Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Whole-Home not working since Sunday - Sort of ..


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Leftcoastdave

Leftcoastdave

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2004

Posted 02 October 2012 - 08:36 PM

After many months of error free whole-home streaming, we ran into a problem on Sunday. None of our 5 HD DVR's (HR20-700 (3), HR20-100, HR24-500) was able to stream programming from any other DVR.

I called DIRECTV and rebooted every receiver and the router thinking it was a corrupted data problem, but nothing fixed it. I scheduled a service call for Wednesday and decided earlier tonight to see if anything changed.

Much to my surprise, whole-home was working fine on all receivers. I checked for a software download assuming some fix had been distributed, but could not find one. I called DIRECTV, cancelled the service call, and asked the CSR to peruse the support data base to see if this "on again, off again" problem was known. She could not find any notations in any of their support records.

I never like technical problems that seemingly heal themselves.

I searched AVS and DBSTalk but could not find any threads on this subject.

Can anyone tell me if they have experienced a recent whole-home outage as have I?

Thanks

Dave
Ut Prosim

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,685 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 02 October 2012 - 08:54 PM

Could be the reset of your router did it, but it took some time to filter down and reassign ips to your boxes. I have seen that before after resetting a dvr, it took an hour or two for everything to get back to normal.

#3 OFFLINE   Leftcoastdave

Leftcoastdave

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2004

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:47 PM

Could be the reset of your router did it, but it took some time to filter down and reassign ips to your boxes. I have seen that before after resetting a dvr, it took an hour or two for everything to get back to normal.


Could be but I use static IP addresses on all devices and each of the devices was pingable from our PC. The DVR's are all hardwired to the router.

I might add that during the failure period, I was able to share and see all playlists from every DVR. But when I went to stream anything I would get an "unable to access content" message after a 90 second wait period. The pop up dialogue box asked if I wanted to try again or cancel. Retries did not work.

Now all behavior is back to normal. The outage lasted about 2.5 days.

Dave
Ut Prosim

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,618 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:59 PM

It's hard to troubleshoot something when it's working.

One of the advantages of the DECA networking and using the H/HR24-34 is the whole network can be tested through one of the receivers.

With ethernet, you're on your own to figure out what doesn't work and why.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 794 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 04 October 2012 - 12:31 PM

Yeah with MRV over Ethernet they never should have even set up a service call. Because once a technician arrived they wouldn't touch that.
I'm glad it's working for you but keep in mind this is an unsupported setup.
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#6 OFFLINE   Leftcoastdave

Leftcoastdave

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2004

Posted 04 October 2012 - 04:25 PM

Yeah with MRV over Ethernet they never should have even set up a service call. Because once a technician arrived they wouldn't touch that.
I'm glad it's working for you but keep in mind this is an unsupported setup.


If I left the impression that our whole home streaming is via Ethernet, I apologize. Our streaming is via a SWM and Slimline 5 over coax. The references to seeing and assigning IP addresses comes under the category of "reboot everything on the LAN and hope it fixes something" on my part.
Ut Prosim

#7 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 05 October 2012 - 06:25 AM

Could be but I use static IP addresses on all devices and each of the devices was pingable from our PC. The DVR's are all hardwired to the router.

I might add that during the failure period, I was able to share and see all playlists from every DVR. But when I went to stream anything I would get an "unable to access content" message after a 90 second wait period. The pop up dialogue box asked if I wanted to try again or cancel. Retries did not work.

Now all behavior is back to normal. The outage lasted about 2.5 days.

Dave


I believe this is what threw everyone off...




spam firewall