Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

OSx Emulator


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 05 October 2012 - 04:15 PM

I know OSx has Boot Camp so you can use Windows. Is there an OSx emulator for Windows (64 bit 7). Going to be using OSx next semester in school, and I haven't really touched a Mac since 96 lol

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,505 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 05 October 2012 - 04:26 PM

I know OSx has Boot Camp so you can use Windows. Is there an OSx emulator for Windows (64 bit 7). Going to be using OSx next semester in school, and I haven't really touched a Mac since 96 lol


Among other possible things... you can get VMWare. For the Mac it is called VMWare Fusion... but I believe the PC/Windows version is still called VMWare Workstation.

It allows you to setup virtual machines and install operating systems.

I have VMWare on my Mac and I use that instead of Boot Camp.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#3 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 06 October 2012 - 06:42 AM

Among other possible things... you can get VMWare. For the Mac it is called VMWare Fusion... but I believe the PC/Windows version is still called VMWare Workstation.

It allows you to setup virtual machines and install operating systems.

I have VMWare on my Mac and I use that instead of Boot Camp.


Always thought that OSx looking for a apple singature before it would install, maybe they changed this, not really sure

It is VMware Workstation, they are on Version 9. retail is 249.00, academic is 149.00

http://www.vmware.co...tation/new.html

#4 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:07 AM

It's tough but it can be done.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#5 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:09 AM

Would it be legal though? Without looking, I bet the OSx license requires Apple hardware.

#6 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,505 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:50 AM

You know... after doing a little reading... I was surprised to find out... VMWare Workstation for the PC costs a bit more than VMWare Fusion for the Mac... and while Fusion for the Mac supports Windows, OS X, and Linux... Workstation only claims support for Linux and Windows virtual machines.

So... I guess I spoke too soon... unless there are some likely-to-be-illegal workarounds, you can't do OS X even in a virtual machine on a PC.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#7 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 06 October 2012 - 10:25 AM

http://lifehacker.co...lbox-on-windows

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#8 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,279 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 06 October 2012 - 10:47 AM

Would it be legal though? Without looking, I bet the OSx license requires Apple hardware.


It wouldn't be illegal, but it does violate the TOS. IOW, Apple could sue you. Of course I doubt that Apple would.

There are a number of sites that talk about how to get OSX on a Windows box, most send you off to one of the pirate sites for things like an .iso of OSX.

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 





spam firewall