Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DirecTV with a Generator


  • Please log in to reply
368 replies to this topic

#151 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,394 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 28 November 2012 - 04:41 PM

These outlets don't do ANYTHING unless a generator he had installed in the corner of his yard is fired up. He would then have to change his equipment from one outlet to the other by hand to make them work on the generator.

I've done that, but without the color change. I'd rather keep the systems 100% separate AND not have cords draped through the house.

I also have 15w bulbs on a generator only circuit that feeds light sockets in various places. No candles needed to get around the house.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#152 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,214 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 28 November 2012 - 05:38 PM

Finally heard back from the owner of one of the recommended companies today. Good guy, but he was honest. He's buried. Totally swamped, with hundreds of requests and no time for a visit for quite some time. At least he was honest.

May be a good area for those looking for a new job opportunity. Seems like lots of latent demand if you have the right skills.
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#153 OFFLINE   Combat Medic

Combat Medic

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 154 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 29 November 2012 - 09:28 AM

AC also costs a lot of power, to keep the house cooled you would need quite a decent generator.


I've actually got a $100 windows A/C boxed up in my garage. It only draws 500watts and can keep one room nice and cool. I don't need the entire house comfortable to sleep at night.

#154 OFFLINE   Combat Medic

Combat Medic

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 154 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 29 November 2012 - 09:29 AM

If I wasn't so lazy.... :lol:

Rich


Oh, I'm lazy too but I really hate paying somebody to do something that I can do.

#155 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,795 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 November 2012 - 12:30 PM

This was the unit I got from a local electrical/generator contractor. My price did not include gas work either. My gas guy told me it would run about $600.00 for everything for the gas.
http://www.homedepot...51#.ULVFQddX80U


What did the electrical hookup cost?

Rich

#156 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,795 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 November 2012 - 12:35 PM

I keep forgetting about air conditioning, something almost nobody has in my neck of the woods. Also something I tend not to consider essential, but know I would feel differently if I lived where it gets hot and humid at the same time.


Had my AC go out this last summer and it was a miserable experience for a couple days. I have enough fans to cool the house, at least make it livable, but they need juice too.

Rich

#157 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,795 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 November 2012 - 12:39 PM

Oh, I'm lazy too but I really hate paying somebody to do something that I can do.


Yeah, that does bother me at times. But true laziness usually prevails.... :lol:

Rich

#158 OFFLINE   Vin

Vin

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2004

Posted 29 November 2012 - 01:46 PM

What did the electrical hookup cost?

Rich


My guess is around $2,500 > http://www.dbstalk.c...085#post3136085
Vin

#159 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,600 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 29 November 2012 - 01:52 PM

Had my AC go out this last summer and it was a miserable experience for a couple days. I have enough fans to cool the house, at least make it livable, but they need juice too.

Rich


I bought 2 a few years ago when my Central unit was going to be replaced. They are 6,500 BTU and draw 670 watts each. I put one in the Den and one in the Bedroom and a couple of 20" box fans to help spread the cool around the rest of the house.
When hurricane Ike came thru here they were a lifesaver with my gentrator driving them. We had some cool, watched the TV, got on the computer and had cold drinks and stuff in the refrigerator.
I use natural gas for heating, cooking, drying clothes and the hot water heater.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#160 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 306 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:51 PM

I bought 2 a few years ago when my Central unit was going to be replaced. They are 6,500 BTU and draw 670 watts each. I put one in the Den and one in the Bedroom and a couple of 20" box fans to help spread the cool around the rest of the house.
When hurricane Ike came thru here they were a lifesaver with my gentrator driving them. We had some cool, watched the TV, got on the computer and had cold drinks and stuff in the refrigerator.
I use natural gas for heating, cooking, drying clothes and the hot water heater.


You might want to check on the starting capacitor's It may run at 670 but the jump in voltage will trip the breaker if it isnt set up correct with the Genny and Distance is everything ! How long the run is from the AC to the genny you will lose amps

King Cable Cutter ! XBMC , PLEX , Raspberry Pi   Love my New Boxes :)

Avatars are to protect the Ugly people from scaring others !
Come from the land of Pennsylvania where Cable TV was invented ! Had HBO back in the 70's and total cable bill was $ 12.00 and all TV's got Cable with no extra fee ! Been using satellite since the C-Band Days and Dave and Charlie
 


#161 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,600 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:55 PM

You might want to check on the starting capacitor's It may run at 670 but the jump in voltage will trip the breaker if it isnt set up correct with the Genny and Distance is everything ! How long the run is from the AC to the genny you will lose amps


They only start once and then never cut off. LOL. Look at my address.
One is about 20 feet and the other one was about 30 feet.

The thing I saw the most of what you describe is when I washed clothes. The washer made a noticible drop in starting the wash and then the spin cycle.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#162 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,210 posts
  • LocationTeays Valley, WV
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 29 November 2012 - 09:55 PM

We had a 4.5kw portable through Sandy...having to turn something off before we turned something else on got pretty tired awfully quickly.


The 20kW Generac offers a Load Shedding Switch. As you turn on more loads, it sheds lower priority loads. So every circuit could technically be covered, they just can't all be on at the same time.

Mine came with the EZ Switch which gives me 16 circuits. I ended up with 15 since I needed one 240V for the basement A/C compressor. So with what we selected and a few extension cords in the house, we made it through Sandy's snowstorm just fine during a 4 day outage.

My Setup

 

 


#163 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,096 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 30 November 2012 - 06:44 AM

The 20kW Generac offers a Load Shedding Switch. As you turn on more loads, it sheds lower priority loads. So every circuit could technically be covered, they just can't all be on at the same time...


Yes, that switch is included in our quotes.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#164 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 858 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 30 November 2012 - 01:58 PM

It cost me about $8500 to have a 10KW Generac installed, plus $500 for the gas line work (which the generator people would not do.) It sits on crushed gravel. Worth every penny as there have been multiple occasions when the power is out for days.

Steve

My Setup


#165 OFFLINE   Combat Medic

Combat Medic

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 154 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 30 November 2012 - 10:24 PM

I've done that, but without the color change. I'd rather keep the systems 100% separate AND not have cords draped through the house.

I also have 15w bulbs on a generator only circuit that feeds light sockets in various places. No candles needed to get around the house.


I've got a UPS in a closet that is wired into the line that runs the lights in my kitchen (one LED and one fluorescent). The UPS can run the fluorescent for 45 minutes and the LED for 240 minutes. If the lights are already on then nobody has to do anything for light.

#166 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,795 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 12:25 PM

It cost me about $8500 to have a 10KW Generac installed, plus $500 for the gas line work (which the generator people would not do.) It sits on crushed gravel. Worth every penny as there have been multiple occasions when the power is out for days.


That $8,500 include the genny?

Rich

#167 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,214 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 01 December 2012 - 12:44 PM

I started this adventure thinking $6-7K all in for a 14KW unit. I'd die for $8,500 now. Was just outside measuring it all out. Thinking I'm now going to try and do a good chunk of this myself, with the latest indications being $10-15K from the big local shops which is beyond ridiculous.

Edited by Sixto, 01 December 2012 - 12:49 PM.

DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#168 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,795 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 01:06 PM

I started this adventure thinking $6-7K all in for a 14KW unit. I'd die for $8,500 now. Was just outside measuring it all out. Thinking I'm now going to try and do a good chunk of this myself, with the latest indications being $10-15K from the big local shops which is beyond ridiculous.


I'm gonna wait for quite a while until I jump in. Sandy has screwed up NJ so badly that I know I'll get taken if I buy one now. My first and last estimate was for $1,000 a KW. That's ridiculous, but not price gouging. That's their everyday price. Gold Medal, that's a company to stay away from. I know a few licensed electricians who would cut me a break if I help them and they're so busy they can't do anything for a while.

Rich

#169 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,394 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 01 December 2012 - 01:12 PM

Sandy has screwed up NJ so badly that I know I'll get taken if I buy one now. My first and last estimate was for $1,000 a KW. That's ridiculous, but not price gouging.

It is a supply and demand marketplace ... and while $1k per KW may or may not be gouging, it is a price that the market will bear. If you don't pay it someone else will ... so why should anyone give a discount?

Once the demand goes down keep an eye out for overstocks and clearance units. Some of these companies are going to overestimate the demand and have extra units they will want to unload. When the demand drops the marketplace will get more competitive.

#170 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,795 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 01:22 PM

It is a supply and demand marketplace ... and while $1k per KW may or may not be gouging, it is a price that the market will bear. If you don't pay it someone else will ... so why should anyone give a discount?


The company I was referring to, Gold Medal, has a ridiculous price schedule for everything. That was their everyday price.

Once the demand goes down keep an eye out for overstocks and clearance units. Some of these companies are going to overestimate the demand and have extra units they will want to unload. When the demand drops the marketplace will get more competitive.


Gonna take at least a year for that to happen. Everybody we know is in the process of installing them. I can wait. Or I can do it myself.

Rich

#171 OFFLINE   loudo

loudo

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,597 posts
  • LocationCentral Maine
Joined: Mar 24, 2005

Posted 01 December 2012 - 02:03 PM

I started this adventure thinking $6-7K all in for a 14KW unit. I'd die for $8,500 now. Was just outside measuring it all out. Thinking I'm now going to try and do a good chunk of this myself, with the latest indications being $10-15K from the big local shops which is beyond ridiculous.

Last week I contracted for a 14kw Generac with a 200 amp switch, fully installed for $6200. The gas tank and hookups cost another $550.00.

They are coming Monday to set the get the ground ready, set the pad and run the wiring, but the generator will not be delivered until the beginning of January.
H44-200 - Samsung 1080p 46" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Samsunbg 32" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Mitsubishi 1080p 57" DLP - HDMI - Pioneer Home Theater Sound

LG 20 LCD" & Viewsonic 17" HDTV LCD - Component via Cat 6 baluns from HR44-200
Slimline w/ SWM3 LNB. OTA master antenna system to all sets.

#172 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,795 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 02:41 PM

Last week I contracted for a 14kw Generac with a 200 amp switch, fully installed for $6200. The gas tank and hookups cost another $550.00.

They are coming Monday to set the get the ground ready, set the pad and run the wiring, but the generator will not be delivered until the beginning of January.


Now, that sounds like a good deal. A fair deal. Gold Medal would have charged you $14,000 to do the same job.

Rich

#173 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 858 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 01 December 2012 - 07:52 PM

That $8,500 include the genny?


Yes, and the transfer switch and all wiring. The only thing it didn't include was hooking it up to the house propane.

Steve

My Setup


#174 OFFLINE   jkbird59

jkbird59

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2006

Posted 03 December 2012 - 04:25 PM

Here in central NJ i was quoted 7600.00 installed for a 14 kw generac .The only other cost is the permits.

#175 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,795 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 December 2012 - 12:00 PM

Here in central NJ i was quoted 7600.00 installed for a 14 kw generac .The only other cost is the permits.


Who'd you get that quote from? You can PM me if you don't want to put it on the open forum.

The first quote I got was from Gold Medal and was $14,000 for that size. Send me that info and I'll jump on it. Please.

Rich




Protected By... spam firewall...And...