Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DISH Hopper and Tivo


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ESA1178

ESA1178

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2011

Posted 29 October 2012 - 12:00 PM

I was wondering if I can hook up my rabbit ears to the Tivo and HD output to TV. Then regular dish network on the hopper and HD out to the sane TV.
The reason is that we love Antenna TV and like to record it during the night.
So we would switch inputs in order to watch DISH or TIVO,

Is this doable?

Thanks!

Mark

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,499 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 29 October 2012 - 12:49 PM

I do it all the time, 2 HD TiVos and a Dish ViP211 with EHD plus HDDVDplayer and Bluray - 5 HDMI inputs to single TV.

Your only limitation is how many HDMI inputs your TV has, I had to buy a 5 way HDMI switch, with remote of course.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 29 October 2012 - 02:44 PM

The 5x1 HDMI switch with a remote is very cheap at eBay: $10-20.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...