Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Genie "The Good Stuff" Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
138 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 191 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 29 November 2012 - 04:15 PM

If S/PDIF is a 75ohm coax what is the standard RG6 we use for SAT signals?


75 ohm as well. RG6 is a cable designed for higher frequencies than low level audio and video interconnects, but should still work. That's why they have quad shield RG-6 because at higher frequencies the cable starts acting like an antenna and starts radiating the signal out of the dielectric and shielding, I.e. skin effect. This is exactly why there is indeed some differences in cheap vs well designed and constructed cables like JPS Labs, Monster, etc. but of course they go overboard with their claims and prices and if you look hard enough will find affordable well made and designed cables elsewhere (monoprice, blue jeans, etc.)

Edited by harperhometheater, 29 November 2012 - 04:30 PM.

HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 191 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 29 November 2012 - 04:18 PM

You could have used composite, yes, but there's no guarantee you would have had great audio. :lol:


Yes it would have been, IF the cable was designed correctly at 75 ohms impedance! Composite video cables and digital audio cables are EXACTLY the same.
HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations

#128 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 14,019 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 29 November 2012 - 04:22 PM

Thanks, but I was asking about the cable itself: Is the word "digital" added to make it sound more modern (sorta like a "digital TV stand") or are they in fact different from any other coax in the cabling?

I took the three wire cable with the yellow/white/red connectors (standard composite video, R/L audio cable) and used it to connect digital coax to my A/V system. It's nothing special and it works great. The yellow composite video is a 75Ω coax cable with RCA connectors.

Mike

Edited by Mike Bertelson, 29 November 2012 - 04:34 PM.

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#129 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,141 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 November 2012 - 04:53 PM

That kinda tops it up! So the word "digital" is market speak, and there's no difference between a well made "analog coax" and a so called "digital coax."
Interesting discussion none-the-less.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#130 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,921 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 29 November 2012 - 05:36 PM

That kinda tops it up! So the word "digital" is market speak, and there's no difference between a well made "analog coax" and a so called "digital coax."
Interesting discussion none-the-less.


Exactly true. Just like there is no such thing as a "digital" tv antenna, or an "HD" tv antenna. All market speak.

A rose by any other name is still a rose.

#131 OFFLINE   harperhometheater

harperhometheater

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 191 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2012

Posted 29 November 2012 - 05:38 PM

A rose by any other name is still a rose.


And so is a turd :D
HarperVision, LLC
ISF Calibrations, Installations,
Repairs & Consultations

#132 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 30 November 2012 - 09:27 AM

Exactly true. Just like there is no such thing as a "digital" tv antenna, or an "HD" tv antenna. All market speak.

A rose by any other name is still a rose.

Ok, now you're gonna tell me those "HD" sunglasses that were being sold on TV aren't really high definition? :lol:
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#133 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,141 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 30 November 2012 - 10:05 AM

Ok, now you're gonna tell me those "HD" sunglasses that were being sold on TV aren't really high definition? :lol:


The ones that are digital are.....:D
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#134 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 30 November 2012 - 01:16 PM

Got a question about the two 90 minute buffers. My HR20 constantly kept one buffer going, no matter it was in stand-by mode or not. It seems the HR34 does not. When I start it up in the morning, there is no buffer, is this the designed behavior?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#135 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,394 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 30 November 2012 - 01:18 PM

Got a question about the two 90 minute buffers. My HR20 constantly kept one buffer going, no matter it was in stand-by mode or not. It seems the HR34 does not. When I start it up in the morning, there is no buffer, is this the designed behavior?


Some may lead you to beleive it's designed behavior and the rest of us think it's a bug. Sometimes there is a buffer, sometimes there is not. If what we are seeing is designed behavior then there should never be a buffer at all.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#136 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 30 November 2012 - 03:00 PM

Some may lead you to beleive it's designed behavior and the rest of us think it's a bug. Sometimes there is a buffer, sometimes there is not. If what we are seeing is designed behavior then there should never be a buffer at all.

What I would have liked to see was a user selectable period of time in which a buffer would not be kept. Let me choose between the hours of 11pm-7am to not carry a buffer. The idea being to cut down on the HD drive activity and increase it's lifespan and reliability.

When no buffer is being kept, do we know what the HD is doing, is it spinning down or constantly running?

I'm going to pay closer attention, but so far, I don't think I've ever seen a buffer in the morning.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#137 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 30 November 2012 - 03:08 PM

An update to my using the DTV remote for the HR20 and the Harmony for the HR34. Whenever it would use the Harmony to go from the HR20 to HR34, everything was fine, the HR34 powered on...and then it would shut off.

I was really perplexed about this until I realized the Harmony was attempting to shut of the HR20 (it couldn't, its on RF) but was succeeding in shutting off the HR34 which was not a desirable behavior when trying to watch the HR34.

So I updated to the remote to leave the HR20 on and now it get the results I want.

It was a Homer Simpson "Doh!" moment. :)
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#138 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,410 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 30 November 2012 - 03:17 PM

Hard drive activity has very litte effect on the life of the hard drive. Power cycles, extreme temperatures or mechanical shock are far bigger factors in hard drive life.

We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#139 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,394 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 30 November 2012 - 04:42 PM

What I would have liked to see was a user selectable period of time in which a buffer would not be kept. Let me choose between the hours of 11pm-7am to not carry a buffer. The idea being to cut down on the HD drive activity and increase it's lifespan and reliability.

When no buffer is being kept, do we know what the HD is doing, is it spinning down or constantly running?

I'm going to pay closer attention, but so far, I don't think I've ever seen a buffer in the morning.


Spinning a drive up and down is more wear and tear on the drive than just letting it spin 24/7.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT




Protected By... spam firewall...And...