Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Signal Loss with Multiple recievers

whole home

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   DTVmichigan

DTVmichigan

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2012

Posted 21 October 2012 - 09:41 PM

I have a NEW DIRECTV HD HIDEF KAKU 5 SINGLE LINE SWiM SWM5 SATELLITE DISH W/8 way splitter & POWER Adapter. My run my about 125 feet from dish to power adapter and 8-way. The system works fine when I do not use the splitter and run directly from the dish to the power adapter and to 1 reciever. If I try to use the splitter and run two recievers my tv shows freeze constantly. Any ideas? Is my run to long from dish to power adapter? Is their another piece of equipment I need to purchase to maintain signal strength? Thanks in adavce.

:confused:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 October 2012 - 10:45 PM

I have a NEW DIRECTV HD HIDEF KAKU 5 SINGLE LINE SWiM SWM5 SATELLITE DISH W/8 way splitter & POWER Adapter. My run my about 125 feet from dish to power adapter and 8-way. The system works fine when I do not use the splitter and run directly from the dish to the power adapter and to 1 reciever. If I try to use the splitter and run two recievers my tv shows freeze constantly. Any ideas? Is my run to long from dish to power adapter? Is their another piece of equipment I need to purchase to maintain signal strength? Thanks in adavce.

:confused:

125' + 8-way simply has too much loss.
Changing to a 4-way should get you within range or:

http://www.solidsign...50-Mhz-(SWMA2T)
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   DTVmichigan

DTVmichigan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2012

Posted 22 October 2012 - 05:56 PM

Thanks for the advice on the SWM amplifier, how would I install that? Do I still need my original power adapter and splitter that came with the dish?

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 October 2012 - 06:41 PM

Thanks for the advice on the SWM amplifier, how would I install that? Do I still need my original power adapter and splitter that came with the dish?

Do you really need an 8-way splitter?
If you can use a 4-way, you'll reduce the loss by about 5 dB.

If you want to go with the amp:

Dish - > coax -> amp-> splitter --> PI & receiver(s)
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   DTVmichigan

DTVmichigan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2012

Posted 22 October 2012 - 07:21 PM

I can use a four way splitter. No problem there.

#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 October 2012 - 07:31 PM

I can use a four way splitter. No problem there.

That should give you what you need. If it doesn't, you've got more loss "somewhere" that you should be able to cure.
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   DTVmichigan

DTVmichigan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2012

Posted 02 November 2012 - 07:21 PM

where does the out from the amp go? To the SWM connection on the splitter?

#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 November 2012 - 07:52 PM

where does the out from the amp go? To the SWM connection on the splitter?

My run my about 125 feet from dish to power adapter [amp here]and 8-way.

Seems like the best location.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   DTVmichigan

DTVmichigan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2012

Posted 02 November 2012 - 08:21 PM

so your goes, coax from dish to PI swm power, ird from PI to in port on AMP, AMP out to 8 way splitter swm port (IN)?

#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 November 2012 - 08:22 PM

so your goes, coax from dish to PI swm power, ird from PI to in port on AMP, AMP out to 8 way splitter swm port (IN)?

That is how I'd do it.
A.K.A VOS





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: whole home

Protected By... spam firewall...And...