Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Use Old Directv bracket??


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   flash828

flash828

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:50 PM

HI, I have an old Directv bracket (about 9 years old, had cable since then) mounted into the foundation of the house about 10" below where the siding starts. Our new install will be tomorrow and I would like to keep the same bracket since it's very solid, sealed and easy to wipe off snow. Is this possible? Thanks for any info.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   wallfishman

wallfishman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 26 October 2012 - 05:41 PM

HI, I have an old Directv bracket (about 9 years old, had cable since then) mounted into the foundation of the house about 10" below where the siding starts. Our new install will be tomorrow and I would like to keep the same bracket since it's very solid, sealed and easy to wipe off snow. Is this possible? Thanks for any info.


it needs to be a 2 inch outside diameter mast so I doubt what you have will work. I install them in that same spot all the time though so maybe they can put the correct one in the same spot.

#3 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,374 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 26 October 2012 - 08:22 PM

That old bracket is not compatible with the newer 2" dish masts.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#4 OFFLINE   flash828

flash828

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 27 October 2012 - 06:56 AM

Thanks! Is the plate the same foot print? Would the holes be the same? Don't want drill new holes. Maybe gas fire place bump out roof then...like neighbors.

#5 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,661 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 27 October 2012 - 07:15 AM

No, the base plate is larger and has different hole spacing. You might be able to drill new holes in the base plate to align, haven't tried that.

#6 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,542 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 27 October 2012 - 10:16 AM

This may work to adapt the existing mast to the larger size,
http://www.solidsign...g Supplies&sku=
The support rods would still need to be used.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.




spam firewall