Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

A HR-34 / C-31 problem even DirecTV couldn't fix


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   keebler21

keebler21

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
  • LocationMinnesota
Joined: Oct 22, 2011

Posted 24 October 2012 - 07:52 AM

It is not a software issue. The C31 needs to be activated a certain way in order for Whole Home to be activated on HR34/C31 installs. If the CSR knows what they are doing, it will be done correctly. For those that don't know, like the CSR in the OP's case, it causes issues.

I assume Shades comment about a fix coming is referring to a way that makes it easy for CSRs to do this.

- Merg


Yes your probably right - the tech tried adding whole home to my account again last night also, just to see if it would work and he said it still wasn't working for whatever reason... so must wait for the engineers to fix this. I'm not sure why he mentioned a software update, but maybe he was meaning on there end?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,030 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 October 2012 - 08:10 AM

Actually, I'm sad to say, but it's a common way that CSRs will get you off the phone, promising that an update will fix it and all you have to do is sit back. They've been using that one for years.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#28 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,794 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 24 October 2012 - 09:50 AM

It would be nice if one of the knowledgeable DirecTV employees who frequents this forum would post the CSR instructions for activating this properly. I remember back when whole home went from Beta to official and some of us needed to get the "unsupported whole home" turned on. Someone posted the specific procedure that the CSR needed to follow.

I was able to walk the CSR that I was working with step by step through the different screens, using that "script" in order to get setup properly.

#29 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,030 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 October 2012 - 09:53 AM

I've been assured it will be fixed on the back end rather quickly and that some of the relevant systems are already updated.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#30 OFFLINE   keebler21

keebler21

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
  • LocationMinnesota
Joined: Oct 22, 2011

Posted 24 October 2012 - 11:36 AM

I've been assured it will be fixed on the back end rather quickly and that some of the relevant systems are already updated.


So the tech telling me the engineers are working on a fix and should be available in the next few days is a true statement.

Overall strange issue and something you would think would be an easy fix but things must be pretty technical on the back end of D*'s operation. Would be interesting to see how everything works behind the scenes as I'm someone that works in the IT field.

#31 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,012 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 24 October 2012 - 11:53 AM

It is not a software issue. The C31 needs to be activated a certain way in order for Whole Home to be activated on HR34/C31 installs. If the CSR knows what they are doing, it will be done correctly. For those that don't know, like the CSR in the OP's case, it causes issues.

I assume Shades comment about a fix coming is referring to a way that makes it easy for CSRs to do this.

- Merg


It is a software issue actually. It will impact people who activated their account prior to the price change this year and remove all equipment on the account except a Genie and the client(s). Agents have no impact on this at all so it's not like there's a konami code they have to enter before they update it or you don't get the special features.

The ETA of the next few days is extremely optimistic but I do know that it's in the hands of the people who can get it resolved.

#32 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,640 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 October 2012 - 01:24 PM

Hello jimrobinette,

This problem sounds like a firmware update is needed to the C31, an update to the whole home software or an update for both. You must admit that you have an unusual setup that DirecTV engineers/code writers probably never thought about or if considered this situation a very small problem that they would address when and if it arose. :confused: :nono2:


I see nothing unusual about his setup at all. And his current setup with a genie and genie clients will soon be the normal install going forward.

#33 OFFLINE   jimrobinette

jimrobinette

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2007

Posted 25 October 2012 - 05:07 PM

Sounds like it is something at the HQ. Thanks to all and especially to Shades for getting some clarity on this.

It is easy to live with a problem (however small it may be) if you know someone is actively working on a solution. :)

Edited by jimrobinette, 26 October 2012 - 10:23 AM.


#34 OFFLINE   bakers12

bakers12

    What? Me hurry?

  • Registered
  • 1,846 posts
  • LocationChicago - W. Suburbs
Joined: May 29, 2007

Posted 26 October 2012 - 08:30 AM

I'm having a HR34 and a C31 installed tomorrow at our vacation house. Is there anything I can do to make sure this gets set up properly?

Dear God, Please send clothes for all those poor ladies in Daddy's computer. Amen.


#35 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,282 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 26 October 2012 - 08:37 AM

It is a software issue actually. It will impact people who activated their account prior to the price change this year and remove all equipment on the account except a Genie and the client(s). Agents have no impact on this at all so it's not like there's a konami code they have to enter before they update it or you don't get the special features.

The ETA of the next few days is extremely optimistic but I do know that it's in the hands of the people who can get it resolved.


By software issue, I was referring to the firmware with the receivers and by a fix for the CSR's, I was referring to a system fix on the CSR's systems, so I think we are on the same page, even though I didn't say it clearly.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#36 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,288 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 October 2012 - 08:55 AM

I'm having a HR34 and a C31 installed tomorrow at our vacation house. Is there anything I can do to make sure this gets set up properly?

Perhaps reading reports here ....

#37 OFFLINE   bakers12

bakers12

    What? Me hurry?

  • Registered
  • 1,846 posts
  • LocationChicago - W. Suburbs
Joined: May 29, 2007

Posted 26 October 2012 - 10:15 AM

Perhaps reading reports here ....

I read the thread. Shades indicates I may not have to worry (in post #31) since I'm activating after the price increase. I was hoping for something I could do tomorrow to be pro-active.

Dear God, Please send clothes for all those poor ladies in Daddy's computer. Amen.


#38 OFFLINE   jimrobinette

jimrobinette

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2007

Posted 26 October 2012 - 10:25 AM

I'm having a HR34 and a C31 installed tomorrow at our vacation house. Is there anything I can do to make sure this gets set up properly?


Pure speculation here....

I betting the issue I have is caused by the fact that I had multiple DVRs and then added a HR-34/C-31 and removed all other previous gear.

A clean install might be different. Again, pure speculation.

Seems like the issue is identified and is being worked on.

#39 OFFLINE   bakers12

bakers12

    What? Me hurry?

  • Registered
  • 1,846 posts
  • LocationChicago - W. Suburbs
Joined: May 29, 2007

Posted 27 October 2012 - 02:52 PM

It got set up properly for me today.

Dear God, Please send clothes for all those poor ladies in Daddy's computer. Amen.


#40 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,640 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 27 October 2012 - 03:12 PM

It got set up properly for me today.


Excellent!

#41 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,055 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 27 October 2012 - 03:55 PM

There have been new customers getting setup and whole home has not been authorized so im not sure it has anything to do with "before the price change". Example- New customer installed 10-25-12 1 HR34 and 3 C31 clients get it activated and clients cannot delete go to menu and whole home is not authorized it said to call cst service. Call and they tell me its not needed for this setup and cannot be added.

#42 OFFLINE   swaits

swaits

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2012

Posted 29 October 2012 - 10:37 AM

FYI, original thread here: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=209594

I thought, as you'll see by that they had solved my problem. However, I recently discovered a bogus DVR (which I didn't have) listed on my account. I called and had that removed, and boom - WHDVR gone again.

So, they "fixed" it for me before by adding a DVR to my account.

Spent another hour on the phone today and they "assured" me that it's being worked on and will just magically start working one day.

I'm pretty doubtful of this happening without requiring some action on my part.

#43 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,640 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 29 October 2012 - 11:55 AM

FYI, original thread here: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=209594

I thought, as you'll see by that they had solved my problem. However, I recently discovered a bogus DVR (which I didn't have) listed on my account. I called and had that removed, and boom - WHDVR gone again.

So, they "fixed" it for me before by adding a DVR to my account.

Spent another hour on the phone today and they "assured" me that it's being worked on and will just magically start working one day.

I'm pretty doubtful of this happening without requiring some action on my part.


It will happen, and honestly I doubt there is anything you personally could do to make it happen any faster. This isn't something they are going to let sit.

#44 OFFLINE   keebler21

keebler21

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
  • LocationMinnesota
Joined: Oct 22, 2011

Posted 29 October 2012 - 01:31 PM

I have an open case with D*TV about this and my case manager from D*TV has been calling me about twice a week on a status update and telling me they are still working on this issue. They have told me like Swaits has said that if there was another receiver on the account this wouldn't be an issue. Anyways if I get any update from my case manager I will pass it along... but sounds like they are actively working on the problem.

Side note - has anyone else had random issues with there C31 Client... Some days when I turn the TV on the screen is locked, like it is paused. Once I turn the channel it is then fine. Other times I have had it where the guide or settings menu would not show up. It just goes to a black screen with the mini tv view in the corner like it is loading but never shows up - I've had to reset in order to correct. Good thing it only takes a couple minutes to reboot. Had a few other weird issues but I'm sure they are working on getting these kinks out.

#45 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:05 PM

So is it possible to add a C31 without adding the Whole Home fee? Will it work at all without Whole Home being activiated on the account? I don't care if I can't delete recordings. I just want to know if it will work at all at this time.

#46 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,161 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:32 PM

So is it possible to add a C31 without adding the Whole Home fee? Will it work at all without Whole Home being activiated on the account? I don't care if I can't delete recordings. I just want to know if it will work at all at this time.

Yes it works for the $6/month fee. It's the remote delete that needs either MRV or the newer [packaged] ARS fee.
A.K.A VOS

#47 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:38 PM

Yes it works for the $6/month fee. It's the remote delete that needs either MRV or the newer [packaged] ARS fee.

Sweet! Thanks VOS! Time to go shopping.

#48 OFFLINE   swaits

swaits

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2012

Posted 31 October 2012 - 12:55 PM

Any updates on this?

#49 OFFLINE   keebler21

keebler21

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
  • LocationMinnesota
Joined: Oct 22, 2011

Posted 31 October 2012 - 02:35 PM

Any updates on this?


I heard from my case manager the other night... he said they are still working on this and that he will call me weekly until it is fixed. He said that if he hears of a fix before he would call me right away.

He also suggested that the fix could be a software update that would just enable deleting from the C31 and NOT needed the whole home service for this feature. So we'll see what happens I guess.

#50 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,161 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 31 October 2012 - 02:48 PM

I heard from my case manager the other night... he said they are still working on this and that he will call me weekly until it is fixed. He said that if he hears of a fix before he would call me right away.

He also suggested that the fix could be a software update that would just enable deleting from the C31 and NOT needed the whole home service for this feature. So we'll see what happens I guess.

It "could be", but this would also reduce their monthly charges too, so I'd bet it would be a last resort.

Tweaking their system, to allow the C31 to meet the minimum requirement for MRV, seems like a much more likely outcome.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...