Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Waiting to Download- Nomad


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Tonyftony716

Tonyftony716

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: May 15, 2012

Posted 01 October 2012 - 04:47 PM

Hi all. Looks like I spoke too soon. I have had nothing but problems with my Nomad ever since last week. I got the account was disabled message. I uninstalled my Nomad on my IPad and re-installed it. I no longer get that message and can see my DVR but I get a "waiting to prepare" message on everything I click on to download. It just sits there in this status until I cancel the request.

Has anyone else had this issue? Any suggestions on what to do? I didn't have any problems with my Nomad until last week.

Edited by Tonyftony716, 01 October 2012 - 05:12 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Mike_TV

Mike_TV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2006

Posted 03 October 2012 - 07:08 AM

I have the same thing. Rebooted Nomad, removed external USB drive, rebooted all DVRs, uninstalled iPhone, iPod, and iPad and PC apps. Reinstalled everything yet still have 15 movies, not VOD, showing "Waiting to prepare". They never get transcoded and never get to the point where I can download them. Here is a picture of what I see.

Posted Image

#3 OFFLINE   Tonyftony716

Tonyftony716

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: May 15, 2012

Posted 03 October 2012 - 12:14 PM

Yes this is what I have. I did the same thing to try to get it to work . I would like to call Directv but this forum is usually more helpful. I'm not sure what else I can do.

#4 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,689 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 03 October 2012 - 12:42 PM

It seems your nomad is "locked up" in the prepare process for some reason.

Doing a red button reboot for 30 seconds on nomad itself should reset the unit without impacting the recording content stored on it.

Note: Allow the process to go through the full cycle to reset - all 3 LEDs on nomad will turn blue when things are done. This could take a few minutes.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#5 OFFLINE   Tonyftony716

Tonyftony716

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: May 15, 2012

Posted 03 October 2012 - 01:06 PM

I will try that tonight. I just did the 3 second reset and that didn't work last night.

#6 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,689 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 03 October 2012 - 01:14 PM

I will try that tonight. I just did the 3 second reset and that didn't work last night.

Hopefully that clears things up for you. That process has worked at times for others.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#7 OFFLINE   flyao2

flyao2

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2012

Posted 28 October 2012 - 03:15 PM

Anyone have any other ideas on this? I just got the NOMAD and cannot get rid of the "waiting to prepare" message.

One time it downloaded when I left it overnight, but never before or since.

I have Whole-Home and the DirecTV Cinema kit and everything works - except the Nomad.

Tried calling the 1800 number, they have absolutely zero idea how to fix this.

#8 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 29 October 2012 - 09:55 AM

Going to have to give us more information. What client are you trying to use, PC or iPhone? Are you trying to auto prepare a series, or select individual shows/movies. Are you trying to watch recordings over Whole Home DVR from the same DVR you are trying to prepare recordings for Nomad?

If I remember correctly the iPhone app has to be left open running on the screen in order to download the programs. You can't hit the button on the top to shut off the screen, or close the program to run in the background, or it will stop working.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#9 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,199 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 October 2012 - 10:49 AM

I cleared up my logjam by canceling every "Waiting to prepare" show from every device and doing a 30 second reset. HTH.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#10 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,481 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 29 October 2012 - 10:49 AM

Nomad continues to prepare programs if you close the client. You will be prompted the next time the client is opened to download when they are ready.

Of course, the client has to remain open when downloading.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#11 OFFLINE   otaliema

otaliema

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
  • LocationMid-west USA
Joined: Aug 09, 2012

Posted 29 October 2012 - 11:12 AM

The only thing that I can think of that could be causing a problem is the Nomad and the WH systems use the same processes in the receiver so if you are/start using WH from the DVR that the programs are being preperad and downloaded from, the Nomad will take a back seat to the WH request, once the unit is not being used by WH services you have to manualy restart the download on the nomad for all titles requested from that DVR.

I am a former DIRECTV employee however all statements opinions, views, expressions, etc, are entirely my own even if logic says otherwise.

They DO NOT reflect on DIRECTV and or any partner, affiliated company's, polices, processes, opinions, or things that are not listed here.

Set up. HR24-200, HR24-200, HR22-200, H23-600. Whole Home, BBCCK, SL3 SWiM.

I have found that working with computers is like working with a toddler, sometimes there is no reason for the melt down, just keep on moving forward.


#12 OFFLINE   flyao2

flyao2

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2012

Posted 29 October 2012 - 11:36 AM

Going to have to give us more information. What client are you trying to use, PC or iPhone? Are you trying to auto prepare a series, or select individual shows/movies. Are you trying to watch recordings over Whole Home DVR from the same DVR you are trying to prepare recordings for Nomad?

If I remember correctly the iPhone app has to be left open running on the screen in order to download the programs. You can't hit the button on the top to shut off the screen, or close the program to run in the background, or it will stop working.


Tried it both ways using the PC app and the iPhone App. Neither works.

Tried both auto prepare and manual prepare

Nobody is watching any of the DVRs

iPhone App was left on.

Have also reset the Nomad (using 3 second & 30 second reset). Unplugged the Nomad overnight. Deleted and re-installed applications. Nothing works.

I should note, 1 time the app did in fact prepare a show, but never since.

#13 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,199 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 October 2012 - 12:14 PM

Did you see post 9?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#14 OFFLINE   flyao2

flyao2

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2012

Posted 29 October 2012 - 12:49 PM

Did you see post 9?


Yep - tried that...only have one item in queue and still doesn't go

#15 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,199 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 October 2012 - 12:55 PM

Yep - tried that...only have one item in queue and still doesn't go


If you manage to delete it, that's the trick. Delete everything it says it's preparing or downloading and start over. HTH.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#16 OFFLINE   flyao2

flyao2

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2012

Posted 29 October 2012 - 06:05 PM

If you manage to delete it, that's the trick. Delete everything it says it's preparing or downloading and start over. HTH.


able to clear everything out - at least I think I can, I don't see anything else - and still no go....

#17 OFFLINE   otaliema

otaliema

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
  • LocationMid-west USA
Joined: Aug 09, 2012

Posted 30 October 2012 - 11:06 AM

Have you tried a factory defaults reset on the Nomad yet? From what I see you've tried everything else suggested so far. The only other thing I can think of is a poor network connection at the Nomad. Work well enough to see everything but not well enough to actualy download anything.
For defaults reset press and hold the reset button for a full 2 minutes. *NOTE this will basicly format the device and previous downloaded content will be deleted and all settings will be deleted as well.

Edited by otaliema, 30 October 2012 - 11:07 AM.
forgot a couple words.

I am a former DIRECTV employee however all statements opinions, views, expressions, etc, are entirely my own even if logic says otherwise.

They DO NOT reflect on DIRECTV and or any partner, affiliated company's, polices, processes, opinions, or things that are not listed here.

Set up. HR24-200, HR24-200, HR22-200, H23-600. Whole Home, BBCCK, SL3 SWiM.

I have found that working with computers is like working with a toddler, sometimes there is no reason for the melt down, just keep on moving forward.


#18 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,904 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 30 October 2012 - 06:51 PM

Assuming you did a full 2 min reset, and all lights after about 60 secs came back to blue, can you get one program to download?

Don't stack them, grab one and start a download. After about a minute it should show xx minutes remaining on the screen and the left most blue light should slowly pulse.

Can you get that far?

#19 OFFLINE   Mike_TV

Mike_TV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2006

Posted 31 October 2012 - 05:55 AM

Doing the red button reset for 30 seconds fixed my problem. Took about a week for queue to clear up and get everything to download but it worked.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...