Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

will a sling work with vp211


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   databig

databig

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2009

Posted 05 November 2012 - 06:41 PM

i want to view live tv on my ipad and wondered if i get a sling what receivers does it need to work, can i use it with a vp211 stand alone box or do i need a vp222 that has the antenna for another room? thanks for any insite.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 547 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 05 November 2012 - 06:43 PM

i want to view live tv on my ipad and wondered if i get a sling what receivers does it need to work, can i use it with a vp211 stand alone box or do i need a vp222 that has the antenna for another room? thanks for any insite.


The Sling adapter will only work with a 722, 722k and Hopper. The 922 has built-in sling as well

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,706 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 November 2012 - 06:56 PM

You could use standalone Sling (not an Adapter !), many models would do that.

#4 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,426 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 05 November 2012 - 07:30 PM

The advantage to a 722/922/Hopper and the Sling adapter (or 922 built-in) is that you get the free Dish Remote Access app for your iPad and can use that to view the content.

IF you want Sling on a non-adapter-supported model, like a 211 for example, then you certainly can buy a standalone Slingbox... but I believe you would also have to purchase the Sling app from the app store... The Dish Remote Access app doesn't work with a Slingbox last time I checked.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#5 OFFLINE   databig

databig

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2009

Posted 05 November 2012 - 09:33 PM

so it will work on either of these the 722 or 722k or the hopper ? i don't need all three correct? sorry new to me , thanks

#6 OFFLINE   Singe0255

Singe0255

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2011

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:58 PM

That appears to be the case, though I haven't tried myself.

#7 OFFLINE   RaymondG@DISH Network

RaymondG@DISH Network

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2011

Posted 05 November 2012 - 11:43 PM

so it will work on either of these the 722 or 722k or the hopper ? i don't need all three correct? sorry new to me , thanks


You would only need one (722, 722k, or the Hopper) with an internet connection to be able to use the Sling Adapter. The Sling Adapter will not work with the ViP922 as it already has Sling technology built in.

If you need some more details on what you need in order to stream your TV Everywhere™ please visit http://www.dish.com/...g-adapter-works.

#8 OFFLINE   databig

databig

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2009

Posted 06 November 2012 - 02:20 AM

thanks for your help guys , really appriecate it, do they charge you a monthly fee for the sling or is it free thanks again

#9 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 06 November 2012 - 07:37 AM

One time purchase no monthly fee.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.





spam firewall