Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Showtime


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tulanejosh

tulanejosh

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 425 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 03 November 2012 - 12:08 AM

Why does everyone of my showpiece channels show the exact same program in the guide for the me g 14 days. They are all playing reservoir dogs right now. And when that's over they play some nick canon thing and so on. Anyone else seeing this?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Delroy E Walleye

Delroy E Walleye

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2012

Posted 03 November 2012 - 12:23 AM

I just noticed this, too. It's the same thing with The Movie Channel and the Movie Channel Extreme.

Channels do seem to have all of their appropriate "bugs" in the corner, but the programming is entirely duplicated as far out as the guide goes. In the case of Showtime is "quintuplicated." What's up with this? Is it Sandy-Related?

#3 OFFLINE   Delroy E Walleye

Delroy E Walleye

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2012

Posted 03 November 2012 - 12:27 AM

I guess that's TMC "Extra" not Extreme.

In any case, schedules on the sho website do not show duplication. Is this maybe part of the new CBS deal gone bad?

#4 OFFLINE   tulanejosh

tulanejosh

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 425 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 03 November 2012 - 12:30 AM

I think this has to be Sandy related. If it was deal related they'd just take the channel down. And to the point above - the bugs are still correct. I did some googling and some of their data centers were in the path if the storm. There's a story about some company called Globecomm and Showtime commending them for picking up their slack.

#5 OFFLINE   Delroy E Walleye

Delroy E Walleye

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2012

Posted 03 November 2012 - 12:30 AM

Oh, just noticed disclaimer at the top of the sho website guide. Apparently is Sandy-Related.

#6 OFFLINE   dewzan

dewzan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2009

Posted 03 November 2012 - 08:23 AM

same on dish with tmcw & tmcxw

#7 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,540 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 03 November 2012 - 09:06 AM

Second time this week the directv guide is correct and fios is not. Even though Alive is showing on same channels on fios, the guide has the original programming. You'd think that connected by fiber would mean better updates.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#8 OFFLINE   lacubs

lacubs

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 518 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 03 November 2012 - 10:41 AM

i got it on SHO3 548,EXTR 549, SHBY 550, SHNX 551, SHWM 552

#9 OFFLINE   ronsanjim

ronsanjim

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
  • LocationCherokee Village, AR
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 03 November 2012 - 01:37 PM

Would think they would have "fixed" this by now. If it wasn't for Dexter, that sub would be history.

#10 OFFLINE   mrro82

mrro82

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 522 posts
  • LocationThumb web of the mitten :>)
Joined: Sep 11, 2012

Posted 03 November 2012 - 02:15 PM

Would think they would have "fixed" this by now. If it wasn't for Dexter, that sub would be history.


Shameless, Californication, The Borgias. Showtime has decent series. Movie selection is a bit lacking IMHO though.

#11 OFFLINE   slinger45

slinger45

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2007

Posted 03 November 2012 - 06:23 PM

Shameless, Californication, The Borgias. Showtime has decent series. Movie selection is a bit lacking IMHO though.


you didnt even mention the best one.

Homeland. FTW

#12 OFFLINE   mrro82

mrro82

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 522 posts
  • LocationThumb web of the mitten :>)
Joined: Sep 11, 2012

Posted 04 November 2012 - 05:54 AM

you didnt even mention the best one.

Homeland. FTW


:eek2: Indeed I did. Awesome show.

#13 OFFLINE   Xsabresx

Xsabresx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 981 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 04 November 2012 - 11:22 AM

...and House of Lies
since 2001

HR20-700 -- LG 55LH55 LCD
HR23-700 -- Sony KDL-60EX500 LCD
HR21-100 --Vizio VA26LHDTV10T
H24-100 -- Hitachi 51F59 Rear Projection
H24-100 -- Some tube that wont die

#14 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,915 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 04 November 2012 - 06:32 PM

Would think they would have "fixed" this by now. If it wasn't for Dexter, that sub would be history.

Their control and uplink is on Long Island where most people still have no power and are waiting in lines for hours just to get gas and LIPA is giving priority to more important things like hospitals, nursing homes, police/fire stations and schools. They're operating from a backup facility without the ability to program all their channnels so they have Showtime, Showtime 2, TMC, Flix and Smithsonian carrying a regular lineup with the rest of them simulcasting Showtime. Fox Sports Net had similar problems with Hurricane Rita a few years ago where all the stations that originated out of their Houston facility carried a national FSN lineup during the brunt in the storm, except in that case they didn't get a direct hit and were quickly able to return to normal operations.

#15 OFFLINE   lacubs

lacubs

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 518 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 05 November 2012 - 09:54 AM

i think they fixed it!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...