Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

A few HR-34 Questions


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Gocanes

Gocanes

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2007

Posted 28 September 2012 - 01:51 PM

I need to replace an OLD SD-Tivo that died with a new HD-DVR. I currently have 1 HR20 and 1 HR22 in addition to that one. The HRs are connected directly to my home network via ethernet. I have "unsupported" whole home this way and it has never given me problems.

I'm trying to decide if I should get an HR-34 mostly for the 5 tuners that will eliminate simultaneous recording conflicts. With an HR-34 I'll be able to record 6 things simultaneously while still watching a live show on each.

Anyway, I know that to get the HR-34 I will need to be upgraded to SWM. As far as the whole home setup, will the HR-34 work if I hook it up directly via the ethernet port or is it set up to only work with DECA? If the answer is that it will physically function, since my account has "unsupported" whole home will there be any issue activating the feature in that configuration.

Now if the answer is that I must use DECA (or if I choose to instead) I have another question. Can the CCK be connected to a switch on my network instead of directly to the router? I assume yes and the reason I ask is that I have a switch right near where the HR-34 would go.

Finally a question on the AM-21 with HR-34. Currently I have OTA on my HR-20 and I use it for 1 local channel that DirecTV doesn't have in HD. I also use it on my main tv to have a rain fade backup. Does the AM-21 integrate well with the HR-34? I assume if you record something over the air it just takes up one "tuner" like the HR-20 does with the built in OTA?

Any answers and input will be greatly appreciated so I can decide between the HR-34 or a regular HD-DVR.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,906 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 28 September 2012 - 02:28 PM

You can hook it up via ethernet if you choose, but use a band stop filter to take out the whole-home signal. Or, connect the HR34 via ethernet and disconnect the HR20 and HR22 from ethernet; the HR34 will act as a bridge and provide coax networking for the other DVRs.

If you choose to use a Cinema Connection Kit, it can go into a switch no problem.

AM21s work even better with HR34s since they do an actual channel scan. Just like the HR20 it doesn't add to the number of simultaneous recordings; you can still only record 5 things.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 ONLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,199 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:20 PM

You can hook it up via ethernet if you choose, but use a band stop filter to take out the whole-home signal. Or, connect the HR34 via ethernet and disconnect the HR20 and HR22 from ethernet; the HR34 will act as a bridge and provide coax networking for the other DVRs.

If you choose to use a Cinema Connection Kit, it can go into a switch no problem.

AM21s work even better with HR34s since they do an actual channel scan. Just like the HR20 it doesn't add to the number of simultaneous recordings; you can still only record 5 things.

Wouldn't the HR20 & HR22 then need DECAs?
DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,906 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 29 September 2012 - 05:01 PM

Yes
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...