Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

**I need help**300 feet cable run using a Directv SWM STSTEM, or?


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 12:30 PM

Great on the RG11 cable.... So far how does this look below??

So far i have--->
RG11 cable
PI-29
SWMA2T-----OR-----LA141R??

http://www.a1compone...sky11c95rb.aspx


LA141R
http://www.solidsign...rmer-(LA141R-T)

SWMA2T
http://www.solidsign...50-Mhz-(SWMA2T)

PI-29
http://www.solidsign...SWM-16-(PI-29Z)

Clips
http://www.arrisisto....php?pid=209457


Thanks

"No" that's a yes on the Skywalker as it's the only RG11 that I can find that will work for you.



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 12:48 PM

Great on the RG11 cable.... So far how does this look below??

So far i have--->
RG11 cable
PI-29
SWMA2T-----OR-----LA141R??

http://www.a1compone...sky11c95rb.aspx


LA141R
http://www.solidsign...rmer-(LA141R-T)

SWMA2T
http://www.solidsign...50-Mhz-(SWMA2T)

PI-29
http://www.solidsign...SWM-16-(PI-29Z)

Clips
http://www.arrisisto....php?pid=209457


Thanks

I have it on good authority that Solid Signal will be carrying the Skywalker RG11 "soon".

The LA141R is the earlier SWiM amp, and the SWMA2T is the newer [and cheaper] SWiM amp. They both will do the same thing for you.
The SWMA2T "was to" work with DECA, but you don't care/need it to, and "in most cases" it doesn't work that well for DECA. I'd use it because of the price, where I don't care about DECA.
By installing it before your splitter, it doesn't need to work for DECA.
A.K.A VOS

#28 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:07 PM

I really, really appreciate all your help!

Well, i just got back from measuring the distance from the bracket to my kitchen window. The total distance is 265 feet, i guess another 40feet to play around with..

I will really like too wait on Solid Signal but my management office wants this job done ASAP. I think the NYC building Dept is after my landlord for tenants having dishes on "the child window safety gates" NYC-code 11

Great! so ill just go with the below items. Management office paying for the below items. :)

Skywalker Signature Series RG-11 Coax cable
PI-29
SWMA2T
Cable Plastic Fits RG11 Includes 1 Inch Screw White

http://www.a1compone....ky11c95rb.aspx

SWMA2T
http://www.solidsign...sp...z-(SWMA2T)

PI-29
http://www.solidsign...sp...6-(PI-29Z)

Clips
http://www.arrisisto....php?pid=209457

The rest ill buy myself, like rg11 cable connectors, cutter and compression tool.


Thanks


I have it on good authority that Solid Signal will be carrying the Skywalker RG11 "soon".

The LA141R is the earlier SWiM amp, and the SWMA2T is the newer [and cheaper] SWiM amp. They both will do the same thing for you.
The SWMA2T "was to" work with DECA, but you don't care/need it to, and "in most cases" it doesn't work that well for DECA. I'd use it because of the price, where I don't care about DECA.
By installing it before your splitter, it doesn't need to work for DECA.



#29 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:10 PM

I really, really appreciate all your help!

Well, i just got back from measuring the distance from the bracket to my kitchen window. The total distance is 265 feet, i guess another 40feet to play around with..

I will really like too wait on Solid Signal but my management office wants this job done ASAP. I think the NYC building Dept is after my landlord for tenants having dishes on "the child window safety gates" NYC-code 11

Great! so ill just go with the below items. Management office paying for the below items. :)

Skywalker Signature Series RG-11 Coax cable
PI-29
SWMA2T
Cable Plastic Fits RG11 Includes 1 Inch Screw White

http://www.a1compone....ky11c95rb.aspx

SWMA2T
http://www.solidsign...sp...z-(SWMA2T)

PI-29
http://www.solidsign...sp...6-(PI-29Z)

Clips
http://www.arrisisto....php?pid=209457


Thanks

"you do know" that this was planned for the RG11 to only be used on the main drop from the dish, and RG6 for the rest?
A.K.A VOS

#30 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:17 PM

Yes! From point A TO point B
A= 5LNB DISH TO
B= PI-29

Correct?

then ill use rg6 Quad shield coax cable that i have for the rest of the house?? anything else i am missing?

"you do know" that this was planned for the RG11 to only be used on the main drop from the dish, and RG6 for the rest?



#31 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:20 PM

"you do know" that this was planned for the RG11 to only be used on the main drop from the dish, and RG6 for the rest?


Reading this thread, I was just going to mention that it should be RG11 to the splitter, then RG6 from there. The OP's last post sure makes it seem like he was planning for RG11 all around.

EDIT: Apparently OP had it right.

#32 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:23 PM

Yes! From point A TO point B
A= 5LNB DISH TO
B= PI-29

Correct?

then ill use rg6 Quad shield coax cable that i have for the rest of the house?? anything else i am missing?

If you already have a spool of this laying around, then I can see using it, but if you're going to buy it, don't waste your money, and stick with "normal" RG6.
A.K.A VOS

#33 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:27 PM

Correct. I meant to say from 5LNB TO SWM switch, then use the rg6 cable laying around the house..


Reading this thread, I was just going to mention that it should be RG11 to the splitter, then RG6 from there. The OP's last post sure makes it seem like he was planning for RG11 all around.

EDIT: Apparently OP had it right.



#34 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:28 PM

No, i don't have a spool of rg6 cable. Just that cheap rg6 Quad shield coax cable from homedepot.


If you already have a spool of this laying around, then I can see using it, but if you're going to buy it, don't waste your money, and stick with "normal" RG6.



#35 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:33 PM

No, i don't have a spool of rg6 cable. Just that cheap rg6 Quad shield coax cable from homedepot.

Not sure what the cheap RG6 from Homedepot is, but you don't need quadshield. If it's not between the PI and the dish, it doesn't need to be solid copper core.
Other than these two items RG6 is basically RG6, but there can be a quality difference.
A.K.A VOS

#36 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:50 PM

Great!
I meant the "quality" of cable spool 1000-feet homedepot sells. I've heard not good quality cable..

Ill just run the RG11 cable, 285 feet straight into the living room SWM switch. Then distribute rg6 cable..


Not sure what the cheap RG6 from Homedepot is, but you don't need quadshield. If it's not between the PI and the dish, it doesn't need to be solid copper core.
Other than these two items RG6 is basically RG6, but there can be a quality difference.



#37 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:53 PM

Not sure if this is "too much" or not: http://www.solidsign...ku=610370580981
A.K.A VOS

#38 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 03:07 PM

Are you suggesting i run RG-6-Coax-Cable, 285 FEET from dish to SWM-switch? And WHY not RG11 cable from DISH to SWM switch?

Thanks.


Not sure if this is "too much" or not: http://www.solidsign...ku=610370580981



#39 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 03:14 PM

Are you suggesting i run RG-6-Coax-Cable, 285 FEET from dish to SWM-switch? And WHY not RG11 cable from DISH to SWM switch?

Thanks.

NO! this was a suggestion for the coax from the PI/amp/splitter to the receivers.
A.K.A VOS

#40 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 03:28 PM

Got it! Ill pass along the links to my building management.

Skywalker Signature Series RG-11 Coax cable
PI-29
SWMA2T
Cable Plastic Fits RG11 Includes 1 Inch Screw White

http://www.a1compone....ky11c95rb.aspx

SWMA2T
http://www.solidsign...sp...z-(SWMA2T)

PI-29
http://www.solidsign...sp...6-(PI-29Z)

Clips
http://www.arrisisto....php?pid=209457

The rest ill buy myself, like the rg11 connectors, cutter and compression tool, plus the rg6 cable.

Does that sound right?


Thanks


NO! this was a suggestion for the coax from the PI/amp/splitter to the receivers.



#41 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 03:43 PM

Got it! Ill pass along the links to my building management.

Skywalker Signature Series RG-11 Coax cable
PI-29
SWMA2T
Cable Plastic Fits RG11 Includes 1 Inch Screw White

http://www.a1compone....ky11c95rb.aspx

SWMA2T
http://www.solidsign...sp...z-(SWMA2T)

PI-29
http://www.solidsign...sp...6-(PI-29Z)

Clips
http://www.arrisisto....php?pid=209457

The rest ill buy myself, like the rg11 connectors, cutter and compression tool, plus the rg6 cable.

Does that sound right?


Thanks

That looks very workable.
This is for several units, with each having their own dish, right?
If so, each will have all the options DirecTV offers available and the relocation of the dishes will have zero impact on their service.
A.K.A VOS

#42 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 05:13 PM

OK, so now Solid Signal has a listing for RG11 SCC:
http://www.solidsign...02&p=SKY11C95RB
A.K.A VOS

#43 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 05:21 PM

At the moment my building management office allowed 5 tenants to place their dishes on the roof.. 3 tenants were lucky. The brackets were placed on the EAST SIDE of the building. Their drop cables was no more than 125 feet :nono: My neighbor which lives under me and I both suffered the impact. We live on the WEST SIDE of the building 300 feet away. I will help her install the dish and lay RG11 cable from POINT A TO point B then she will have to call directv to work in her apartment.

EDIT: My neighbor needs to upgrade to SWM system.

That looks very workable.
This is for several units, with each having their own dish, right?
If so, each will have all the options DirecTV offers available and the relocation of the dishes will have zero impact on their service.


Edited by direcdt, 09 November 2012 - 05:29 PM.


#44 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 05:32 PM

Oh wow! I just turned over 2 itemized bills to my building management office. Buying the RG11 a1components helps on FREE shipping over $200


OK, so now Solid Signal has a listing for RG11 SCC:
http://www.solidsign...02&p=SKY11C95RB


Edited by direcdt, 09 November 2012 - 05:38 PM.


#45 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 05:38 PM

Oh wow! I just turned over 2 itemized bills to my building management office. Buy the RG11 a1components helps on FREE shipping over $200

Hey, I don't work for SS, and if they couldn't give you the best price, "so be it". :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#46 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 05:39 PM

EDIT: My neighbor needs to upgrade to SWM system.

Laying out the RG11 between the dish and her apartment should help.
A.K.A VOS

#47 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 07:04 PM

We really appreciate all your help and the rest of the guys that participated in this thread‎, contribution, time and your patience dealing with me.. Hopefully ill start this project by next week. :hurah:


Ill keep you guys updated..

#48 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 08:01 PM

1 more question? so you say that using this SWS4-Satellite-4Way switch with the PI-29 won't matter? That's the switch i have installed in my apartment...

http://www.solidsign...&sku=8546300083

There isn't a SWM-4, but I'd guess you have the SWiM-LNB [which is the same as the SWM8, but included in the LNB] and the 29 volts works fine with it. "In fact" with long coax runs, it's known to work better than the 21 volt.
I've run my SWiMLNB with a 29 volt for years without problems.



#49 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 08:15 PM

1 more question? so you say that using this SWS4-Satellite-4Way switch with the PI-29 won't matter? That's the switch i have installed in my apartment...

http://www.solidsign...&sku=8546300083

This isn't a switch, but is merely a power splitter. You won't have any problems with either the 29 volt PI or this splitter.
A.K.A VOS

#50 OFFLINE   direcdt

direcdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2012

Posted 09 November 2012 - 08:27 PM

Got it! I can now sleep.. :)

This isn't a switch, but is merely a power splitter. You won't have any problems with either the 29 volt PI or this splitter.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...