Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 upgrade Question


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pogo

pogo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2007

Posted 09 October 2012 - 05:37 PM

My setup is a slimline5 feeding an 8 port switch. Currently in service are an R16, HR10-250, HR21, and HR22. Eigth ports -- eight tuners. The TiVo box, as you may imagine is acting like it's not much longer for this earth. I don't really want to patch it again so I'm looking at my options.

Looked at just replacing with an HDDVR or an HR34. Current offer for the HDDVR is $199. It irritates me to pay the same fee for the std dvr as an hd, but the cost of two new HD boxes gets to the same cost as an HR34. (I haven't yet talked to CR about any better deal. I got the HR21 for free and the HR22 for $99, so I don't know how inclined they'll be although I am a loyal customer since 1997.)

The HR21 is the only professional install I've ever had, and as I recall the compatible (mine wasn't) multiswitch was included in the install.

The plan for the HR34 would be to decommission the TiVo and the HR16 for a monthly savings of $6. Still leaves me with nine tuners, however. So looking at the cost of a SWM16 if I have to buy it the HR34 is a non starter. Would a professional install include the SWM16?

Thank's in advance. It took me quite a bit of reading just to figure out what I need. I don't care about MRV (or to put it another way, I already handle that function myself.)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dielray

dielray

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 234 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2009

Posted 09 October 2012 - 05:44 PM

Would a professional install include the SWM16?


Yes.
DirecTV Technician
My thoughts and opinions are my own, and do not necessarily represent those of DirecTV, my HSP, or anyone else.

#3 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,355 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 09 October 2012 - 06:19 PM

Yeah they would come out and run the additional lines and provide the SWM16 as well. I would give them a call to ask because there may be a $49 install fee you never know. If your getting a HR34 though, maybe they will waive the install fee.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#4 OFFLINE   pogo

pogo

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2007

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:28 PM

Yeah they would come out and run the additional lines and provide the SWM16 as well. I would give them a call to ask because there may be a $49 install fee you never know. If your getting a HR34 though, maybe they will waive the install fee.

The wiring is already in place -- eight runs of RG6. From what I can see I'll have to call to buy the HR34. My thought was worst case see if they'd waive the install fee.

#5 OFFLINE   Mcmiller519

Mcmiller519

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2010

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:28 AM

Doesn't matter if the lines are ran or not swm 16 has to be installed because hr34 only works on swm and requires only one line




Protected By... spam firewall...And...