Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Amp


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ESA1178

ESA1178

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2011

Posted 02 October 2012 - 01:52 PM

I just finished installing an antenna on a 30 foot mast.
I have a Vanco 24dB Signal Amplifier w/ Return Path.
The amp doesn't seem to be helping.
Admittingly the amp is next to my TV. I cannot place it at the top of the mast with the antenna, but I can certainly place it at the base. Would that help?

Or perhaps someone can recommend a more powerful amp?

Thanks!

Mark

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,791 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 October 2012 - 02:13 PM

That wouldn't have been my first choice.

Not that this one would be either but is closer:
http://www.solidsign...&sku=1579810016

What you have is a distribution amp for CATV.

What you want is a low noise preamp.
They work best by having little to no loss between the antenna and the amp.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   kenglish

kenglish

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 972 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah, USA
Joined: Oct 02, 2004

Posted 02 October 2012 - 05:44 PM

If you are close to the stations, the amp is often unnecessary.
If you are close to FM stations, the amp may overload, and you'll get nothing.

#4 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,473 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:13 PM

The amp has a noise ratio of 5.4, pretty high, so it will not work well on weak signals.

Other than that we can give you no more cogent advice without knowing approximately where you live.

Please go to www.TVFool.com and complete the report and copy the URL here so we can see the estimated signal strengths in your area.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#5 OFFLINE   bigglebowski

bigglebowski

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2010

Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:11 AM

How long is the cable from the antenna to the TV? An amp is usually needed when the cable pull is very long or you plan on splitting the signal many times to compensate for all the signal loss the splitters cause.

But yes having the amp right at the TV is a problem as either the signal has already too low going into the amp not to mention that the signal coming out of an amp is probably too strong for the TV. Too much signal of analog or digital is most of the time worse than weak signal on TVs.

Mast amps for antennas is the way to go but if your cable pull is not that long or there will be no splitting of the signal an amp may not be needed.

Technically the amp you have will will work fine but the placement is certainly not ideal. Notice how the amp in the link VOS posted recommends a variable attenuator to eat up all of that gain that it creates.

#6 OFFLINE   ESA1178

ESA1178

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2011

Posted 23 October 2012 - 11:30 AM

Thanks guys.

I now have the Winegard AP8275. But the mast is already up and at 20' I cannot place the amp at the top by the antenna. How about mid mast? Or at the bottom? Other than aesthetics, is there any signal difference 'tween twist on coaxial connectors and crimp?

Thanks again

Mark

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,791 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 October 2012 - 11:43 AM

Thanks guys.

I now have the Winegard AP8275. But the mast is already up and at 20' I cannot place the amp at the top by the antenna. How about mid mast? Or at the bottom? Other than aesthetics, is there any signal difference 'tween twist on coaxial connectors and crimp?

Thanks again

Mark

A preamp should be mounted at the antenna, because the cable loss between it and the antenna increases the noise of the system [thus reducing the SNR].
"Twist on" might as well be called "fall off" and not be used.
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   ESA1178

ESA1178

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2011

Posted 23 October 2012 - 12:57 PM

I will be mounting to the antenna, but at the base. I have to go with a twist on connector. Cannot justify buying the crimping tool for one job.
If I use a splitter 3 TV's in all. will that degrade the signal?
Are all splitters the same?


Thanks!

Mark

#9 OFFLINE   Scott in FL

Scott in FL

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 427 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 24 October 2012 - 04:59 AM

Mark,
As VOS said, you should not use twist-on connectors, especially outside on the input side of the amplifier. You want the highest quality connection possible, and you will use a crimp tool again. I've had mine for years. I think you can buy the tool and connectors at Home Depot and Lowes these days. Waterproof the connection.

I've never found much difference in splitters. Others may disagree. A 3-way splitter will degrade your signal by about 5 dB. Add that 5 dB to the cable loss after the amplifier, and this is the amount of loss that the amplifier's gain must "make up." In other words, if the amplifier's gain is more than or equal to the cable and splitter losses after the amplifier, then you will not have any degradation (assuming a low noise amplifier). For the cable loss calculation, use the length (loss) of the one, longest cable run to the tv.

#10 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,745 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 24 October 2012 - 06:01 AM

I recommend compression fittings, not screw on or crimp on. You can get a compression fitting kit at Home Depot or Lowes.

#11 OFFLINE   ESA1178

ESA1178

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2011

Posted 24 October 2012 - 09:48 AM

Thanks guys. I installed the amp on the mast directly. But there is no difference in the amounts of channels I receive.


Mark

Edited by ESA1178, 24 October 2012 - 11:53 AM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...