Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DISH Launches dishNET Broadband


  • Please log in to reply
73 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   jimcoe

jimcoe

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2012

Posted 28 October 2012 - 06:43 PM

That's not quite true.

DishNet buys bandwidth from both HughesNet satellites (including the Gen4 "Jupiter") and from Wildblue/Exede which includes ViaSat-1.

Which satellite you get service from with DishNet depends on where you live.

You get faster speed, unlimited usage from midnight-5am if you buy directly from WB/Exede. Buying directly from HughesNet also has some perks.

The only advantage you get buying through DishNet is a $5/month discount if you also bundle it with a Dish TV package.

Compare all 3 options....buy directly from Wildblue/Exede, from HughesNet or from DishNet..but just remember, DishNet does not own nor operate any of the satellites that provide internet services from the Jupiter/Gen4 or ViaSat-1 satellites..they just lease and resell bandwidth from Wildblue/Exede and HughesNet.


Dish (Echostar) does own HughesNet.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   chaney

chaney

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
  • Locationtopeka ks
Joined: Oct 25, 2012

Posted 28 October 2012 - 08:20 PM

That's not quite true.

DishNet buys bandwidth from both HughesNet satellites (including the Gen4 "Jupiter") and from Wildblue/Exede which includes ViaSat-1.

Which satellite you get service from with DishNet depends on where you live.

You get faster speed, unlimited usage from midnight-5am if you buy directly from WB/Exede. Buying directly from HughesNet also has some perks.

The only advantage you get buying through DishNet is a $5/month discount if you also bundle it with a Dish TV package.

Compare all 3 options....buy directly from Wildblue/Exede, from HughesNet or from DishNet..but just remember, DishNet does not own nor operate any of the satellites that provide internet services from the Jupiter/Gen4 or ViaSat-1 satellites..they just lease and resell bandwidth from Wildblue/Exede and HughesNet.


wrong, You get a $10 discount, and the free download and bonus data applies 2am to 8am, because i install it and have the flyer if youd like me to post a pic
If its a dish question just ask me I install so I can answer almost any question related to Dish.

#53 OFFLINE   chaney

chaney

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
  • Locationtopeka ks
Joined: Oct 25, 2012

Posted 28 October 2012 - 08:21 PM

Dish (Echostar) does own HughesNet.


dish also owns exede, it was previously called wild blue but left a bad taste in its customers mouth about cost vs speed for cost, which is why the rebranding after the launch of the new satellite in february.
If its a dish question just ask me I install so I can answer almost any question related to Dish.

#54 OFFLINE   MIKE0616

MIKE0616

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 484 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 29 October 2012 - 04:36 AM

Dish (Echostar) does own HughesNet.



Huh? Its an independent company, from the info I can find on it.

#55 OFFLINE   4bama

4bama

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 297 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2006

Posted 29 October 2012 - 05:42 AM

wrong, You get a $10 discount, and the free download and bonus data applies 2am to 8am, because i install it and have the flyer if youd like me to post a pic


DishNet does not offer any "Free" download times from the Exede and Gen4 packages...only from packages from their older existing satellites with much slower speeds.

The Exede/Gen4 plans have split data cap plans...for example the 10/10 plan allows 10GB's anytime usage and 10GB's of use from 2-8am..

DishNet is not yet enforcing the 2-8am caps but will soon, per their forums.
Dish 622 DVR, B'ham locals via Dish, Montgomery locals OTA, Winegard on 70' tower + CM7777 preamp

#56 OFFLINE   chaney

chaney

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
  • Locationtopeka ks
Joined: Oct 25, 2012

Posted 29 October 2012 - 07:57 AM

DishNet does not offer any "Free" download times from the Exede and Gen4 packages...only from packages from their older existing satellites with much slower speeds.

The Exede/Gen4 plans have split data cap plans...for example the 10/10 plan allows 10GB's anytime usage and 10GB's of use from 2-8am..

DishNet is not yet enforcing the 2-8am caps but will soon, per their forums.


I already knew that, there is a 5/5 plan, a 10/10 plan and a 15/15 plan available for 39.99, 49.99 and 69.99 for dish customers add 10 is not a dish customer
If its a dish question just ask me I install so I can answer almost any question related to Dish.

#57 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,323 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:17 PM

DishNet does not offer any "Free" download times from the Exede and Gen4 packages...only from packages from their older existing satellites with much slower speeds.


Yes and no. It isn't advertised that way but, right now, the 2AM-8AM slot appears to be "unlimited" even though it is only supposed to be a 5GB or 10GB bucket. I expect this to change but, right now, it is essentially an unlimited period.

That is on the "ViaSat" plan -- which is Exede, right? As I said above, I am consistently getting anywhere from 15-22Mbps. I'm fairly certain I've seen bursts of 28-30Mbps. I can't image something else being much faster than that -- so I assume that what I have is an "Exede or Gen4 plan." Is that correct?

So -- does Dish own ViaSat? From the way I'm reading things, it certainly looks like ViaSat is the real provider -- and even WildBlue was getting it from them. Is ViaSat and WildBlue the same company?

The Exede/Gen4 plans have split data cap plans...for example the 10/10 plan allows 10GB's anytime usage and 10GB's of use from 2-8am..

DishNet is not yet enforcing the 2-8am caps but will soon, per their forums.


Agreed. So, effectively, it currently is an unlimited window. :) It just isn't promised or likely to STAY that way.

- John...

#58 OFFLINE   4bama

4bama

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 297 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2006

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:47 PM

That is on the "ViaSat" plan -- which is Exede, right? As I said above, I am consistently getting anywhere from 15-22Mbps. I'm fairly certain I've seen bursts of 28-30Mbps. I can't image something else being much faster than that -- so I assume that what I have is an "Exede or Gen4 plan." Is that correct?

So -- does Dish own ViaSat? From the way I'm reading things, it certainly looks like ViaSat is the real provider -- and even WildBlue was getting it from them. Is ViaSat and WildBlue the same company?

- John...


ViaSat owns Wildblue...for conversation purposes they're one and the same for internet services...Wildblue sells Exede...they also sell the older plans, called Legacy...

DishNet buys bandwidth from ViaSat/WB/Exede to resell under their own plans, rules and regulations...DishNet also buys bandwidth from HughesNet's Gen4 to do the same..

Some geographic locations can get service from either ViaSat-1/Exede or Gen4 satellite, other locations can only get one or the other..

Easy way to see if your location can get Exede12 or Exede5 is to go here and enter your zip code...

http://www.wildblue.com/

If your location can get service from both the ViaSat-1/Exede12 or the HughesNet Gen4 then others have said you can choose which one you prefer if you buy through DishNet..

Best overall plan is to buy directly from WB/Exede if you can get the Exede12 service..IMHO
Dish 622 DVR, B'ham locals via Dish, Montgomery locals OTA, Winegard on 70' tower + CM7777 preamp

#59 OFFLINE   jimcoe

jimcoe

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2012

Posted 29 October 2012 - 07:27 PM

dish also owns exede, it was previously called wild blue but left a bad taste in its customers mouth about cost vs speed for cost, which is why the rebranding after the launch of the new satellite in february.


No, Dish doesn't own Exede. Viasat markets their product via various branding including Wildblue, Exede, Tooway, and others. Dish acquired Hughes within the last couple of years.

#60 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:17 PM

I'm not a technical type person, but with my Dish TV and blockbuster...wouldn't streaming just a little bit each month eat up the minimum package pretty quickly?

I ask because we're about ready to dump our land line and the internet package from our local phone company and will need something else for net service

#61 OFFLINE   jsk

jsk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 745 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 03 January 2013 - 11:54 PM

Maybe they wouldn't count BB against your quota?
Dish Player DVR 722K with OTA module connected to the Eastern Arc

#62 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 January 2013 - 12:13 AM

slim chance ... all traffic is counting by bytes, not a content

#63 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,452 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 04 January 2013 - 03:46 AM

slim chance ... all traffic is counting by bytes, not a content


Also I would be surprised if anti-trust issues weren't in play.

IF Dish didn't count bandwidth for streaming from Blockbuster service... but did count bandwidth from Netflix, for example... that would put Netflix at a competitive disadvantage and probably bring on a lawsuit against Dish.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#64 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,682 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 04 January 2013 - 03:56 AM

Comcast is doing this with there On Demand app on the Xbox 360; it doesn't count toward the monthly bandwidth cap. Originally they said the reasoning was because the bytes go out over there Private IP Network and never reach the Public Internet, but they were quick to remove that wording from there Official FAQs on there site shortly after it sparked public outcry. http://gigaom.com/vi...box-faq-update/

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#65 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,323 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 04 January 2013 - 08:35 AM

Indeed -- I was thinking the same thing. They should have content related to Dish (including the TV Everywhere stuff) not count against the cap but, unfortunately, it DOES count. And, yes, to answer your question, you would hit the cap very quickly on the default plan watching just a movie or two.

On a side note concerning content... When I had HughesNet before, if I recall, they eventually had it for a while where downloads from Windows Update did not count against your cap. This was back when the cap was like 169MB per month -- and, basically, just getting the Windows Updates for the week would go beyond your monthly cap! So, they started not counting it.

So, clearly, it is technically feasible to do content-based (or, at least, IP/server-based) counting (or lack thereof). Therefore, it likely wouldn't be too difficult to NOT count certain steaming media if they WANTED to.

- John...

#66 ONLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 5,974 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:02 AM

I ask because we're about ready to dump our land line and the internet package from our local phone company and will need something else for net service


Don't know your reasons or finances, but if you've had any form of wired internet service (other than dial-up), you will not be happy with satellite.

Also I would be surprised if anti-trust issues weren't in play.

IF Dish didn't count bandwidth for streaming from Blockbuster service... but did count bandwidth from Netflix, for example... that would put Netflix at a competitive disadvantage and probably bring on a lawsuit against Dish.


Isn't that the whole issue behind net neutrality?
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#67 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,452 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 04 January 2013 - 01:48 PM

Isn't that the whole issue behind net neutrality?


As I understand it, that is at least a big part of the debate... When your provider makes it more attractive to use their services than other internet services, it creates a problem with fair competition.

In theory you're not supposed to be able to do such things, but companies do until they don't :)

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#68 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 02:03 AM

I'm finally able to ditch Hughesnet. My 2 years is up. It is awful.

#69 OFFLINE   djlong

djlong

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,278 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: Jul 08, 2002

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:56 AM

Net Neutrality says, for example, that Comcast can't say that traffic to Netflix would count against your bandwidth cap and traffic to their On Demand site would not. It says that Time Warner can't slow down your speeds when going to Amazon Video instead of signing up for their cable service.

Consider if the phone company (way back when) said "You can call a Ford dealership with perfect clarity but calls to Chrysler will be of limited length and reduced bandwith (and cost more)".

#70 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 10:28 AM

If I recall correctly, dish does not own Hughes, Echostar does. Also, I know when wildblue originally came out dish owned a partial stake, but not sure if they still do now. I believe dish helped found wildblue.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#71 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 484 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 08 January 2013 - 12:42 PM

As to the pricing of dishNET sevice. The commercials are touting plans starting at $39.99mo for internet service when bundled with your DISH video service. There is currently no way to get dishNET service for the advertised rate of 39.99mo. The $10mo Equipment Fee is mandatory (equip. not included and no purchase option).

At least with DISH's video service, there has allways been a setup that would allow a customer to receive service at the advertised price point (1st receiver included in package price). The dishNET commercials come off as very deceptive in this regard.

#72 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,325 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 08 January 2013 - 05:20 PM

As to the pricing of dishNET sevice. The commercials are touting plans starting at $39.99mo for internet service when bundled with your DISH video service. There is currently no way to get dishNET service for the advertised rate of 39.99mo. The $10mo Equipment Fee is mandatory (equip. not included and no purchase option).

At least with DISH's video service, there has allways been a setup that would allow a customer to receive service at the advertised price point (1st receiver included in package price). The dishNET commercials come off as very deceptive in this regard.

+1


"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#73 OFFLINE   Agnes

Agnes

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 10 January 2013 - 02:16 PM

I would be interested in hearing about experiences with VOIP through any of the satellite providers. I am currently using HughesNet. I am off the grid and until recently could get cell coverage ( 90% of the time) with a Yagi antenna and booster. For some reason the cell coverage is not working or is very random so I'm looking for options. Any help or recommendations would be much appreciated!

#74 OFFLINE   beandaddy

beandaddy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 01:50 AM

I thought it was Hughesnet rebranded




Protected By... spam firewall...And...