Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR-34 sat inputs


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bbartilson

bbartilson

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2012

Posted 14 October 2012 - 08:02 PM

My understanding of the 34 is that it requires 5 RG-6 wires. True or not?

If that is true, and I have a SWM-8 on the outside of the house can, can a single wire through the wall be connected to another SWM-8 which could then feed those 5 inputs?

I guess the question really is, do I really need a SWM-16 and 5 cables running through an outside wall to make a 34 work?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 14 October 2012 - 08:03 PM

The HR34 only works with SWM, hence, 1 RG6 connection.
It will use 5 of your 8 SWM channels. As long as the rest of your system has less than 3 tuners total, you will be fine.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   bbartilson

bbartilson

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2012

Posted 14 October 2012 - 08:25 PM

The HR34 only works with SWM, hence, 1 RG6 connection.
It will use 5 of your 8 SWM channels. As long as the rest of your system has less than 3 tuners total, you will be fine.


Ah, I understand now. It's not wires, it's channels. Yes, I will need a 16. I have a THR-22 and two H-25s besides. I think that means nine channels.

#4 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 14 October 2012 - 08:34 PM

Yep, that would be 9 channels, so you will need an SWM 16, or if you are using an SWM8 multiswitch, vs the SWMLNB, you could use two of the legacy ports on the SWM8 to run two coax to the THR22 I believe (I dont think it requires SWM).

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#5 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 951 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 14 October 2012 - 08:55 PM

Yep, that would be 9 channels, so you will need an SWM 16, or if you are using an SWM8 multiswitch, vs the SWMLNB, you could use two of the legacy ports on the SWM8 to run two coax to the THR22 I believe (I dont think it requires SWM).


It is against DTV policy to use the legacy ports, so if a tech comes out they will install a SWM16.

#6 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 14 October 2012 - 09:17 PM

It is against DTV policy to use the legacy ports, so if a tech comes out they will install a SWM16.


The OP should also keep in mind that the SWM8 legacy ports do not pass HD.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#7 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 14 October 2012 - 09:25 PM

The OP should also keep in mind that the SWM8 legacy ports do not pass HD.


Did not know that, thanks for the pointer.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#8 OFFLINE   bbartilson

bbartilson

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2012

Posted 14 October 2012 - 09:36 PM

Right on guys.

I love that there is such a wealth of knowledge and folks like yourself to answer questions with authority, courtesy, and with such rapidity.

I have several areas of expertise that are on the periphery of this stuff - namely pro audio, network administration, and electronic/electromechanical control.

I'm very thankful this forum exists, and kudos to those of you who are able and willing to provide this sort of input.

Regards,
Bill

#9 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 15 October 2012 - 04:58 AM

Right on guys.

I love that there is such a wealth of knowledge and folks like yourself to answer questions with authority, courtesy, and with such rapidity.

I have several areas of expertise that are on the periphery of this stuff - namely pro audio, network administration, and electronic/electromechanical control.

I'm very thankful this forum exists, and kudos to those of you who are able and willing to provide this sort of input.

Regards,
Bill


one thing that may be obvious and known already - but the THR22 will not participate in the Whole home system, it will not see the HR-34 nor the other dvrs

#10 OFFLINE   bbartilson

bbartilson

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2012

Posted 15 October 2012 - 07:28 PM

So after all of that, I decided to dig in harder. I'm adding an HR34. For those without a score card, that would be a 34, an HR24, 2 H25s, and the stepchild, a THR22. Add an am21 and I think I'll be done for a while. Cross your fingers for Friday, when my upgrade happens.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...