Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New Logitech "Harmony Touch" Universal Remote


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,974 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 30 September 2012 - 11:18 AM

It is a really neat looking new remote with some very nice features.

That said, when I could get my Harmony 650 last year at the Black Friday sale for $39....the kind of price they're looking at for this new unit seems awfully pricey. After all...it's just a remote. :D

I kinda like the minimalist look. If it does everything you'd expect out of a universal, I'm of the mind that fewer buttons is a very good idea.

Of course I can't complain about the cost after what I paid for my MX-880. :grin:

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 30 September 2012 - 11:29 AM

Although only 18 devices, you might want to check out the Acoustic Research Xsight Touch.
Review here: http://www.remotecen...ouch/index.html


Thanks. Read the entire review. It appears, however, that it is no longer sold. Amazon only had one "seller" offering a new one (for $50 more than original list), and AR's website, which now lists it for only $149 list, has no "sellers" when you click the "where to buy" button. Seems it might be rather risky, since the review pointed out that you needed to program it on their website, which if taken down, would leave the remote rather unusable. Did sound like a good copy of my Harmony 900 though, but I didnt see any features it had that I dont already have.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#28 OFFLINE   Cholly

Cholly

    Old Guys Rule!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,511 posts
  • LocationIndian Trail, NC
Joined: Mar 22, 2004

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:08 PM

Seems that Remote Central is behind the times. I assumed that the AR remote was something new, since this was their newest review. I thought it might be a good remote, since it was made by UEI. Seemed to hold some promise.

Charlie
--------------------

Family Room: Samsung UN60F7100 60" LED 3D TV; Samsung  BD-H5900 3D Blu-Ray DVD player; Yamaha RX-V663 AVR. Paradigm speakers - Focus fronts, CC170 center, PDR-8 subwoofer, Atom surrounds, ADP rear center; TiVo Roamio Plus DVR, Toshiba HD-A3 HD DVD player.
Bedroom: Vizio 42" 3D TV, Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Panasonic 3D DVD player, Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers, Roku 2 XD, TiVo Premiere, Insignia HD radio tuner, Toshiba HD DVD player


#29 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,208 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:10 PM

I went into my local Best Buy and they have the 1100, 900, One, 700 and a 3xx model on the shelves, but no sign of a Harmony Touch. An associate checked in their system and searched several ways, but sees no signs of it in stock or even on the way.

Oh well, I really wanted to get my hands on it to play for 45 days ...

#30 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,208 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:11 PM

Seems that Remote Central is behind the times. I assumed that the AR remote was something new, since this was their newest review. I thought it might be a good remote, since it was made by UEI. Seemed to hold some promise.

I've had Harmony remotes for years, and have a drawer full of old models, so I used to live at Remote Central. I've found they have not had any "news" for a very long time now, and visit only a few times a year. :(

#31 OFFLINE   Fluthy

Fluthy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2008

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:31 PM

I would like a remote that is bluetooth capable, RF, and IR. Would love to see it have wi-fi capabilities also. This would be able to connect to anything from your PS3 or and HTPC to and old RCA CRT. 1 remote for EVERYTHING!

#32 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,865 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:58 PM

I'm really surprised theres no skip buttons on there.

#33 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,208 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:30 PM

Logitech finally publicly acknowledged the Touch remote:

Blog here: http://blog.logitech...our-fingertips/

Product page here: http://www.logitech....ws_harmonytouch

YoutTube video:

It looks like they are positioning this as an upgrade to and replacement for the Harmony One, touting how easy it is to copy settings from the One to the Touch.

They are also obviously proud of the versatility of the touch screen for numeric keys and channel icons, and even Skype integration, and the on-remote customization of the channel icons is nice, much easier than plugging in a USB cable for "minor" chores like this.

The command keys on the screen are now in a vertical scrolling column, so that's different, but after watching the video, I now know why there's no REPLAY and SKIP keys: you don't need 'em!

You SWIPE LEFT on the touch screen for REPLAY, and SWIPE RIGHT for SKIP! You also simply tap the screen for PLAY and PAUSE.

These actually ARE the functions I use most, and as stated in the video, the touch screen is in a perfect thumb location. And you can even customize, right on the remote, the swipe behavior.

(You can even reorder activities directly on the remote.)


AND ... AND... you can import your SEQUENCES from your Harmony One to continue using them! Not sure if you can create new sequences on the fly, but Harmony One users looking for an upgrade will like this.

This video has completely changed my perception on this remote... I really want one now.

#34 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,512 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 October 2012 - 06:52 PM

I'll still pass.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#35 OFFLINE   KCWolfPck

KCWolfPck

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2006

Posted 03 October 2012 - 07:48 PM

I'm really surprised theres no skip buttons on there.


You skip via gesture on the touch screen.

#36 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,512 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:03 PM

Yes, as pointed out 2 posts earlier.

I'd still rather have buttons than a touch screen. Just because you make things "fancier", doesn't make them better.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#37 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,208 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:03 PM

You skip via gesture on the touch screen.


We know that NOW, but we did not know that when the Touch was first leaked on Engadget ...

#38 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,208 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:06 PM

Yes, as pointed out 2 posts earlier.

I'd still rather have buttons than a touch screen. Just because you make things "fancier", doesn't make them better.

Very true. This remote will have to be held and used to know if it's as good as or better than, and as easy to use, as the layout of the Harmony One/900 remote.

I've been sitting here with my cell phone in my hand playing with left/right swipes, and honestly, I don't think I can swipe right 6 or 8 times (for SKIP FWD) as fast as I can tap a button 6 or 8 times.

I definitely need to try this out to know for sure.

#39 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,917 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:26 PM

Yes, as pointed out 2 posts earlier.

I'd still rather have buttons than a touch screen. Just because you make things "fancier", doesn't make them better.


Agreed. I love gadgets and tech, but will stick with my current Harmony. I like the peanut shape, buttons and button placement.

#40 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,149 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:27 PM

I'll still pass.


Yeah, same here. I just don't like the placment of the transport controls.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#41 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,930 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 04 October 2012 - 06:33 PM

After bouncing through a few remotes I always find myself going back to my Bears remote.

#42 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,208 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:34 PM

Best Buy and Amazon each have the Touch available for pre-order. It comes out 10/10/12.

#43 OFFLINE   Alebob911

Alebob911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,605 posts
  • LocationCERES,CA
Joined: Mar 22, 2007

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:49 PM

I like Drew2K will have to play with this thing before deciding. I love my Harmony One and don't think I could get use to the whole touch swipe thing but i'll wait till I can play with it before making a final judgement.

#44 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:51 PM

I like Drew2K will have to play with this thing before deciding. I love my Harmony One and don't think I could get use to the whole touch swipe thing but i'll wait till I can play with it before making a final judgement.


It would have to have a lot better response than my Harmony 900. It misses touchpad taps, and then will turn around and accept one when I am trying to hit the < or > arrow to change pages. Gets rather annoying sometimes.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#45 OFFLINE   Alebob911

Alebob911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,605 posts
  • LocationCERES,CA
Joined: Mar 22, 2007

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:55 PM

I know exactly what you mean. I've hit the turn on Directv touch only to find the blu ray turning on instead. I tried to turn off the touch sounds for the bedroom but I never knew if I pressed hard enough so its back on. :)

#46 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,382 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 04 October 2012 - 10:03 PM

According to Amazon's description of this product, it does sequences:

Includes advanced features, like sequences (or macros) to create the shortcuts you desire


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#47 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,149 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 05 October 2012 - 06:49 AM

I like Drew2K will have to play with this thing before deciding. I love my Harmony One and don't think I could get use to the whole touch swipe thing but i'll wait till I can play with it before making a final judgement.


I would think the whole swipe to skip thing would wear out your thumb very quickly.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#48 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,332 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 05 October 2012 - 07:11 AM

I kinda like the minimalist look. If it does everything you'd expect out of a universal, I'm of the mind that fewer buttons is a very good idea.

Of course I can't complain about the cost after what I paid for my MX-880. :grin:

I can see all those points.

While we have a very expensive remote in our Home Theater (icon controls) - in the rest of our home...it's tough to beat a $39 Harmony that controls all the equipment in one location with 1-3 keystrokes for many commands.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#49 OFFLINE   liquidsense

liquidsense

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Apr 13, 2007

Posted 06 October 2012 - 04:16 PM

Very true. This remote will have to be held and used to know if it's as good as or better than, and as easy to use, as the layout of the Harmony One/900 remote.

I've been sitting here with my cell phone in my hand playing with left/right swipes, and honestly, I don't think I can swipe right 6 or 8 times (for SKIP FWD) as fast as I can tap a button 6 or 8 times.

I definitely need to try this out to know for sure.


I agree. I usually end up using the SKIP FWD button on my One much more frequently than FFWD because it's just easier to stack four to five quick button presses and get around the right place to skip the commercial. Swiping four to five times to the right is going to be a pain. I wonder if you can simply tap the right edge of the touch screen to accomplish a SKIP FWD. But, then I worry that you'll get unwanted skips from time to time.

#50 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,208 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 07 October 2012 - 06:11 PM

My local Best Buy had two Harmony Touch remotes locked up behind the counter, so I bought one at 10 AM ET this morning to try it out.

I’ve owned many Harmony remotes (300, 360, 520, 550, 676, 700, 880, One, 900) so I’ve had a lot of time to examine the changes in both the hardware and software, and was really looking forward to the Touch, but I can honestly say I see a lot of missed opportunities with this new remote.

The Good
  • One login at myharmony.com for multiple remotes
  • Sequences can include up to 10 commands and delays
  • Charger - holds remote in upright/vertical position; easy to grab and use

The Bad
  • No client software; requires installation of Silverlight through browser
  • Battery removal requires disassembly of remote
  • No motion sensor; have to tap screen or touch a key to turn on backlight and screen
  • Top edge of remote is not rounded, so digs into heel of your palm
  • Color keys far too low to be useful; have to really hold remote in awkward position to be able to use thumb on these keys
  • Hitting PAUSE with left thumb often activates the FAV icon, switching screen to favorites
  • Hitting PAUSE with right thumb often activates the Home screen, so you leave whatever screen you were on
  • Access to activities takes more effort than the One and 900: 3 activities per screen before, now one activity per screen; takes 15 swipes to get to my last activity, versus 5 on previous remotes
  • The setup of the Touch copied settings from my Harmony 900, but misnamed most of my DIRECTV devices, and I can’t rename them
  • Screen only shows 5 commands at a time, one per row, so waste of space. It could be showing 10 commands at a time!
  • Swipe actions are only active when the user activates “Gesture” mode. So you have to switch modes to see numbers, see commands, see favorites, or use gestures

The 10-step Sequences are really the best part of the remote, so I’m going to create several sequences and learn them as raw commands to my 900, and then return the Touch.

It’s not comfortable to hold long term, it’s a pain to have to switch into and out of gesture mode, and the accidental touch of the Home and Favorite soft keys makes use of Pause a major nuisance.

I like where Logitech was going with the touch screen and gestures, but this needs a major overhaul, especially for someone who maxes out 15 devices and has as many Activities. I’m sticking with my 900 …

Edited by Drew2k, 07 October 2012 - 06:16 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...