watched yet, then it's simply not good enough. I shouldn't have to delete 30+ hours of recordings because of DirecTV's irresponsible actions. All of this could have been avoided if they just told us ahead of time and given us the option to opt-out. If they couldn't figure out a way to implement this stupid genie thing without raping people's hard drive space, then they shouldn't have done it to begin with.

#70 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:16 PM

Seems a bit more than what would be needed. Sure 10-20 hours is a lot of programing, but to store so much that you couldn't watch it all if you sat down for over a week straight and never slept, might suggest they're too many to ever be watched.



That's just your opinion though. Bottom line is we were given a certain amount of hard drive space, and we could do what we want with it, even if its the opposite of what you would do. The issue is not that, the issue is DirecTV taking it away from us without warning, without an opt-out option. And that's just wrong in my opinion. If they were able to give us this feature that I'd never use without affecting my hard drive space, than you wouldn't hear a peep from me, but they didn't. They screwed up.

#71 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:19 PM

Wow. So you're ok with shelling out money for a product that's not delivering as promised? ok. You and I are polar opposites then. I don't let companies walk all over me. Maybe you're ok with that, then good luck to you. You are making it sound as if this is some free service that I'm complaining about? Um, no. If it was, then you would have a point. I paid money for something and I'm not getting what I should. I wasn't told or asked about this big change, it was just forced upon me.

The bottom line is if the only solution is to delete shows that I have saved or haven't watched yet, then it's simply not good enough. I shouldn't have to delete 30+ hours of recordings because of DirecTV's irresponsible actions. All of this could have been avoided if they just told us ahead of time and given us the option to opt-out. If they couldn't figure out a way to implement this stupid genie thing without raping people's hard drive space, then they shouldn't have done it to begin with.

We only differ on our use of the DVR.
You should move up to a 2, 3, or 4 TB eSATA for your type of use.

I don't remember DirecTV telling me I could store 8 days of continuous recordings.
"I'd bet" you don't need to delete too many more hours before you get back to your "usual" full drive and can record again.
A.K.A VOS

#72 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:22 PM

That's just your opinion though. Bottom line is we were given a certain amount of hard drive space, and we could do what we want with it, even if its the opposite of what you would do. The issue is not that, the issue is DirecTV taking it away from us without warning, without an opt-out option. And that's just wrong in my opinion. If they were able to give us this feature that I'd never use without affecting my hard drive space, than you wouldn't hear a peep from me, but they didn't. They screwed up.

You lease "their DVR", sorry they made a change to it you don't like.
I didn't have anything to do with what they did.
I simply tried to help you out with what you first posted.
A.K.A VOS

#73 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:30 PM

We only differ on our use of the DVR.
You should move up to a 2, 3, or 4 TB eSATA for your type of use.

I don't remember DirecTV telling me I could store 8 days of continuous recordings.
"I'd bet" you don't need to delete too many more hours before you get back to your "usual" full drive and can record again.



I shouldn't have to do anything. I was fine the way things were. If I decide to get an external drive, that's just a bonus, I shouldn't however have to do it because DirecTV foreced this crap on me. That's the difference.

you say you bet, but I've already deleted plenty and it's still at zero. And another guy deleted 30 hours and he's still at zero.

#74 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,667 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:34 PM

The way it should work is that with genie disabled (still by default), it doesn't take the space or start recording things just in case you enable it.

If you do enable, then it would take the space and start recording things. Ten it off, you get the space back.

If there was more support for external, I might actually put on a 3TB drive or so.

For that, Genie would need to be a preset instead of an on-the-fly option.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-700, Bsm: HR24-100, Den HR24-200, MB: HR24-500, Kit: H25-500
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#75 OFFLINE   xtc

xtc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 September 2012 - 09:35 PM

You lease "their DVR", sorry they made a change to it you don't like.
I didn't have anything to do with what they did.
I simply tried to help you out with what you first posted.


i PAY for it, thats what matters. I pay for something I thought I would be getting and I'm now longer getting it, after they already have my money in their pockets. it had EVERYTHING to do with what they did.

If all you tried to do was help me with my post, and left it at that, than I thank you very much. I appreciate it. However, along with your attempted help, you kept throwing out all kinds of statements and opinions about how I should or shouldn't use the DVR or what DirecTV does or does not owe me, that has nothing to do with the issue at hand which is trying to get my HR34 functioning as a DVR again.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...