Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

C31 for sale at SS


  • Please log in to reply
108 replies to this topic

#61 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 11 October 2012 - 11:41 AM

I just ordered one from SS.

When I look at order status I get this:

Item Description Qty Price Total
DIRECTV C31 REMOTE 1 $33.00 $33.00
DIRECTV C31-HDMI Cable (C31-HDMI) 1 $16.00 $16.00
DIRECTV C31 RVU Genie Approved Client for Use With DIRECTV HR34 HD DVR (C31) 1 $50.00 $50.00

So the C31 is really only $50 but apparently we must purchase an HDMI cable and a remote too. Just what I need, more cables and remotes :nono2:


Just tried it, right up to placing the order, it was a single line @ 99.00 nothing else on the checkout invoice

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#62 OFFLINE   jford951

jford951

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 11 October 2012 - 11:56 AM

Is that remote that SS is sending out an RF capable remote?
[URL="http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?p=3113347&posted=1#post311334""]My Setup[/URL]

#63 OFFLINE   keebler21

keebler21

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
  • LocationMinnesota
Joined: Oct 22, 2011

Posted 11 October 2012 - 12:03 PM

I ordered two C31's from DTV yesterday for $49.00 each... install is scheduled for tomorrow afternoon...

Installation Fee $0.00
Delivery & Handling Fee $0.00
Tax $6.74
HMC Client Installation $98.00
Order Total Paid* $104.74

#64 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 11 October 2012 - 12:10 PM

Looks to me like they think you have 2 Samsung RVU TVs since there's only 2 install costs and no equipment listed.
HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations

#65 OFFLINE   keebler21

keebler21

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
  • LocationMinnesota
Joined: Oct 22, 2011

Posted 11 October 2012 - 12:13 PM

No - I specifically went over that with the customer service person... it took her about 30 minutes to make sure she was ordering the C31's and getting approval from her supervisor that it was ok to order them. My install is tomorrow so we'll see what I get but she confirmed it would be the C31 RVU client.

#66 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 11 October 2012 - 12:14 PM

Is that remote that SS is sending out an RF capable remote?


I suspect it is not.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#67 ONLINE   David Ortiz

David Ortiz

    Not the Fist of Goodness

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,066 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 11 October 2012 - 12:16 PM

I just checked DIRECTV's web site, and you can't get a C31 from them yet, so we don't know what the price will be.


If you visit the website as a new customer (I used Chrome because I had never visited directv.com with it), you can order a new installation with a Genie HD DVR (regularly $299) and up to 3 Genie Mini Clients (regularly $99 each) for free. The order page will let you configure up to 6 TVs with Genie Mini Clients 4 and 5 available for $49 each. (reg $99 with $50 savings)

#68 OFFLINE   jford951

jford951

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 11 October 2012 - 12:20 PM

I suspect it is not.


So you spend 99.00 and then still have to buy a RF capable remote
[URL="http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?p=3113347&posted=1#post311334""]My Setup[/URL]

#69 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,118 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 11 October 2012 - 12:58 PM

If you visit the website as a new customer (I used Chrome because I had never visited directv.com with it), you can order a new installation with a Genie HD DVR (regularly $299) and up to 3 Genie Mini Clients (regularly $99 each) for free. The order page will let you configure up to 6 TVs with Genie Mini Clients 4 and 5 available for $49 each. (reg $99 with $50 savings)


I thought the HR34 only supported 3 C31s? It only has 5 tuners, how are 6 TVs going to be configured with it?
SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#70 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,903 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 11 October 2012 - 01:00 PM

I thought the HR34 only supported 3 C31s? It only has 5 tuners, how are 6 TVs going to be configured with it?


Only 3 active C31's, you can have up to 8 clients authorized. Any active client over 3 would get a message saying server busy at the moment (or something like that).

Edited by RAD, 11 October 2012 - 01:09 PM.
Wrong answer in initial post

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#71 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,118 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 11 October 2012 - 01:05 PM

Only 3 active C31's, you can have up to 8 clients authorized. Any active client over 3 would need to be watching a recorded program.



Which is only told to the ordering customer in tiny grey lettering if they click the "more" box. Nice.
SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#72 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 11 October 2012 - 01:17 PM

Only 3 active C31's, you can have up to 8 clients authorized. Any active client over 3 would get a message saying server busy at the moment (or something like that).


Actually any active client past 3 will get a screen telling them that it can't access the HR34 until you turn off another client I believe. The HR34 can only stream out to 3 RVU clients at any given time, whether it is a recording or live TV.

I too went to the website and was suprised it let me add 5 C31s to an order, as we were originally led to believe the DirecTV was only going to allow 3 RVU clients on an account at this point in time. I guess they have decided not to go through with that. They are however still charging $6/month for all 5 RVU clients which I think is a ripoff since you can only use 3 at a time (I feel you should only have to pay for 3 clients, no matter how many you have).

In my case for my parents order it looks like it is actually going to make the most sense for me to get one HR34, 3 C31s, and two standard receivers. This way they will get everything with no up-front costs (saving $98 over getting 5 C31s). This should work fine for them since they are in an MPEG4 market, so the standard receivers should automatically be upgraded to HD receivers for free. Looks like I'll be busy in a couple weekends rewiring their house to get it ready for DirecTV (I prefer to do it all myself first so it's up to my standards).
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#73 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,420 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 11 October 2012 - 02:02 PM

If you visit the website as a new customer (I used Chrome because I had never visited directv.com with it), you can order a new installation with a Genie HD DVR (regularly $299) and up to 3 Genie Mini Clients (regularly $99 each) for free.

Can't beat that price! :eek2:
/steve

#74 OFFLINE   diamatron

diamatron

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Sep 13, 2012

Posted 11 October 2012 - 02:55 PM

I tried to get these C31's a couple weeks ago without luck. The installer came without the client boxes and wanted me to have the Samsung RVU's.

Well, yesterday the installation supervisor called me and stated he had the C31's in stock and wanted to make an appointment for today. I couldn't do it today so Saturday morning it is.

I got actual confirmation of the C31's from the installer. Awesome.

I paid 99 for HR34, 3 clients and a HD receiver were all free, with a 200 visa card promo and all the regular two year discounts.

Let you know how Saturday goes!

#75 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 921 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:44 PM

My point is an HDDVR is not the price you were quoting..thats all. Obviously you arent a fan of the C31 and thats cool.
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#76 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,118 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 11 October 2012 - 05:18 PM

My point is an HDDVR is not the price you were quoting..thats all. Obviously you arent a fan of the C31 and thats cool.


If this is directed at me then two points: 1) The priced I "quoted" for an HD DVR was absolutely accurate - they are at most $199, often much cheaper. 2) I never once said I wasn't a fan of the C31. I prefer the full functionality of a DVR and wouldn't be interested in it, however, it may be a great piece for others. I said at $99 it, IMO, is overpriced (this seems to be a view held by others as well). For whatever reason, that opinion seemed to offend several here, but I stand by that. IMO, $49 would be a reasonable price.
SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#77 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 921 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 11 October 2012 - 06:06 PM

If this is directed at me then two points: 1) The priced I "quoted" for an HD DVR was absolutely accurate - they are at most $199, often much cheaper. 2) I never once said I wasn't a fan of the C31. I prefer the full functionality of a DVR and wouldn't be interested in it, however, it may be a great piece for others. I said at $99 it, IMO, is overpriced (this seems to be a view held by others as well). For whatever reason, that opinion seemed to offend several here, but I stand by that. IMO, $49 would be a reasonable price.


No offense at all...I simply misread your post. I thought you were saying an HDDVR was $100. My bad!
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#78 OFFLINE   dmark1867

dmark1867

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2012

Posted 12 October 2012 - 10:43 AM

Can anyone confirm if the RC65RBK backlit RF remote works with the C31?
Also silly quesiton but can 2 of these be programmed to control the same unit (my wife and I both like to have a remote on our night stand, I know lazy :lol:) Thanks

#79 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,621 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 October 2012 - 10:56 AM

Can anyone confirm if the RC65RBK backlit RF remote works with the C31?
Also silly quesiton but can 2 of these be programmed to control the same unit (my wife and I both like to have a remote on our night stand, I know lazy :lol:) Thanks

yes on both counts
A.K.A VOS

#80 OFFLINE   dmark1867

dmark1867

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2012

Posted 12 October 2012 - 01:14 PM

VOS, thanks for the quick reply

Also
Any news on the RCA dongle for the C31? Seems like they are still very hard to find.




spam firewall