Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DirecTV2PC on Windows 8?


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,643 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 22 October 2012 - 03:56 PM

I have an "ultrabook" on the way from Amazon with Windows 8 installed. Anyone know if DirecTV2PC will work on it?

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 22 October 2012 - 04:11 PM

I suspect you will be the first one to know. :)
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,862 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 22 October 2012 - 04:13 PM

Pretty unlikely, maybe 20% chance.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#4 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 22 October 2012 - 04:35 PM

I tried it on the pre-release..no go.

#5 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,198 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 22 October 2012 - 04:56 PM

I don't see why you couldn't run it in Windows XP compatibility mode...unless Win 8 is not going to have that

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV   DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 8am-1am ET)   DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)
 
DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25 ($30 with HBO) | 3=$35 ($40 with HBO) | 4=$43 ($48 with HBO) | All 5=$55 per month 
 
My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#6 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,414 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 22 October 2012 - 05:28 PM

I wish you luck!

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#7 ONLINE   kiknwing

kiknwing

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 490 posts
  • LocationOgden, UT
Joined: Jun 24, 2009

Posted 22 October 2012 - 06:18 PM

I have an "ultrabook" on the way from Amazon with Windows 8 installed. Anyone know if DirecTV2PC will work on it?


I'm running the RTM build of windows 8 pro and have DirecTV2PC working on my laptop. Didn't do anything special to get it to run.

My Setup
Directv '98


#8 OFFLINE   sean10780

sean10780

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2007

Posted 22 October 2012 - 07:07 PM

I to have Windows 8 pro running and Directv2PC working as well.

#9 ONLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,790 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 22 October 2012 - 07:22 PM

Quick question. Is there a Windows 8 and Windows 8 Pro or just Windows 8 Pro? Thanks.

#10 ONLINE   kiknwing

kiknwing

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 490 posts
  • LocationOgden, UT
Joined: Jun 24, 2009

Posted 22 October 2012 - 07:32 PM

Quick question. Is there a Windows 8 and Windows 8 Pro or just Windows 8 Pro? Thanks.


Both. Here is the difference from newegg

Windows 8 – This is the main edition of Windows 8, which is targeted at home users. It’s most similar to the “Home Premium” edition of Windows 7. With Windows 8, you get all the features you’d expect – the Windows desktop with support for traditional Windows desktop programs, the new environment formerly known as Metro, and other features designed for home users. Most people will be happy with this edition of Windows 8.

Windows 8 Pro – The Pro version is targeted at businesses and enthusiasts. It includes the kind of features traditionally included in professional editions of Windows: group policy support, remote desktop server capabilities, Windows domain support, encrypting file system, virtual hard disk booting, and BitLocker. There’s one feature that might interest some of you here, though – you can only use Windows Media Center on Windows 8 Pro. It’s available as a free add-in, but only for the Pro version of Windows 8.

My Setup
Directv '98


#11 OFFLINE   tgater

tgater

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 22 October 2012 - 07:46 PM

I'd like to see an app, myself FWIW.

#12 ONLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,790 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 22 October 2012 - 08:50 PM

Both. Here is the difference from newegg

Windows 8 – This is the main edition of Windows 8, which is targeted at home users. It’s most similar to the “Home Premium” edition of Windows 7. With Windows 8, you get all the features you’d expect – the Windows desktop with support for traditional Windows desktop programs, the new environment formerly known as Metro, and other features designed for home users. Most people will be happy with this edition of Windows 8.

Windows 8 Pro – The Pro version is targeted at businesses and enthusiasts. It includes the kind of features traditionally included in professional editions of Windows: group policy support, remote desktop server capabilities, Windows domain support, encrypting file system, virtual hard disk booting, and BitLocker. There’s one feature that might interest some of you here, though – you can only use Windows Media Center on Windows 8 Pro. It’s available as a free add-in, but only for the Pro version of Windows 8.


Great info. Thanks.

#13 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,643 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:02 PM

Well, I got the computer on Friday and it didn't run DirecTV2PC. It does most other things great, but no go on the DirecTV. Sould love to see a Windows 8 App like I have for my iPhone, though. Not the same, but would still be good.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#14 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,680 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 30 October 2012 - 09:12 PM

Did you try to install it in compatibility mode?

No guarantee this will work, but something to try: Right-click the installer, choose Properties, and on the Compatibility tab select one of the Windows 7 options.

#15 OFFLINE   Hoffer

Hoffer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2007

Posted 31 October 2012 - 09:18 AM

I upgraded my Windows 7 desktop to Windows 8 over the weekend. Been using DirecTV2PC all work without a single issue. Actually, first time I launched it, I got an error message about my video card. Rebooted my computer, launched the application again and it has worked fine since.

I was especially glad that it continues working on my second monitor when I bring up the "Metro" interface. Seems like the second monitor always displays the desktop.

#16 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 31 October 2012 - 10:39 AM

I can't get it to run correctly on Windows 7 64-bit either. Exact same computer, runs perfectly fine on 32-bit Windows 7, get audio with no video for all recordings that arent OTA on 64-bit Windows 7. OTA recordings playback fine.

#17 OFFLINE   Hoffer

Hoffer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2007

Posted 31 October 2012 - 03:32 PM

I used DirecTV2PC on 64-bit Windows 7 since Windows 7 came out.

#18 OFFLINE   PHL

PHL

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2004

Posted 04 November 2012 - 05:08 PM

DTV2PC stopped working for me about 2-3 months ago. Everything was working fine until all of a sudden it wouldn't show any video. Audio and navigating through the menus all worked without a hitch.

Just now, I tried reinstalling DTV2PC. Same problem. I'm using Win7 ultimate, 64bit.

FWIW, the MS Win8 Upgrade Advisor lists Directv2pc as compatible.
HR34 Living Room
HR24-500 Office
HR24-500 Bedroom
Whole Home DVR enabled :)

#19 ONLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,279 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 04 November 2012 - 06:45 PM

On my laptop after upgrading to win8, DirecTV2PC decided that the same card in the same machine no longer supported 'screen protection' or some such crap and wouldn't show a thing.

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#20 OFFLINE   PHL

PHL

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2004

Posted 04 November 2012 - 06:57 PM

On my laptop after upgrading to win8, DirecTV2PC decided that the same card in the same machine no longer supported 'screen protection' or some such crap and wouldn't show a thing.


My issue is similar. I think the problem may have started when I updated my video card driver a few months ago. Most likely, when you upgraded to Win 8, you also updated your video driver. Just curious, does your laptop have ATI graphics?
HR34 Living Room
HR24-500 Office
HR24-500 Bedroom
Whole Home DVR enabled :)




spam firewall