Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

10 HD RECEIVERS need to be controlled from different rooms


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   texano0038

texano0038

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2012

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:09 PM

I have 10 HD DTV DVR receivers that need to be controlled remotely from a different room. Is there anything in the market that I can buy to make it happen? Via PC or remote control or something like a panel? anything?.. Thanks More details 10 HD receivers, connected to one TV to check sources (TV channels) in separate rooms, and I want to be able to change channels on single receivers without affecting the other ones.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:18 PM

DIRECTV iPad application.
Connect all the receivers to the same network, with WiFi on the network.

iPad will be able to control them, just as you have listed.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,884 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 03 October 2012 - 07:29 AM

The iPad solution as Earl noted will be the best solution.

But if you don't have an iPad or networked receivers, just set them all to RF and have 10 remotes. Not fancy, but it will work.

There are other products on the market from URC, RTi and Crestron that will do this as well, but get ready to fork over some $$$.

My Setup

 

Why can I get to the "Adult's Only" area faster than I can get to the "ToDo" List?  DirecTV, that is messed up!!!


#4 OFFLINE   dgeffs

dgeffs

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2006

Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:15 AM

Perhaps Roomie Remote could do that. I am controlling 4 HD receivers using it.

Dale

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,823 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:54 AM

I guess it comes down to what kind of control you need. If each receiver drives a TV in a different room, RF is your friend. If you want to control multiple receivers from each room, you're probably looking at a pro system or the rather expensive (if you need one in each room) iPad option.

Some of this may come down to how the displays are connected. There are HDMI over CAT5e wall plates that have IR repeaters built in for under $32+S&H a set.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,204 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 03 October 2012 - 01:56 PM

The iPad solution as Earl noted will be the best solution.

But if you don't have an iPad or networked receivers, just set them all to RF and have 10 remotes. Not fancy, but it will work.

There are other products on the market from URC, RTi and Crestron that will do this as well, but get ready to fork over some $$$.

If the receivers are set to RF, each DIRECTV remote can control up to 3 receivers so 10 receivers could be controlled with only 4 remotes.

The iPad/networked receiver solution is far simpler, however.
Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders

#7 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,250 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 03 October 2012 - 02:25 PM

If you don't have an iPad, there are some apps available for Android phones that do the same thing. I have to assume that there are similar iPhone apps.

#8 OFFLINE   Dazed & Confused

Dazed & Confused

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2007

Posted 03 October 2012 - 03:53 PM

I'm still trying to wrap my head around 10 receivers. Posted Image
_____________________________________________
Sony KDL-40V2500 / HR20-100
Sony KDS-55A2020 / HR22-100

#9 OFFLINE   Rus

Rus

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2012

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:08 PM

I'm still trying to wrap my head around 10 receivers. Posted Image


Me too!!!. I thought I was alone here. :lol:

#10 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,288 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 04 October 2012 - 02:53 PM

Me too!!!. I thought I was alone here. :lol:


I had 5 HD DVR's when my HR34 was installed back in Feb. and the installers were shocked. 15 tuners is alot but not as many as this is talking. Would he use two SWM16's or a SWM 32 for that many?
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#11 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,883 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 05 October 2012 - 06:05 AM

The OP first says HD DVR then HD Receivers. . . so it may only be 10 tuners, connected to 1 TV and controlled from a separate room.

I'm still confused!!

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#12 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,011 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 05 October 2012 - 10:06 PM

four remotes, rf, and a little duct tape and i can make you one giant remote to do it all.. :)




spam firewall