Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper wiring and the Node


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cclement

cclement

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 235 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2004

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:07 PM

I'm ready to pull the trigger and get a Hopper and Joey to replace my 722 and 622. But I have older coaxial RG6 that isn't swept to 3Gz. After reading more and talking to an installer, that 3Gz cable only needs to be between the node and the Hopper. So my question, is this possible?

I have 3 RG6 runs to my 722, 2 from my 34 switch and 1 from my antenna. They all come my utility room. So can I put the solo node behind the Hopper and take the 2 satellite lines in from my new Dish 1000.2 in to the node and use the third RG6 as an "out" that will go to my Joey?

Thanks for you help!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,308 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:53 PM

See www.dishuser.org/hopper.php for diagrams (PDF files)

#3 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 04 October 2012 - 08:26 PM

Yes, that should work. What is your cable swept to? 2.25 GHz? It may have it printed on the side of it.

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,308 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 October 2012 - 10:08 PM

"swept" in not the final point of discarding the existing cable: old reels of RG-6 cable just not swept to 3 GHZ, but works with h2k's nodes just fine




spam firewall