Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DirecTV with a Generator


  • Please log in to reply
368 replies to this topic

#361 OFFLINE   loudo

loudo

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,453 posts
  • LocationCentral Maine
Joined: Mar 24, 2005

Posted 07 November 2013 - 08:44 AM

I shut off the main and plug mine into the welder outlet, works great. 

As a retired firefighter and licensed electrician, I would recommend you do yourself and your family a safety favor and install a transfer switch. It may work, but one wrong move could lead to disaster.


H44-200 - Samsung 1080p 46" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Samsunbg 32" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Mitsubishi 1080p 57" DLP - HDMI - Pioneer Home Theater Sound

LG 20 LCD" & Viewsonic 17" HDTV LCD - Component via Cat 6 baluns from HR44-200
Slimline w/ SWM3 LNB. OTA master antenna system to all sets.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#362 OFFLINE   242424

242424

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 219 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2012

Posted 07 November 2013 - 08:57 AM

I sometimes drive over the speed limit too. lol 


  • loudo likes this

#363 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 07 November 2013 - 09:05 AM

You guys are funny,  Ground your generator, meet code, LOL

 

Sure I wouldn't back feed if you don't know what your doing., Like one said Transfer switch. :righton:

 

But codes and grounding, Gimmie a break!

 

I use a protable 10,000 watt generator everyday on many different jobs, you honestly think any of that is required?

 

Its NOT!

 

Don't touch it if you don't know what your doing, just like the same goes for the morons who run their generator indoors.

Sit in the dark!


DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#364 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 07 November 2013 - 09:09 AM

https://www.osha.gov...t_generator.pdf

Grounding Requirements for Portable
and Vehicle-mounted Generators


Under the following conditions, OSHA
directs (29 CFR 1926.404(f)(3)(i)) that the frame of a portable generator need not be
grounded (connected to earth) and that the
frame may serve as the ground (in place of
the earth):
• The generator supplies only equipment
mounted on the generator and/or cord and
plug-connected equipment through
receptacles mounted on the generator,

§ 1926.404(f)(3)(i)(A), and

• The noncurrent-carrying metal parts of
equipment (such as the fuel tank, the internal
combustion engine, and the generator’s
housing) are bonded to the generator
frame, and the equipment grounding conductor
terminals (of the power receptacles
that are a part of [mounted on] the generator)
are bonded to the generator frame,
§ 1926.404

 

Thus, rather than connect to a grounding

electrode system, such as a driven ground

rod, the generator’s frame replaces the

grounding electrode.


DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#365 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,192 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 07 November 2013 - 11:50 AM

Which is called back feeding your panel. This is very dangerous, and violates code. The problem is, it is possible to feed your power outside your home if you forget to shut off the main, or if someone else turns it back on. The interlock capabilities of a cutover switch prevent that possibility.

 

I've done just that for many folks who were out of power and it always makes me nervous.  But, when people need power, that is the path of least resistance.  After the snowstorm before Sandy and then Sandy, none of our local stores had electric dryer plugs or receptacles left in them.

 

Rich  



#366 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,192 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 07 November 2013 - 11:53 AM

You guys are funny,  Ground your generator, meet code, LOL

 

Sure I wouldn't back feed if you don't know what your doing., Like one said Transfer switch. :righton:

 

But codes and grounding, Gimmie a break!

 

I use a protable 10,000 watt generator everyday on many different jobs, you honestly think any of that is required?

 

Its NOT!

 

Don't touch it if you don't know what your doing, just like the same goes for the morons who run their generator indoors.

Sit in the dark!

 

I've never seen anyone run a gennie indoors, but I have seen people using hibachis indoors.  Same result, just takes longer. Morons abound.

 

Rich


  • damondlt likes this

#367 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,968 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 07 November 2013 - 02:20 PM

I shut off the main and plug mine into the welder outlet, works great. 

 

 

Which is called back feeding your panel. This is very dangerous, and violates code. The problem is, it is possible to feed your power outside your home if you forget to shut off the main, or if someone else turns it back on. The interlock capabilities of a cutover switch prevent that possibility.

 

Not only that, but to plug it into the welder outlet, you must use a suicide or widowmaker cord.

 

Do it right.


My Setup

 

Why can I get to the "Adult's Only" area faster than I can get to the "ToDo" List?  DirecTV, that is messed up!!!


#368 OFFLINE   242424

242424

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 219 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2012

Posted 08 November 2013 - 10:26 AM

Not only that, but to plug it into the welder outlet, you must use a suicide or widowmaker cord.

 

Do it right.

 

eh I don't really love her that much anyway. 


  • Rich likes this

#369 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,192 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 08 November 2013 - 12:46 PM

eh I don't really love her that much anyway. 

 

That cracked me up!  

 

Rich






spam firewall