Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

One of Two Connections Having Issues


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   owensdj

owensdj

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 14 October 2012 - 05:56 PM

I had a Dish tech come to fix the low signal level issue I was seeing. He re-aligned the dish and replace the ground block that had been in service since I got Dish over 5 years ago. He said water got into the connections and corroded them. My signal levels improved by over 20 points, so I was happy.

Less than a week later one(by not the other) of the TVs starting having a problem with all channels getting all blocky. Eventually the receiver lost the signal competely, and I was stuck on the "it should take less than 5 minutes to acquire the signal" screen that never completed.

A dish tech from the same company came out the next day and said one of the connections on the new ground block looked "burned," and he couldn't explain what happened to it. Everything was fine again after he replaced the new ground block with another one.

Now a few weeks after that the same receiver is starting to get blocky again, but hasn't gone out completely yet. It's not a receiver problem because when it went out I moved the receiver from the other room into this room and it had the same problem.

Any ideas on what's going on?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 14 October 2012 - 06:23 PM

Do you have drip loops at the ground block?

If your cable is 5 years old you may have a break in the outer jacket and water is running down the inside of the cable.

#3 OFFLINE   owensdj

owensdj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 15 October 2012 - 09:23 AM

boba, thanks for the reply. I think it does have drip loops set up. Here's a picture of the cables going into the ground block.

http://i47.tinypic.com/23sulhf.jpg

#4 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 733 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 15 October 2012 - 10:35 AM

Do you have drip loops at the ground block?

If your cable is 5 years old you may have a break in the outer jacket and water is running down the inside of the cable.


Is a drip loop just that? meaning it routes the water down instead of sitting at the connection?

#5 OFFLINE   dennispap

dennispap

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 654 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2007

Posted 15 October 2012 - 04:29 PM

Yes..
The wires going to a bus bar or terminal block are led below the item being connected to and then back up to form a loop. The theory is that the water will run down the loop and drip off at the bottom of the loop.

#6 OFFLINE   MikeJH@DISH Network

MikeJH@DISH Network

    Guest

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 16 October 2012 - 07:17 AM

I understand how frustrating this can be. I am happy to assist you with this issue. Please send a PM with your DISH account or phone number and we can look at different options to correct this.

I had a Dish tech come to fix the low signal level issue I was seeing. He re-aligned the dish and replace the ground block that had been in service since I got Dish over 5 years ago. He said water got into the connections and corroded them. My signal levels improved by over 20 points, so I was happy.

Less than a week later one(by not the other) of the TVs starting having a problem with all channels getting all blocky. Eventually the receiver lost the signal competely, and I was stuck on the "it should take less than 5 minutes to acquire the signal" screen that never completed.

A dish tech from the same company came out the next day and said one of the connections on the new ground block looked "burned," and he couldn't explain what happened to it. Everything was fine again after he replaced the new ground block with another one.

Now a few weeks after that the same receiver is starting to get blocky again, but hasn't gone out completely yet. It's not a receiver problem because when it went out I moved the receiver from the other room into this room and it had the same problem.

Any ideas on what's going on?



#7 OFFLINE   owensdj

owensdj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 16 October 2012 - 08:35 AM

I understand how frustrating this can be. I am happy to assist you with this issue. Please send a PM with your DISH account or phone number and we can look at different options to correct this.


Mike, thanks for the reply. I already contacted the Dish installer who did the ground block work and they have me scheduled for another visit on Wednesday. I was just asking here to try to come up with something that might help the tech fix the problem. I don't want them to just replace the ground block again and this problem come back in a few weeks.

#8 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 16 October 2012 - 07:28 PM

If your cable is 5 years old you may have a break in the outer jacket and water is running down the inside of the cable.


This is your problem, I see it all the time. Unfortunately inexperienced techs will just replace the GB, which is only the symptom, not the root cause of the problem. And the drip loops are great, and required, but only help with water on the outside of the cable. If water is getting in the cable above the GB, water will force it's way all the way through the loop continuing to cause problems.

Have them replace the cable from the Dish to the GB and the GB one more time. That should fix your problem.

#9 OFFLINE   MikeJH@DISH Network

MikeJH@DISH Network

    Guest

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 17 October 2012 - 08:13 AM

Glad to hear that a tech is scheduled to come out to look at your system. If you have any questions please let us know.

Mike, thanks for the reply. I already contacted the Dish installer who did the ground block work and they have me scheduled for another visit on Wednesday. I was just asking here to try to come up with something that might help the tech fix the problem. I don't want them to just replace the ground block again and this problem come back in a few weeks.



#10 OFFLINE   kenglish

kenglish

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 972 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah, USA
Joined: Oct 02, 2004

Posted 17 October 2012 - 08:49 AM

The shield inside a coax is braided. If you've ever used "Solder Wick" to de-solder a connection, it is also braided. (Notice the word "wick").
If water is getting to the end of a cable (via the connector, or a break in the jacket), it can eventually wick itself far up inside the line.

We had some triax (three-conductor coax), that we used for the Olympics studio, that was stored outdoors. One reel wasn't sealed properly, and it had wicked more than twenty feet inside the shield. I gave up on it after that....it may have been bad much, much further. It was already installed, physically, so we just left it.

Best to replace the line, especially the outdoor part.

#11 OFFLINE   owensdj

owensdj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 18 December 2012 - 05:48 PM

Here's a follow up to my problem. Another Dish installer came and changed the ground block again as well as the ends of the cable. Everything worked fine again for a long time, so I thought the issue was fixed. After a few days of rain, the pixelization on one of the two connections came back again.

I found some kind of black, ink-like substance in between the cable end going into the ground block. After cleaning out this stuff the connection worked fine again for a day or so when the black stuff was back in again.

Any ideas on what's causing this? I'm guessing there is a break in the cable that's causing water to get in.

#12 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,468 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 18 December 2012 - 08:46 PM

Sounds like a plan. Tech needs to replace the cable, too.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#13 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 19 December 2012 - 01:29 PM

Can I say "I told you so"?

#14 OFFLINE   owensdj

owensdj

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 27 February 2013 - 03:39 PM

Here's an update that might help anyone in the future who has the same issues. I was still getting the pixilization problem after two installers had worked on it. Dish sent a 3rd guy who was an actual Dish installer rather than a contractor. He said the problem was caused by electricity flowing into the ground block from the ground wire. I guess the 1st guy who peaked the dish and replaced the old ground block didn't connect the ground wire to the correct place on the electrical box.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...