Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Closed Captioning??


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   reubenray

reubenray

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 504 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2002

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:21 PM

Anyone else having issues with the closed captioning? Some times it works and then sometimes the letters are just random letters and symbols.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,600 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:39 PM

What receiver and what channel?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   reubenray

reubenray

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 504 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2002

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:49 PM

It happens on my HR34- I will need to check the channels.

#4 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,075 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:50 PM

Anyone else having issues with the closed captioning? Some times it works and then sometimes the letters are just random letters and symbols.


You have closed caption on through your television and you have the text format mode on. Change this within your TV.

#5 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,075 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:46 PM

Well if you are using HR34 with HDMI then it may be something else. How is it connected?

#6 OFFLINE   MONSTERMAN

MONSTERMAN

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 10 October 2012 - 11:44 PM

I used to constantly have troubles with CC, until I correctly re-grounded everything. CC is a very sensitive feature, be sure your receivers are all properly grounded and of course that your TV's CC is off.

#7 OFFLINE   reubenray

reubenray

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 504 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2002

Posted 11 October 2012 - 05:51 AM

This is a new issue as it worked correctly until about a week ago and my other receiver does the same thing. The closed captioning feature is not turned on the TV/projector, but only the D*receivers. It also happens on most channels and only occurs when the captioning is at the top of the screen due to the show info is at the bottom.

My HDMI connection in the LR/projector goes through my A/V receiver. The HDMI connection in the BR goes straight to the TV.

Edit: Being there was not any reasons nor cures for this I went ahead and did hard reboots on both of my receivers. This appears to have fixed the problems.

Edited by reubenray, 11 October 2012 - 03:04 PM.


#8 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:03 PM

I see that I *do* need to come back to DTV if only to get CC testing going. :)
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM

#9 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:46 PM

I've seen a handful of issues with CC lately...not sure why...
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#10 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 12 October 2012 - 07:31 AM

Is there any consistency to the channels it occurs on? Do you have Digital cc on as well?
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM

#11 OFFLINE   JeffBowser

JeffBowser

    blah blah blah

  • Registered
  • 2,512 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 12 October 2012 - 01:13 PM

My CC garbles periodically as well. Sometimes turning it off and back on again clears it. Other times the problem is in the source. We don't have much leverage.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions.

#12 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 12 October 2012 - 02:48 PM

My D* stuff will be here on Tuesday, so I will be able to do some testing myself, but if either of you can tell me some channels it happens on more often than usual, if that's possible, that would be helpful. :-)
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM

#13 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 12 October 2012 - 03:17 PM

So, I slingboxed into a friend's HR34. I note that it only has the new digital closed captioning: DTVCC1 though 6. On my current TiVo I actually leave that off and just use normal CC1. I'd like to see that as an option to see if that solves some CC issues people are having (so long as using CC1 disables the use of DTVCC1 as I've seen conflicts if both are on). I wonder how difficult that would be for DirecTV to institute.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM

#14 OFFLINE   reubenray

reubenray

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 504 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2002

Posted 13 October 2012 - 06:16 AM

It has been several days since I did hard reboots on the receivers. Everything is working OK for now.

#15 OFFLINE   âêîôû

âêîôû

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2015

Posted 02 July 2015 - 07:37 AM

Really? Resurrecting a 3-year old thread?

Yes... We can!

 

For the past week (of June 2015 and into July), there has been "Poltergeist" remnants of the same text appearing in closed captioning across all channels.

What randomly and frequently (every couple of minutes) appears is:

"We had William Shatner" or some slightly abbreviated versions "We had Wil" or on rare occasions the full sentence:

"We had William Shatner on the line" or "We had William Shatner in the studio"

I can't remember exactly what the full sentence was, but on the rare occasions the extended version showed up it was something similar.

 

It will pop up in the middle of someone (Not William Shatner and not on any show he was in) talking, and not necessarily triggered by any speech recognition patterns (No one started a sentence with "We had...") so I can't account for it.

It does this on more than one DVR (20's and 21's) and persists after reboot.

 

More of a very minor nuisance than a problem, but just curious if anyone else using CC has experienced this? 



#16 OFFLINE   Mad.Scientist

Mad.Scientist

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
  • LocationWest of South Lake Tahoe
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 02 July 2015 - 12:56 PM

 

 

More of a very minor nuisance than a problem, but just curious if anyone else using CC has experienced this? 

I have noticed missing letters, words and sometimes whole sentences in closed captioning on my Genie, but on my wireless Genie Mini, the CC is practically flawless, as CC is never perfect.  I have checked the very same dialogue in a program where it is consistently missing parts and tried repeatedly to see if it was a one time thing and the same letters and words are missing each time I rerun the passage, and then I go and watch the same part of the program on the TV that the Wireless Genie Mini is connected to and it is all there with nothing missing at all.  Really annoying to me and I do not hear dialogue well, as the Genie HR44 is on the mainly used TV while the Genie Mini is in a room that does not get as much use.  I do have CC turned off on both TVs in the TV settings. Both are connected with HDMI cables. 



#17 OFFLINE   allenn

allenn

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 704 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted Yesterday, 11:04 PM

The CC shows weird characters on the Genie, HR44. I have an HR24 HD DVR, and the CC works great on all channels. Both TVs are connected via HDMI cables.  


PrimeStar/DIRECTV subscriber since 10/30/1994.
Roswell, GA (Atlanta Area)

1 D* HR44 Genie
1 D* HR24-100 and 2 D* AM21s
MRV - D* SWiM LNB and PI-21 module

NETGEAR R6300v2 Smart WiFi Router





Protected By... spam firewall...And...