Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Closed Captioning??


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   reubenray

reubenray

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 448 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2002

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:21 PM

Anyone else having issues with the closed captioning? Some times it works and then sometimes the letters are just random letters and symbols.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,580 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:39 PM

What receiver and what channel?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   reubenray

reubenray

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 448 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2002

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:49 PM

It happens on my HR34- I will need to check the channels.

#4 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 928 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:50 PM

Anyone else having issues with the closed captioning? Some times it works and then sometimes the letters are just random letters and symbols.


You have closed caption on through your television and you have the text format mode on. Change this within your TV.

#5 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 928 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:46 PM

Well if you are using HR34 with HDMI then it may be something else. How is it connected?

#6 OFFLINE   MONSTERMAN

MONSTERMAN

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 10 October 2012 - 11:44 PM

I used to constantly have troubles with CC, until I correctly re-grounded everything. CC is a very sensitive feature, be sure your receivers are all properly grounded and of course that your TV's CC is off.

#7 OFFLINE   reubenray

reubenray

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 448 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2002

Posted 11 October 2012 - 05:51 AM

This is a new issue as it worked correctly until about a week ago and my other receiver does the same thing. The closed captioning feature is not turned on the TV/projector, but only the D*receivers. It also happens on most channels and only occurs when the captioning is at the top of the screen due to the show info is at the bottom.

My HDMI connection in the LR/projector goes through my A/V receiver. The HDMI connection in the BR goes straight to the TV.

Edit: Being there was not any reasons nor cures for this I went ahead and did hard reboots on both of my receivers. This appears to have fixed the problems.

Edited by reubenray, 11 October 2012 - 03:04 PM.


#8 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:03 PM

I see that I *do* need to come back to DTV if only to get CC testing going. :)
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#9 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:46 PM

I've seen a handful of issues with CC lately...not sure why...
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#10 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 12 October 2012 - 07:31 AM

Is there any consistency to the channels it occurs on? Do you have Digital cc on as well?
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#11 OFFLINE   JeffBowser

JeffBowser

    blah blah blah

  • Registered
  • 2,512 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 12 October 2012 - 01:13 PM

My CC garbles periodically as well. Sometimes turning it off and back on again clears it. Other times the problem is in the source. We don't have much leverage.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions.

#12 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 12 October 2012 - 02:48 PM

My D* stuff will be here on Tuesday, so I will be able to do some testing myself, but if either of you can tell me some channels it happens on more often than usual, if that's possible, that would be helpful. :-)
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#13 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 12 October 2012 - 03:17 PM

So, I slingboxed into a friend's HR34. I note that it only has the new digital closed captioning: DTVCC1 though 6. On my current TiVo I actually leave that off and just use normal CC1. I'd like to see that as an option to see if that solves some CC issues people are having (so long as using CC1 disables the use of DTVCC1 as I've seen conflicts if both are on). I wonder how difficult that would be for DirecTV to institute.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#14 OFFLINE   reubenray

reubenray

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 448 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2002

Posted 13 October 2012 - 06:16 AM

It has been several days since I did hard reboots on the receivers. Everything is working OK for now.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...