Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Hurricane Sandy - Need Install help


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jeffbass

jeffbass

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2012

Posted 01 November 2012 - 10:50 AM

I use to be a DirecTV customer and still have the 3 LNB HD dish on my roof. Since the storm our cable is out and I want to use my brothers receiver for a few days. I can't get receiver to work. I think dish might be damaged. Not sure, please look at attached picture. Also, I have 4 RG6 cable going in to a 6 X 8 multiswitch, but I think they got mixed up. How do I figure which cable goes where? Thanks for the help. Anyone?

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_7235.jpg


#2 OFFLINE   dennispap

dennispap

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 664 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2007

Posted 01 November 2012 - 12:25 PM

This is in the DISH network forum. You need to post in the Directv forum.

#3 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 01 November 2012 - 01:15 PM

That's not a 3 LNB dish it is a 5 and I don't think it is a Slimline even.

#4 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,712 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 01 November 2012 - 03:02 PM

That's an old AT9 "sidecar" HD dish. It should still work for receiving all of the necessary sateliltes. That dish has four coax outputs, so if you're only connecting one Receiver/DVR, just forget about the multiswitch and connect any dish output directly to your Receiver.

What model DirecTV Receiver do you have?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#5 OFFLINE   alnielsen

alnielsen

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 476 posts
  • LocationDuPage Co. IL
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 01 November 2012 - 03:29 PM

It looks like one part of the LNB may be be broken, in that picture.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_7235.jpg

Edited by alnielsen, 01 November 2012 - 03:34 PM.

Direct TV subscriber since 1999
Choice Ultimate Customer
Equipment:: HR21-700 HR20-700 H20-100 (owned) SlimLine 5 Antenna
Winegard HD 8800 8-Bay for OTA

 

KC9ZOU


#6 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 01 November 2012 - 07:48 PM

It doesn't matter how the four lines from the dish are connected to the 6x8 multiswitch.
But as mentioned, if only using one receiver you can eliminate the 6x8 from the system.

And it does look like the cover over the 99/101/103 LNB is broken.
Time to upgrade to the SL5 or SL3 slimline dish.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ“ก

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,309 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 November 2012 - 09:25 PM

very important that you tell us your receiver model number. if you are using an H25 HD receiver, this is all a moot point because the H25 is only a SWM only receiver.

another thing is that the "side-car" dish is very old and could be out of alignment

#8 OFFLINE   jeffbass

jeffbass

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2012

Posted 02 November 2012 - 07:06 AM

It is a D-12-100 receiver with a band filter connected. If this will receiver works, what dish selection should I select?
Thanks for all your input.

#9 OFFLINE   jeffbass

jeffbass

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2012

Posted 02 November 2012 - 07:20 AM

It is a D-12-100 receiver with a band filter connected. If this will receiver works, what dish selection should I select?
Thanks for all your input.

#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ“ก

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,309 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 November 2012 - 09:24 AM

if your dish is aligned properly, it should work. but you must remover the BSF filter. you can choose either Slimline 5 or 18x20 as your dish type and "multiswitch" as your switch type. since this receiver came from a SWM system, you MUST change the switch type FIRST, then change your dish type. this is very important.

#11 OFFLINE   jahgreen

jahgreen

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 438 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 02 November 2012 - 01:49 PM

Is it legit for OP to use his brother's receiver when the OP is not a DirecTV subscriber?
Panasonic 50px60U
(1) HR20-700, (1) HR21-100
Salamander Design Synergy Cabinet with plasma mount


DirecTV since 2004

#12 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,837 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 02 November 2012 - 02:18 PM

It is a D-12-100 receiver with a band filter connected. If this will receiver works, what dish selection should I select?
Thanks for all your input.


You only need the 101 satellite for now with the D12.
Try it with the dish set to 18" round.

If that does not work you have to choose the slimline 5 and multiswitch in the list of choices.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#13 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,233 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 02 November 2012 - 02:25 PM

Is it legit for OP to use his brother's receiver when the OP is not a DirecTV subscriber?


No. It is also not legitimate to use someone elses receiver at your location even if you are a subscriber.

#14 OFFLINE   funnyfarm299

funnyfarm299

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2012

Posted 03 November 2012 - 01:53 AM

Is it legit for OP to use his brother's receiver when the OP is not a DirecTV subscriber?


Is it legit? No.

Is it reasonable? Yes. People need to get their information in the aftermath of this terrible storm.

LR: 50" Samsung plasma, Samsung bluray, HR24, Roku, Denon AVR-1912, URC MX-450 with RF.

BR1: 32" Sony LCD, H25, SnapAV HDMI balun.

BR2: 32" Acer LCD, HR24, Xbox One.

Bonus: 70" Vizio, H25, SnapAV HDMI balun


#15 OFFLINE   n3vino

n3vino

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 374 posts
  • LocationLeon Valley(San Antonio), Texas
Joined: Oct 02, 2011

Posted 03 November 2012 - 11:34 AM

No. It is also not legitimate to use someone elses receiver at your location even if you are a subscriber.

It isn't? I thought it was legit for a subscriber to put a receiver wherever he wanted. An extention of his home, a vacation home, an RV, or his brother's house. Don't some people have receiver's for that purpose? Just asking.

1 HDR 34

1 HDR 24-500
2 HD 25's
Slimline Dish 3LNB
Whole Home DVR

 

Epa, Epa, Andale, Andale, Arriba, Arriba, Eeeha


#16 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,285 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 03 November 2012 - 12:42 PM

Under the TOS service is to be only at the address listed on the account. Now taking a receiver with you on vacation is generally accepted as long as no one is at home using the service at the same time. Loaning someone a receiver while his cable is out is absolutely 100% against the TOS.
My Setup




Protected By... spam firewall...And...