Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DISH Added Locals Automatically When Calling Support


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Jim148

Jim148

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 314 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 26 October 2012 - 05:22 PM

If this has already been posted, I apologize. Anyway, I called DISH about a week ago because my 722k had to be re-booted every morning. Sometime after placing the call, I noticed that in addition to the local channels I was receiving with the Over The Air module, I seemed to be receiving local channels via the dish. I didn't give it much thought until tonight when I called to activate the replacement receiver. The Customer Service Representative told me that by making a telephone call to DISH Support local channels were added automatically and an extra charge was placed on my bill! I thought that was unreasonable since I was never notified of that during the call. Ironically, the reason I bought the OTA module was to avoid a monthly fee for local channels!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,030 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 26 October 2012 - 05:44 PM

I haven't heard of what you are talking about here... but locals are included in all the packages now UNLESS you were on a legacy package from before they included them.

That said... the OTA module has limited usability without paying for the locals because Dish doesn't supply you the EPG data for OTA if you aren't paying for locals.

-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#3 OFFLINE   Jim148

Jim148

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 314 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 26 October 2012 - 05:53 PM

Yes, I WAS on a legacy package, but I was told that by simply calling Support I am no longer able to avoid the local channel fee. I will add that after talking for a while about this she did waive a $10 HD For Life fee, so my total price is no lower, but who knows what other channels might be offered when I call again!

#4 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,788 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 26 October 2012 - 05:54 PM

Yes, it is Dish policy, but it's not calling support that triggers it. Virtually any change to your account however including adding or replacing a receiver automatically adds the locals, and your Grandfathering is gone.

#5 OFFLINE   Jim148

Jim148

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 314 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 26 October 2012 - 05:59 PM

When was the policy changed? I suspect it may have been within the last year, or so? I have had to swap out a 722k in the past and that didn't happen then, but it may have been awhile ago at this point.




spam firewall