Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hr34 with am21 recording


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ibooksrule

ibooksrule

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 435 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2003

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:05 PM

Am looking to add an am21 to my hr34 to use for locals when weather is bad and satellite is out and such.

My question is can you record from more then 1 station via antenna? How does it affect your other 5 tuners?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • Registered
  • 698 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:25 PM

Am looking to add an am21 to my hr34 to use for locals when weather is bad and satellite is out and such.

My question is can you record from more then 1 station via antenna? How does it affect your other 5 tuners?


You can record a max of two OTA's at same time. You can tune to or record three other SAT channels, but cannot tune to another OTA channel while recording on two different OTA channels. It would be nice if we could record either 5 SAT or OTA's at same time, but likely will never happen.

#3 OFFLINE   ibooksrule

ibooksrule

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 435 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2003

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:29 PM

Better then what it use to be. Any receiver I have had before was only 1 OTA
How well does the am21 tuner work? Use to have issues with dish my tuner in the DVR was not great even though I'm not far from channels

#4 OFFLINE   tigerwillow1

tigerwillow1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2009

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:48 PM

I only have one AM21 to comment on. I find it to have poor reception of marginal signals. Besides the AM21, I've got a Sony TV and Magnavox DVR as additional ATSC OTA tuners. They're all on the same antenna, so that's not a factor. The AM21 just won't pick up weak signals reliably. When the AM21 is pixelating and dropping in and out, the other 2 tuners are solid. The other tuners often provide solid reception for a station the AM21 doesn't see at all. I have a variable gain amp on the antenna, and if I crank it up too high for the weak stations, the strong ones drop off, I assume from overloading the AM21's tuner, while the other 2 tuners continue to handle it up just fine.

#5 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • Registered
  • 698 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:48 PM

Better then what it use to be. Any receiver I have had before was only 1 OTA
How well does the am21 tuner work? Use to have issues with dish my tuner in the DVR was not great even though I'm not far from channels


Tuners are better than the HR10's I had. Every HR2x receiver I have all allowed for two OTA recordings at same time, so for me its been the same from day one. If I am not mistaken, its a hardware limitation on the HR34 to only allow two at the same time and not five, so a software adjustment will not change this unless a new generation of 34's is made to accomodate five OTA tuners.

For me, the AM21 has performed flawlessly since day one. I do run an ampifier for my OTA because I have so many hookups between receivers and TV's (17) for OTA, and I have an FM trap which is engaged and helps with the consistently high signal. I also pick up three markets where my house is built (Milwaukee, Madison and Rockford, Ill).

#6 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 07 October 2012 - 07:44 PM

The AM21 is only a dual tuner unit, thats the main reason. D* has never offered a unit that I know of that had more than 2 ATSC tuners in it.

#7 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 10 October 2012 - 01:31 PM

I wonder if anyone ever tried hooking up two AM21s to the HR34 to see if it could record 4 OTA stations at once? I'm guessing probably not since the firmware probably isn't set up to do so, but I wonder if it could be updated to allow it?

That said I doubt it ever would, just like I doubt they will ever come out with an AM31 with 5 ATSC tuners. There is probably not enough demand to justify either.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#8 OFFLINE   wyy183

wyy183

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2012

Posted 10 October 2012 - 09:22 PM

Coming from Dish, I had a dual-tuner module in my receiver(s). Now I have an HR34 w/ AM21. Stations that came in clear with Dish, are now pixelating (sp?) Therefore, I will conclude and concur that the AM21 doesn't have all that great of a tuner - for pulling in signals. With Dish, I picked up 41 OTA stations. With AM21, I'm getting 27, and they aren't as clear.

It is a dual tuning device. With Dish, it actually gave you two additional tuners, assuming that you have (had?) the OTA-module that goes in a 722K or a 922. The AM21 shares the internal tuners of your receiver.

#9 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,726 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 October 2012 - 10:03 PM

The AM21 shares the internal tuners of your receiver.

No it doesn't, but the process is still limited to five total tuners, be it the 5 SAT tuners or the 2 OTA and 3 SAT tuners.

There isn't anything in the SAT tuner that can be used for OTA.
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 11 October 2012 - 12:47 PM

Coming from Dish, I had a dual-tuner module in my receiver(s). Now I have an HR34 w/ AM21. Stations that came in clear with Dish, are now pixelating (sp?) Therefore, I will conclude and concur that the AM21 doesn't have all that great of a tuner - for pulling in signals. With Dish, I picked up 41 OTA stations. With AM21, I'm getting 27, and they aren't as clear.


Are you sure you aren't getting too strong of a signal and that is why they aren't coming in as well? Most people have been pretty impressed with the quality of the tuners in the AM21 from what I remember reading.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#11 OFFLINE   wyy183

wyy183

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2012

Posted 11 October 2012 - 01:07 PM

Are you sure you aren't getting too strong of a signal and that is why they aren't coming in as well? Most people have been pretty impressed with the quality of the tuners in the AM21 from what I remember reading.


Yes.

I still have my E* 922 receiver, with OTA-module. Still gets 41 OTA channels (it is disconnected from sat while I'm sending DVR programs to HD PVR.) Only 27 on the AM21.

My setup for antenna is fairly straight-forward:
Powered antenna on one end of room. Another one 16 feet away at the other end of the room. Combined signal with a splitter. Other end of wire has a splitter that goes to the 922 and the AM21. All cables are RG-6 using compression connectors. I've even swapped cables between the AM21 and the 922, with no change in signal for the receivers.

Note that going straight to the AM21, and not splitting to the 922, makes little to no difference. Splitter is rated for 3db loss.

There are channels that I receive clear on the 922, that I don't even get on the AM21. Channels that pixelate on the AM21, are clear on the 922.

#12 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 11 October 2012 - 01:14 PM

The AM21's have very sensitive tuners, they just arent great at dealing with multipath....and too many people live in areas where multipath is a problem. The average user just sees that the "AM21 doesnt get the stations as well as my tv", so they go right to "its a crappy tuner" logic. If you don't have multipath issues, the AM21 actually can pull in pretty weak signals well.

Edited by CCarncross, 11 October 2012 - 01:20 PM.


#13 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,726 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 October 2012 - 02:00 PM

The AM21's have very sensitive tuners, they just arent great at dealing with multipath....and too many people live in areas where multipath is a problem. The average user just sees that the "AM21 doesnt get the stations as well as my tv", so they go right to "its a crappy tuner" logic. If you don't have multipath issues, the AM21 actually can pull in pretty weak signals well.

Yeah, mine is able to pull in a PBS station from 72 miles away off an indoor antenna. I had to try a few places for it because of stronger/closer stations that did have multipath issues.
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   rta53

rta53

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2010

Posted 12 October 2012 - 08:11 AM

I have an AM21 installed with my HR23. Can I record from the AM21 and also from the 2 tuners in the HR23 at the same time? Also if you have an HR34 with the capability of recording 5 programs at once does this mean you have to have 5 lines running from your dish?

#15 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 12 October 2012 - 08:43 AM

I have an AM21 installed with my HR23. Can I record from the AM21 and also from the 2 tuners in the HR23 at the same time? Also if you have an HR34 with the capability of recording 5 programs at once does this mean you have to have 5 lines running from your dish?


No, the hardware in the DVR can only record 2 streams at once from any 2 tuners. Whether it is 2 OTA streams, 2 Sat streams, or one of each.

As far as the HR34 goes it can record 5 streams at once, whether it is 5 sat streams, 4 sat streams and 1 OTA, or 3 sat streams and 2 OTA. The HR34 requires a SWM install, which means that it only requires one coax wire connected to it.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#16 OFFLINE   rta53

rta53

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2010

Posted 12 October 2012 - 09:14 AM

No, the hardware in the DVR can only record 2 streams at once from any 2 tuners. Whether it is 2 OTA streams, 2 Sat streams, or one of each.

As far as the HR34 goes it can record 5 streams at once, whether it is 5 sat streams, 4 sat streams and 1 OTA, or 3 sat streams and 2 OTA. The HR34 requires a SWM install, which means that it only requires one coax wire connected to it.


So if I had the HR34 and the SWM would it cost me more for my monthly bill or would it be just the hardware cost?

#17 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 12 October 2012 - 10:44 AM

So if I had the HR34 and the SWM would it cost me more for my monthly bill or would it be just the hardware cost?


If you replaced the HR23 with an HR34, your monthly cost I believe should stay the same, and as you suspected, it would just be the startup cost you would incur.




spam firewall