Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

help recordings not on hopper!!!!


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jefte1

jefte1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2010

Posted 04 October 2012 - 05:27 PM

My hopper just did a self reboot and when it came back on all my recorded programs were gone..can anyone help.I was just watching tv when it just froze up and rebooted on its own..when I went to dvr to watch something all my recordings were gone.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,163 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 04 October 2012 - 06:39 PM

There have been a couple of reported incidents like this, unfortunately if a reboot didn't bring them back, your recordings are gone.

#3 OFFLINE   jefte1

jefte1

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2010

Posted 04 October 2012 - 06:46 PM

thanks for the reply just got off phone with a tech support in my are (sc) they are sending a tech out tom afternoon..my other hopper in my daughters room is fine and working just the one in the lr went out.

#4 OFFLINE   saberfly

saberfly

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2010

Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:42 PM

I guess you aren't going to start cookin, cleanin, leavin, and jaggin.

#5 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 04 October 2012 - 08:31 PM

Don't expect the tech to recover your recordings for you. I am one, and we don't have any special tools or anything. As garys said, if you perform a power cord reset and they still don't show, they're gone.

#6 OFFLINE   jefte1

jefte1

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2010

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:39 PM

yeah i figured that.....it is now freezing up and shows a signal loss on screen... the one in the other room is fine.. no signal loss just the hopper in the living room...will do that when i go to switch channels..and now even tho it shows a channel being recorded on the guide the red light is not on the front of the hopper.

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,744 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 October 2012 - 10:12 PM

perhaps your DVR is overheated ?

As to recover recordings ... well, it could be done, but if you own it, willing to learn Linux and XFS tool; then first action: stop using DVR, need turn it off, remove the drive and start working with it.




spam firewall