Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Existing Customers going to Genie


  • Please log in to reply
342 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   dalime

dalime

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 30 December 2012 - 03:29 PM

Saw a deal at Costco so I called retention and simply told them that I was going to cancel my account, pay the fee, and open a new account in my girlfriend's name (new customer). The deal at Costco would have netted me about $400 in savings after the cancellation fee. Told them I would rather not do that and remain a happy customer. The agent hooked me up a Genie, all the C31's I needed, $70 in discounts for the next year, free Stars for 6 months, and let me do the install myself. Didn't pay a dime. You just need to get the right person.

HR34-700 -> Elite VSX-43 -> Elite 50" Plasma
C31 -> Vizio 48" LCD
C31 -> Samsung 32" LCD


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 30 December 2012 - 03:38 PM

Instead he wasted my time and now my time will be wasted again with another install appointment.


Sorry for your experience, but your time will be 'wasted' only once with any luck.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#128 OFFLINE   RD in Fla

RD in Fla

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 525 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 01 January 2013 - 05:33 PM

Saw a deal at Costco so I called retention and simply told them that I was going to cancel my account, pay the fee, and open a new account in my girlfriend's name (new customer). The deal at Costco would have netted me about $400 in savings after the cancellation fee. Told them I would rather not do that and remain a happy customer. The agent hooked me up a Genie, all the C31's I needed, $70 in discounts for the next year, free Stars for 6 months, and let me do the install myself. Didn't pay a dime. You just need to get the right person.


You installed a Genie yourself? Did you get it from Directv or Solid Signal? Did Directv send it to you? If not, did the installer drop it and leave? Doesn't sound right.

I was told back in August that Directv will not ship Genies to customers. This was a Retention Rep.

#129 OFFLINE   dalime

dalime

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:40 PM

D* shipped me the Genie and 2 C31's direct. They even shipped me boxes to return my old DVR's for free.
A while back when I upgraded my DVR's, I had to install a SMW to support them (no SWM when my system was originally installed). Took me about a week of dealing with level 2 techs to get my account flagged as a self-install SWM, otherwise they wouldn't ship me any DECA's and enable whole-home without a tech visit.
That may or may not have something to do with them shipping me the gear without an installer. But I don't see why my situation would be any different than someone that had D* install their SWM for them. I think you just have to get the right person on the phone. That and I was prepared to cancel the account with them right then and there.

HR34-700 -> Elite VSX-43 -> Elite 50" Plasma
C31 -> Vizio 48" LCD
C31 -> Samsung 32" LCD


#130 OFFLINE   wanderingheel

wanderingheel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2006

Posted 02 January 2013 - 09:34 PM

dalime - what was the deal that you saw at Costco? I'm assuming it was for the Genie and additional receivers, correct? I'm interested in doing the same thing - just wondering what type of offer you saw there and what they included (as well as price). I plan to give them a call in the next few days to see what they will do. Also - the $80 dollar cancelation fee is based upon being under contract, correct? Thanks for the help bud...

#131 OFFLINE   dalime

dalime

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 02 January 2013 - 11:25 PM

Yes and the pricing was something pretty close to what they're offering now, plus you got a $200 Costco card.

http://www.directv.c...ooternavtype=-1

The cancellation fee applies if you're in contract and is prorated based on how much time you have left in your contract. Even if you had to pay a full two year termination fee, the savings would still net you some cash plus the new toys. That was the draw for me. I came out about $400 ahead plus the genie.:D

HR34-700 -> Elite VSX-43 -> Elite 50" Plasma
C31 -> Vizio 48" LCD
C31 -> Samsung 32" LCD


#132 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 02 January 2013 - 11:48 PM

You installed a Genie yourself? Did you get it from Directv or Solid Signal? Did Directv send it to you? If not, did the installer drop it and leave? Doesn't sound right.

I was told back in August that Directv will not ship Genies to customers. This was a Retention Rep.


Two or three weeks ago D* started allowing the Genie to be shipped to customer who already have a SWM. It's based on the number of tuners that will be on the account and the size of the SWM as well. I believe it the setup will use more than 7 tuners, they force a technician to do the install (unless a SWM16 is installed). Not sure why they would pick 7, but at least it can be shipped now.

#133 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 02 January 2013 - 11:50 PM

D* shipped me the Genie and 2 C31's direct. They even shipped me boxes to return my old DVR's for free.


Were your old DVR's HD or standard?

#134 OFFLINE   dalime

dalime

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 03 January 2013 - 12:05 AM

1 HD receiver and two HD DVR's

HR34-700 -> Elite VSX-43 -> Elite 50" Plasma
C31 -> Vizio 48" LCD
C31 -> Samsung 32" LCD


#135 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 03 January 2013 - 09:17 PM

1 HD receiver and two HD DVR's


So you swapped HD DVR's for clients? A bit of a step backwards isn't it?

Genie + 2 clients = 5 tuners

Genie + 2 HD DVR's = 9 tuners

Whole home DVR would allow watching from any receiver(or client) with either setup.

#136 OFFLINE   DaveH28

DaveH28

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2011

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:01 PM

There's a lot of talk about upgrading here, so I'd just like to get some opinions before I call D* tomorrow. I currently have one HD DVR (about 3 yrs old) one HD receiver (about 1 yr old) and one SD receiver. I have a SWM system installed about 3 yrs ago with my original install.

I added 1 new TV into my system today and need an HD receiver for it. I'd also like to upgrade the SD to HD but its not the end of the world. I did a self install whole home and it works well. Since I only have the one extra HD receiver I can only watch my recorded shows in 2 rooms total. The space on the DVR is not currently an issue, I've never really filled it, but I'll take more if I can get it.

I have been a subscriber for 3 yrs. I am 1 yr into my current contract. I went online today and saw that I'm being offered ONE free HD receiver or ONE free HD DVR. I'm guessing either would require a new contract, and obviously I'd take the DVR over the regular HD receiver. It was then I first saw the genie.

So I've read a little about it and I'm just wondering if I should push for that over just upgrading my current stuff to HD. Do I get to keep my current DVR or does the genie replace it? If I can get one genie with 3-4 clients for $100 total I'd sign a new contract for it. I can use all my current wiring/SWM/whole home with it, right? If they won't do it, I guess I could just push for one new HD DVR and one new HD receiver and I'd be okay.. Am I missing out not getting the genie?

Thanks in advance, I value the opinions here!
Dave

#137 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,502 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:07 PM

You could keep all your current equipment, in that case you would need an upgrade to your SWM system, as your current one is limited to 8 tuners. The Genie has 5 tuners on its own.

You cannot have more than 3 C31 clients, each one uses a tuner of the Genie when they are watching live TV, or in the buffer. They do not have their own tuners, and do not count towards a tuner count.

If you are able to get anything, keep in mind contracts are concurrent. So if you have a year left, you'd have a year added onto it, for a total of 2 years.

There's a lot of talk about upgrading here, so I'd just like to get some opinions before I call D* tomorrow. I currently have one HD DVR (about 3 yrs old) one HD receiver (about 1 yr old) and one SD receiver. I have a SWM system installed about 3 yrs ago with my original install.

I added 1 new TV into my system today and need an HD receiver for it. I'd also like to upgrade the SD to HD but its not the end of the world. I did a self install whole home and it works well. Since I only have the one extra HD receiver I can only watch my recorded shows in 2 rooms total. The space on the DVR is not currently an issue, I've never really filled it, but I'll take more if I can get it.

I have been a subscriber for 3 yrs. I am 1 yr into my current contract. I went online today and saw that I'm being offered ONE free HD receiver or ONE free HD DVR. I'm guessing either would require a new contract, and obviously I'd take the DVR over the regular HD receiver. It was then I first saw the genie.

So I've read a little about it and I'm just wondering if I should push for that over just upgrading my current stuff to HD. Do I get to keep my current DVR or does the genie replace it? If I can get one genie with 3-4 clients for $100 total I'd sign a new contract for it. I can use all my current wiring/SWM/whole home with it, right? If they won't do it, I guess I could just push for one new HD DVR and one new HD receiver and I'd be okay.. Am I missing out not getting the genie?

Thanks in advance, I value the opinions here!
Dave



#138 OFFLINE   DaveH28

DaveH28

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2011

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:22 PM

dpeters -

I don't really care to keep any of the old stuff as I am only trying to run 4 TVs total right now. If anything I'd keep only the HD DVR if I could use that concurrently with the genie system. Will they work together? Then I could keep that, add the genie (which operates as a receiver itself, right?) and run 2 clients and have the ability to add one more TV in the future if needed..?

My SWM splitter has 8 outputs but one of them goes only to the whole home controller. The other 4 go to TVs. So I shouldn't need a new SWM, I think...?

I'm cool with a 2 yr contract, that's pretty much standard for them. The question is would they ask me to lock into 1 more year or 2 more.. Guess ill call in the morning!

Thanks :)

#139 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,806 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:23 PM

I don't think you could get a Genie on an unsupported whole-home system, I think DirecTV will require an installer visit and a conversion to supported whole-home.

With your system, I would probably add an HD DVR (for your new location) and an HD receiver (to replace your SD receiver), and not get the Genie. You don't appear to have the demand for either tuners or storage space to justify the HR34.

Those changes/additions would keep you under the 8 tuner limit on your current SWM system, and you could continue with the unsupported whole-home if you wanted to.

Of course, you would have to run coax to the new tv location.

Don't misunderstand, the Genie is a great device (I've got one), but I'm not sure it is the right answer for every customer and every situation, and your situation might be such a case.

#140 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,806 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:25 PM

Ah, you posted again while I was typing. If you do go for the Genie, I would get a genie and one C31 client and keep your existing DVR and HD receiver. They will all play together, and will fit within the 8 tuner limit.

As to contract, it will be two years from now, not two years in addition to your remaining year.

As to the SWM, it can support 8 tuners. Doesn't matter how many connections/coax off the splitter. Genie has 5 tuners, HD DVR has 2 tuners, HD receiver has 1 tuner. C31 clients do not have tuners and don't count against the 8.

#141 OFFLINE   DaveH28

DaveH28

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2011

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:33 PM

Carl -

Thanks for the info.. New coax run today and tested with my SD receiver. Up and running other than no receiver to use right now! :)

So, if I keep my HD DVR & HD receiver, and add the genie + 1 client as you recommend, I can watch any recorded program at any of the locations? The HD receiver will pick up both the playlists from the HD DVR and the genie? The HD DVR will play shows from the genie & vice versa?

I guess the only differences between keeping whati have nd getting all new is tat I still won't be able to pause/RR/FF on the HD receiver and the whole "hideaway" factor..

What the difference in supported whole home vs what I have? What do they convert? Is a cinema kit the same as WH? It said I cold get one of those free too..

Thanks!

#142 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:53 PM

Carl -

Thanks for the info.. New coax run today and tested with my SD receiver. Up and running other than no receiver to use right now! :)

So, if I keep my HD DVR & HD receiver, and add the genie + 1 client as you recommend, I can watch any recorded program at any of the locations? The HD receiver will pick up both the playlists from the HD DVR and the genie? The HD DVR will play shows from the genie & vice versa?

I guess the only differences between keeping whati have nd getting all new is tat I still won't be able to pause/RR/FF on the HD receiver and the whole "hideaway" factor..

What the difference in supported whole home vs what I have? What do they convert? Is a cinema kit the same as WH? It said I cold get one of those free too..

Thanks!


If you're SWM is from 3 years ago, it may be a white label SWM not a green label SWM. The Genie should run fine from the white label SWM but D* may require an upgrade on it so they can guarantee their equipment works correctly. The green label SWM will allow for the support whole home which will run the contect over the coax instead of through your home network.

Outside of being able to pause and rewind live programming, I agree with carl6 in keeping any HD receiver that you have as apposed to giving up a tuner. You would be able to configure the receivers however you would like them. You could have the Genie in your living room and HD DVR in your bedroom or whatever other room you would want to record. If the third and possibly fourth room need those abilities then go for the client(s).

#143 OFFLINE   DaveH28

DaveH28

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2011

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:58 PM

I've got green label SWM and my WH runs thru coax. I installed it myself but it's coax not Ethernet based. I should be good, right?

Is the cinema kit just a new name for WH?

#144 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 03 January 2013 - 11:25 PM

I've got green label SWM and my WH runs thru coax. I installed it myself but it's coax not Ethernet based. I should be good, right?


Yeah, you should be fine.

Is the cinema kit just a new name for WH?


The cinema connection kit just ties the internet into your existing system. Whole home works for those without internet and you can add internet to a receiver without having whole home.

#145 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,806 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:41 AM

What the difference in supported whole home vs what I have? What do they convert? Is a cinema kit the same as WH? It said I cold get one of those free too..

Thanks!


In your case, the only difference would be the flag in DirecTV's system indicating you are supported. Functionally you are set up the same.

Given you have run the coax already, and everything else is set up properly, having an installer out to add the HR34 and client would be a quick and easy install/upgrade. All he would have to do is drop in the new boxes, hook them up, and be on his way.

The CCK is the bridge between your DirecTV equipment and the internet. You can accomplish the same thing with an HR34 by plugging ethernet from your LAN into the ethernet port on the HR34 (you cannot do that with HR2x units though).

#146 OFFLINE   Stewpidity

Stewpidity

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 292 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 04 January 2013 - 10:17 AM

Just called...I am out of contract, they wanted $250 to upgrade to Genie, plus the monthly whole home DVR charge, plus the 2 year agreement. I love Directv but I have to shop around and see whats out there, (I need to add 2 receivers & they wanted $279 if i added 2 HD rec, no genie)

#147 OFFLINE   thptrek

thptrek

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 03:50 PM

I'm a long time DTV customer with whole home and two receivers (HR21 and a H24). Called today about upgrading to Genie and it was no problem and at no cost. Installer coming next week. Very happy.

#148 OFFLINE   Stewpidity

Stewpidity

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 292 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:59 PM

I'm a long time DTV customer with whole home and two receivers (HR21 and a H24). Called today about upgrading to Genie and it was no problem and at no cost. Installer coming next week. Very happy.


amazing how I call and get told $250 and you call and get it at no cost...congrats

#149 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 04 January 2013 - 05:29 PM

amazing how I call and get told $250 and you call and get it at no cost...congrats


suspect a lot depends on how many times in the a set period of time a customer has called to aks for equipment.

It was the first time in 3 years that I called and got everytign for free including the installation

#150 OFFLINE   Stewpidity

Stewpidity

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 292 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2008

Posted 04 January 2013 - 05:53 PM

suspect a lot depends on how many times in the a set period of time a customer has called to aks for equipment.

It was the first time in 3 years that I called and got everything for free including the installation


I have not got/requested anything new in 5 years (when i first signed up) Oh well I am not going to call & play CSR roulette




Protected By... spam firewall...And...