Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR 34 PiP issues


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   vthokies1996

vthokies1996

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 30 September 2012 - 02:55 PM

Haven't used PiP in a while. I just tried it and now am having all sorts of issues with it. Half of the times when I go to PiP its puts the same channel on both windows. Other major issue is every time I go to PiP one of the windows always freezes. I have it set to display side by side. Last time I used I had no issues, now I can't get it to work at all. Any ideas????

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 30 September 2012 - 03:38 PM

I've experienced the exact same thing with Double Play today. From what I hear, Double Play and PIP on the HR34 are two different manifestations of the same utility, so that makes sense.

Specifically, I had Double Play going between the Packers and the Ryder Cup. At one point, I suddenly had the Ryder Cup on both sides of Double Play. I figured I screw up, switching off the Packers, so I changed one side of Double Play back to the Packers game. Now I had the Packers game on both sides of Double Play! WTF. It took a while to get things back to normal and in the process I lost the buffer on the Packers game.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#3 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,372 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 30 September 2012 - 04:16 PM

First thing to try is resetting the DVR.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#4 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 01 October 2012 - 01:22 AM

You want me to reboot my DVR the middle of a Packers game? :eek2:

litzdog, I'm not disagreeing with your solution but let's examine the situation. I had Double Play working fine. A few minutes later it failed. The reason I was using it is I wanted two buffers going. If I was to reboot the DVR, I would lose those two buffers on sporting events in which I was interested.

I used to sell Bang and Olufsen stereos. They had a great tag line in the 1980s: Technology in service of man, not the other way around.

I shouldn't have to reboot my DVR, stopping my enjoyment of a Sunday afternoon of sports.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#5 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,107 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:57 AM

I used PiP off and on yesterday and experienced no such issues.
Perhaps I Misremembered.

#6 OFFLINE   vthokies1996

vthokies1996

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 01 October 2012 - 06:46 AM

Exactly. I wasn't going to reset the DVR in the middle of football. I reset the receiver last night after the Giants/Eagles game ended. I went to bed before the reset was complete. I'll check again when I get home to see if PiP is still messed up.




spam firewall