Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Cinema connection kit


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   teneighytp

teneighytp

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2012

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:04 PM

Hello folks. I'm new here and a new directive customer. I'm a little confused about the WHDVR connections. I've read about the cinema connection kit. I don't have the connection kit, I have a deca adapter which connects my router with the HR34 via ethernet/splitter/coax. Is there an internet signal which travels along the coax which is split to the HR24 downstairs? If I added another receiver would I need the connection kit? How are the HR34 and HR24 actually connected? Thanks for any information!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,843 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:41 PM

The HR34 can act as Ethernet Bridge. So you don't really need a CCK.

You can only add a H24 or H25. Another HR2x would put you at 9-tuners and for 9 to 16 tuners you'll need a SWiM-16.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#3 OFFLINE   teneighytp

teneighytp

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2012

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:59 PM

Is the reason I don't need a CCK because my router is right next to the HR34? Is my HR24 downstairs connected to the internet at all, or is it just connected to the HR34 via the coax cable and that is what makes the WHDVR work? Is the HR24 supposed to be connected to the internet?

#4 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,843 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:28 PM

Is the reason I don't need a CCK because my router is right next to the HR34? Is my HR24 downstairs connected to the internet at all, or is it just connected to the HR34 via the coax cable and that is what makes the WHDVR work? Is the HR24 supposed to be connected to the internet?

The HR34 just needs to be connected to your home LAN.

If your Whole Home/MRV is enable by DirecTV then your HR24 should also see the Internet via the HR34 Ethernet Bridge.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#5 OFFLINE   teneighytp

teneighytp

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2012

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:44 PM

By Ethernet bridge are you saying the Internet signal is carried to to HR24 via the R-G6 cable? Should I be able to access the same things as the HR34 such as Pandora, Youtube etc..?

#6 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:46 PM

The way your equipment is set up you should be able to do that now.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#7 OFFLINE   wallfishman

wallfishman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:34 AM

Hello folks. I'm new here and a new directive customer. I'm a little confused about the WHDVR connections. I've read about the cinema connection kit. I don't have the connection kit, I have a deca adapter which connects my router with the HR34 via ethernet/splitter/coax. Is there an internet signal which travels along the coax which is split to the HR24 downstairs? If I added another receiver would I need the connection kit? How are the HR34 and HR24 actually connected? Thanks for any information!


The deca adapter you have is the cinema connection kit. The new models are basically a receiver deca with a power supply. so it sounds like you are hooked up correctly. And yes you should be able to access the On Demand from your HR24 downstairs ..

#8 OFFLINE   BobStokesbary

BobStokesbary

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 215 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2010

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:33 AM

The deca adapter you have is the cinema connection kit. The new models are basically a receiver deca with a power supply. so it sounds like you are hooked up correctly. And yes you should be able to access the On Demand from your HR24 downstairs ..

+1

#9 OFFLINE   teneighytp

teneighytp

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2012

Posted 04 October 2012 - 04:42 PM

The receiver I have downstairs is an H24 not an HR24 as stated earlier. It is connected to the WHDVR (HR34) but is not connected to the internet. Is it supposed to be?

#10 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,843 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 04 October 2012 - 05:09 PM

The receiver I have downstairs is an H24 not an HR24 as stated earlier. It is connected to the WHDVR (HR34) but is not connected to the internet. Is it supposed to be?

H2* don't have a HDD for buffering, so it can't handle most of DirecTV Internet Features like YouTube, Pandora, etc.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#11 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 04 October 2012 - 05:38 PM

Point your remote at the H24, press the right arrow button. If TV Apps load your internet connected. Say WoW! Thats about it for an H24.

So I have a question teneighytp.

Toilet Paper or Tire Pressure. It's been bugging me.;)
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#12 OFFLINE   teneighytp

teneighytp

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2012

Posted 04 October 2012 - 06:05 PM

Point your remote at the H24, press the right arrow button. If TV Apps load your internet connected. Say WoW! Thats about it for an H24.

So I have a question teneighytp.

Toilet Paper or Tire Pressure. It's been bugging me.;)


The tv apps that the H24 can load are from the satellite feed, not the internet.

#13 OFFLINE   churdie

churdie

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 108 posts
Joined: May 04, 2003

Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:58 PM

got one for free at directv.com, is this a new promotion??
got even free shipping!




spam firewall