Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Switch to Hopper or is there a better setup?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pjmystic

pjmystic

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:42 PM

I currently have a 722 and a 722K that was running 1 HDTV and 1 regular tv on each receiver. I now purchased a 3rd HDTV leaving the 3rd one w/out high definition.

If I switch to 1 hopper and 3 joey's I'll lose a tuner, which probably isn't all that big of a deal I suppose.

Would the price go up significantly with this change or is there a better setup?

Thanks.

Edit to add: I also have phone service through our cable company, not sure if that changes anything w/ Hopper needs since it uses one of the cable wires I believe.

Edited by pjmystic, 29 October 2012 - 03:45 PM.
More info


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,168 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:49 PM

Monthly dvr/receiver costs will go from $23 to $31 per month. The coax going to the Hopper cannot be combined with the one from cable/phone, you may be able to use the one for the Joeys.

#3 OFFLINE   dmspen

dmspen

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,436 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 30 October 2012 - 07:44 AM

I replaced a 722k, a 622, and a 612 with a Hopper and 2 Joeys. My price went down about $10/month. I did go from 5 separate tuners to 4. Your recording needs may vary requiring 3 Joeys, but it sounds like you only need 2. Hopper for the main TV and a Joey for each additional TV.

#4 OFFLINE   fudpucker

fudpucker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 697 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 30 October 2012 - 11:50 AM

I replaced a 722k, a 622, and a 612 with a Hopper and 2 Joeys. My price went down about $10/month. I did go from 5 separate tuners to 4. Your recording needs may vary requiring 3 Joeys, but it sounds like you only need 2. Hopper for the main TV and a Joey for each additional TV.


Hmmm. How does that work? I have a 722 and 2 612s and would love to go to a Hopper and two Joeys. How would that work out to be cheaper? (The same would be great, actually.)

Also, how much will they charge me up front to change out my 722 and two 612s for a Hopper and two Joeys?

Thanks

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,991 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 30 October 2012 - 11:52 AM

Hmmm. How does that work? I have a 722 and 2 612s and would love to go to a Hopper and two Joeys. How would that work out to be cheaper? (The same would be great, actually.)

Also, how much will they charge me up front to change out my 722 and two 612s for a Hopper and two Joeys?

Thanks

Check the main thread about hopper/joey http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=203038 - you'll find a lot of info
Also www.dishuser.org/hopper.php is very good source to be familiar with the model.

#6 OFFLINE   david_jr

david_jr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 416 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2006

Posted 02 November 2012 - 07:55 AM

Hmmm. How does that work? I have a 722 and 2 612s and would love to go to a Hopper and two Joeys. How would that work out to be cheaper? (The same would be great, actually.)

Also, how much will they charge me up front to change out my 722 and two 612s for a Hopper and two Joeys?

Thanks


Assuming you are paying $26 month in fees now your fees would go to $24 (Hopper free + $7 X 2 for 2 Joeys + $6 DVR + 4 WHV) for your proposed setup.

Upfront upgrade fees for existing customers has been running $100 + install fee (amount depending on if you have DPP) for a Hopper and up to 3 Joeys. Some have been paying more due to other factors.

#7 OFFLINE   pjmystic

pjmystic

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 02 November 2012 - 09:03 AM

Monthly dvr/receiver costs will go from $23 to $31 per month. The coax going to the Hopper cannot be combined with the one from cable/phone, you may be able to use the one for the Joeys.


Thanks. I just got off "Chat' with a rep and my cost will go up $8/month for 1 hopper and 3 Joey's, you are correct.

Unfortunately there a $100 upfront cost + $95 for the technician visit. That might be the deal breaker but will have to think about that one.

#8 OFFLINE   fudpucker

fudpucker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 697 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 03 November 2012 - 06:22 PM

I'm slugging through the gazillion pages of the "My Hopper/Joey experience" thread, but not close to the end, so I'll ask here: are there disadvantages to a 2 Hopper, 1 Joey set-up vs. a 1 Hopper, 2 Joey set up? I want to be able to watch anything at anytime from any of the 3 TVs we have.

#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,991 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 November 2012 - 07:16 PM

just count number of tuners (only hopper) and number of simultaneous life views in your household, also count how many different channels your family would like to record simultaneously

#10 OFFLINE   david_jr

david_jr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 416 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2006

Posted 05 November 2012 - 08:09 AM

I'm slugging through the gazillion pages of the "My Hopper/Joey experience" thread, but not close to the end, so I'll ask here: are there disadvantages to a 2 Hopper, 1 Joey set-up vs. a 1 Hopper, 2 Joey set up? I want to be able to watch anything at anytime from any of the 3 TVs we have.


Only disadvantage that I see is the added up front cost (+ $100 for most people for upgraders) for the second Hopper. Monthly fees would be the same for both setups. If wired properly you should be able to view all recordings on both Hoppers from all 3 TVs. Hoppers however cannot view content from an EHD connected to the other Hopper or watch live tuners on the other Hopper. As P Smith indicated depending on your families viewing habits a second Hopper should solve any conflicts if you need more than 3 tuners for your household.

#11 OFFLINE   williamson183

williamson183

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2012

Posted 25 November 2012 - 01:40 PM

Is there any consistency to the fees that Dish charges to upgrade?

#12 ONLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,168 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 25 November 2012 - 03:02 PM

Is there any consistency to the fees that Dish charges to upgrade?


Upgrade fees are set and are only determined by how may Hoppers you want. Your history, ie: number of years with Dish, subscription level and late payments may entitle you to additional programing discounts.

#13 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 25 November 2012 - 03:52 PM

I replaced a 722k, a 622, and a 612 with a Hopper and 2 Joeys. My price went down about $10/month. I did go from 5 separate tuners to 4. Your recording needs may vary requiring 3 Joeys, but it sounds like you only need 2. Hopper for the main TV and a Joey for each additional TV.


Are you sure about 4 TUNERS a HOPPER only has 3 TUNERS?

#14 ONLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,168 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 25 November 2012 - 04:14 PM

Are you sure about 4 TUNERS a HOPPER only has 3 TUNERS?


Dmspen certainly seems confused, 622 with 722 and 612 is six tuners and five outputs, while Hopper and 2 Joeys would be three tuners and three outputs.

#15 OFFLINE   jpeckinp

jpeckinp

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 225 posts
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Posted 26 November 2012 - 05:49 PM

I've been thinking about upgrading now that they have OTA for the hopper.
My big question is, is it worth it?

Currently I have a 622 and a 211 with Top250 so my bill is $82.99/mo.
Would I really gain anything by switching? I wouldn't use PTAT since all the shows I record are on cable channels and not during PT, so the 6 recording feature doesn't apply to me. I would still only be able to record 2 sat and 1 ota correct?

I use a universal remote so remote finder is worthless.

The only option I see as being worth while is the ability to watch recordings on the Joey.

I would pay an extra $11/mo and also have to pay $100 plus $95 install up front.

Is there something I missed? The math doesn't work out for it to be beneficial to me.

#16 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 26 November 2012 - 06:35 PM

I've been thinking about upgrading now that they have OTA for the hopper.
My big question is, is it worth it?

Currently I have a 622 and a 211 with Top250 so my bill is $82.99/mo.
Would I really gain anything by switching? I wouldn't use PTAT since all the shows I record are on cable channels and not during PT, so the 6 recording feature doesn't apply to me. I would still only be able to record 2 sat and 1 ota correct?

No 3 sat plus 1 OTA

I use a universal remote so remote finder is worthless.

Its for locating the Dish remote.

The only option I see as being worth while is the ability to watch recordings on the Joey.

I would pay an extra $11/mo and also have to pay $100 plus $95 install up front.

Hopper prices have been reduced to $50. $15.00 install with the protection plan.

Is there something I missed? The math doesn't work out for it to be beneficial to me.


Contact a DIRT team member like RAY C and have him price it for you.

#17 ONLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,168 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 26 November 2012 - 07:11 PM

I've been thinking about upgrading now that they have OTA for the hopper.
My big question is, is it worth it?

Currently I have a 622 and a 211 with Top250 so my bill is $82.99/mo.
Would I really gain anything by switching? I wouldn't use PTAT since all the shows I record are on cable channels and not during PT, so the 6 recording feature doesn't apply to me. I would still only be able to record 2 sat and 1 ota correct?

I use a universal remote so remote finder is worthless.

The only option I see as being worth while is the ability to watch recordings on the Joey.

I would pay an extra $11/mo and also have to pay $100 plus $95 install up front.

Is there something I missed? The math doesn't work out for it to be beneficial to me.

Only difference with your current setup (if you OTA on both receivers), would be same sat tuners (all dvr) and 1 less ota tuner.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...