Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 Signal level Question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cbayus

cbayus

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2007

Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:48 PM

Does the HR34 require a stronger signal than a HR20?

The reason for this question is that I have an installer coming with a HR34 and another HD DVR along with an upgrade to SWM coming on Tuesday. I currently have a HR20 and a old Hughes legacy receiver hooked to a 5-LNB Slimline dish via a legacy multiswitch. I have levels varying from the low 80's to mid 90's on all the needed transponders.

Thanks in advance.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,847 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:30 PM

Does the HR34 require a stronger signal than a HR20?

The reason for this question is that I have an installer coming with a HR34 and another HD DVR along with an upgrade to SWM coming on Tuesday. I currently have a HR20 and a old Hughes legacy receiver hooked to a 5-LNB Slimline dish via a legacy multiswitch. I have levels varying from the low 80's to mid 90's on all the needed transponders.

Thanks in advance.

SWiM works differently and it sounds like you'll be getting a LNB swap so he should realign the dish as part of it.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   cbayus

cbayus

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2007

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:52 PM

SWiM works differently and it sounds like you'll be getting a LNB swap so he should realign the dish as part of it.


They may swap the LNB or not,but I will be getting a SWiM16. 9 tuners in total. 1 HR34, 1 HR20-700 and 1 unknown HR2x HDDVR.

The real question I guess is do SWiM systems require a stronger signal than the legacy.

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,847 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 September 2012 - 11:09 PM

They may swap the LNB or not,but I will be getting a SWiM16. 9 tuners in total. 1 HR34, 1 HR20-700 and 1 unknown HR2x HDDVR.

The real question I guess is do SWiM systems require a stronger signal than the legacy.

9 tuners changes things.
The SWiM has an AGC so the power level remains more constant and works with -15 dBm, to -45 dBm from the LNB.
He should run the IV test before he leaves and if it passes, you'll be good to go. If he's got to call in for a waiver to get past it, I might have some concerns.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   cbayus

cbayus

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2007

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:49 AM

9 tuners changes things.
The SWiM has an AGC so the power level remains more constant and works with -15 dBm, to -45 dBm from the LNB.
He should run the IV test before he leaves and if it passes, you'll be good to go. If he's got to call in for a waiver to get past it, I might have some concerns.


OK thanks.

Let me make sure I understand how this works. From the dish to the SWiM16 is one signal level. Then the SWiM16 acts as a repeater and a transverter of the dish signal to the SWiM channels that are sent the the receivers.This second one from the SWiM16 to the receiver is another signal level.

Another question. Can you direct me to more information on the internal workings on how SWiM works. I've found general information but I would like to learn the more technical aspects.

Thanks for your assistance.

#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,847 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:58 AM

OK thanks.

Let me make sure I understand how this works. From the dish to the SWiM16 is one signal level. Then the SWiM16 acts as a repeater and a transverter of the dish signal to the SWiM channels that are sent the the receivers.This second one from the SWiM16 to the receiver is another signal level.

Another question. Can you direct me to more information on the internal workings on how SWiM works. I've found general information but I would like to learn the more technical aspects.

Thanks for your assistance.

Not sure the SWiM gets "spelled out" anywhere, but:
Think of it as a "pre-tuner".
The receiver requests a channel over the 2.3 MHz comm signal, and the SWiM tunes to it and sends it to the receiver in a 100 MHz bandwidth frequency [these range from about 974 to almost 1800 MHz]. When the receiver wants another channel, the SWiM tunes and sends it to the receiver on the same frequency as before.

Once you get it installed, you'll be able to see an additional SAT screen for SWM, with nine "TPs", where the first is the guide data common to all, and the next eight are for the tuners.

Your SWiM-16 has two outputs, so each will have the guide data & eight others.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...