Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Swm16 ground


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Beachcomber12

Beachcomber12

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2012

Posted 31 October 2012 - 04:52 PM

Last weekend I had hr34 installed. I went from a total of 5 tuners to 9 tuners. 2 h24s. 1 hr24. 1 hr34. My question is when the installer grounded the unit he only ran ground from dish to swm16 should he not have run a ground wire from the swm16 to a grounding block like what was done originally. Thanks in advance for your answers.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,238 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 31 October 2012 - 05:18 PM

Is there an earth ground on your dish? He may have just daisy chained the SWM 16 to the dish to the earth ground.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#3 OFFLINE   Beachcomber12

Beachcomber12

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2012

Posted 31 October 2012 - 05:44 PM

No only ground wire runs from dish to swm

#4 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 907 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 31 October 2012 - 06:30 PM

Then yes there should be a #10 solid copper from the SWM16 to the house common ground. Call them back out.

#5 OFFLINE   Beachcomber12

Beachcomber12

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2012

Posted 31 October 2012 - 07:04 PM

That is what I thought. Thanks for the advice

#6 OFFLINE   Mcmiller519

Mcmiller519

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2010

Posted 31 October 2012 - 07:37 PM

It also depends on where your outside ground is and where the entry point of the cables are if its on the other side of the house there will be a lot of wires running around your house

#7 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 907 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 31 October 2012 - 08:13 PM

It also depends on where your outside ground is and where the entry point of the cables are if its on the other side of the house there will be a lot of wires running around your house


It doesnt depend on that, it is supposed to be grounded no matter what. It is the law!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...