Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

LNB Question


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dazed&confuzed

dazed&confuzed

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2008

Posted 05 November 2012 - 09:29 AM

1352054526315.jpg

Can someone Identify this Slimline LNB for me? :confused:
Is it a 5 LNB?
Or 3?
Also want to verify that this will work with a SWM8
Thanks

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1352054498061.jpg


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,923 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 05 November 2012 - 09:54 AM

[ATTACH]30443[/ATTACH] [ATTACH]30444[/ATTACH]

Can someone Identify this Slimline LNB for me? :confused:
Is it a 5 LNB?
Or 3?
Also want to verify that this will work with a SWM8
Thanks


5

And it will work with a SWiM-8 module. I have that same model for instance feeding a SWiM-16.

#3 OFFLINE   dazed&confuzed

dazed&confuzed

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2008

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:05 AM

5

And it will work with a SWiM-8 module. I have that same model for instance feeding a SWiM-16.


Since there are no markings on the outputs Can I assume that it does not matter which cable goes to which input on the SWM?

Thanks Much! :D

#4 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 877 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:07 AM

Correct it does not matter which 4 cables go tothe inputs on the SWM

#5 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,923 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:23 AM

Don't connect any of the lines to the Flexports on the SWiM-8 of course.

#6 OFFLINE   dazed&confuzed

dazed&confuzed

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2008

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:36 AM

Don't connect any of the lines to the Flexports on the SWiM-8 of course.


Got it!
What are the Flexports for?

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,738 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:40 AM

international 95W and [not used now] 72.5W locals

#8 OFFLINE   dazed&confuzed

dazed&confuzed

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2008

Posted 09 November 2012 - 10:38 AM

OK I have it mounted and "Aimed" all the SD channels are working well.
I have attached pictures of the signal strengths I am getting across all the satellites.
How do the signal levels look?

I was a little concerned when following the instructions that after peaking and going two turns in one direction when you start to go the opposite direction the dish does not start to move immediately.
I may be overthinking this but will there be some margin of error because of slack in the adjusting mechanisim? :confused:

Attached Thumbnails

  • 99C.jpg
  • 101.jpg
  • 103CA.jpg
  • 103CB.jpg
  • 103S.jpg
  • 110.jpg
  • 119.jpg


#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,738 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 09 November 2012 - 01:24 PM

Good signals, no need to worry.

I would check them other rainy day to see what is near an "edge".

#10 OFFLINE   dazed&confuzed

dazed&confuzed

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2008

Posted 09 November 2012 - 01:53 PM

Good signals, no need to worry.

I would check them other rainy day to see what is near an "edge".


Thanks! :)




spam firewall