Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

My HR-34 Issues after two days


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tom74

tom74

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 08:07 AM

Up until Tuesday I had an HR21-700 and a HR20-700. The HR21 was connected to the internet and the two boxes were connected via the whole home dvr package. Each HR receiver utilized a 1 tb external drive for recording purposes. The HR20 had been running slow for a while so I decided to call DTV and upgrade to the genie.

The tech came out and the first genie he had would not recognize my access card when he entered it so, he left and returned with another box. This one worked fine although we had to reboot my wireless internet to get the boxes to once again recognize it and one another. All the tuners seemed to be working on the HR-34, the whole-home was working, everything seemed great. He left.

That day, I sat down at the genie to watch something recorded on the external drive connected to my HR-21. All worked well until suddenly the genie stopped playing and I got a message that it was no longer communicating with the HR-21. Going into the whole home menu the receivers seemed to be no longer recognizing each other. This rectified itself shortly. This happened again 2 more times Tuesday. IT has not done it again in the last 24 hours so maybe it rectified itself or an internet issue although that would be a strange coincidence given I'd only had that issue with my old boxes twice in about 18 months and not once in the past 6-8 months.

Than last night,

I was again watching something from the HR-21 on the genie and suddenly the picture went black. I could fast fwd or rewind on the unit but I could not change channels or exit the playback function, I was stuck with a black screen with audio continuing to play. I turned the box off and back on but it remained locked on the pictureless recording. The turning on and off did however turn the hue of the screen blue. I finally did a red button reset. While it rebooted I went to the HR-21 and finished watching the recording, the recording itself was fine. After reboot the genie seemed ready to go again.

Sorry for so many details but I'm not sure what might be important/unimportant with my issue. Does anyone have a clue what might be going on? Should I just call directv and try to get a tech out again or should I wait a while and see if the issue repeats itself. Any advice would be appreciated. I'm not very tech savy but hopefully was able to make the issue clear to those who are.

Thank-you kindly in advance.

Tom.

Edited by tom74, 08 November 2012 - 08:14 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 November 2012 - 08:15 AM

:welcome_s to DBSTalk!

We'll try to get things resolved for you here.

On the back of the HR21, you should have an external DECA unit. When you have these issues, have you checked that unit to see if all the lights on the DECA are green?

Also, you mentioned that you needed to reset your router when the HR34 was hooked up. Some of the issues you mentioned can be related to IP address conflicts among devices. Are you using static IP addresses or DHCP addressing for your DVRs? If the former, what is the DHCP range that is set up on your router? Are the static IP addresses inside the DHCP range?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   tom74

tom74

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 08:40 AM

:welcome_s to DBSTalk!

We'll try to get things resolved for you here.

On the back of the HR21, you should have an external DECA unit. When you have these issues, have you checked that unit to see if all the lights on the DECA are green?

Also, you mentioned that you needed to reset your router when the HR34 was hooked up. Some of the issues you mentioned can be related to IP address conflicts among devices. Are you using static IP addresses or DHCP addressing for your DVRs? If the former, what is the DHCP range that is set up on your router? Are the static IP addresses inside the DHCP range?

- Merg


Thank-you kindly for the welcome. I have not checked that external unit to see if all the lights are green. I will do so next time the issue happens (hopefully it just doesn't).

As for your question about IP addresses I honestly don't know the answer as unfortunately the question overshoots my knowledge of how I'm set-up.

Edited by tom74, 08 November 2012 - 08:46 AM.


#4 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 November 2012 - 08:52 AM

Okay, let's look at this then...

Press and hold the Info button for each receiver. Scroll on down until you find the listing for the IP address for each receiver and post that here.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#5 OFFLINE   tom74

tom74

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 08:57 AM

Okay, let's look at this then...

Press and hold the Info button for each receiver. Scroll on down until you find the listing for the IP address for each receiver and post that here.

- Merg


I will do that tonight when home. Thank-you very much for your help.

#6 OFFLINE   tom74

tom74

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 05:18 PM

I will do that tonight when home. Thank-you very much for your help.


Hr21 = 192.168.1.7
Hr34 = 192.168.1.6

Thanks.

#7 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 08 November 2012 - 06:36 PM

As an HR34 the glitches are just not justifiable. We get that disconnection too. As a Genie, one expects some quirky behavior. Every movie that ever had a genie has shown the genie to be fickle, if not downright malevolent.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#8 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,215 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 08 November 2012 - 06:50 PM

The chances of a consumer router (or even a computer-based firewall) assigning different or conflicting IP addresses to a single MAC address are vanishingly small. I'm of the opinion that DNS is a red herring.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#9 OFFLINE   tom74

tom74

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 06:55 PM

Another strange thing. In my " to do list" many recordings are showing in duplicate. Example - Fringe on Fox shows up twice for the same show at same time. Only set up one series recording for it. Weird.

#10 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,363 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 08 November 2012 - 06:58 PM

When they installed your 34, what else did they install?

#11 OFFLINE   tom74

tom74

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 07:20 PM

I think they changed something on the physical dish but I think everything else was left alone from my previous set-up.

#12 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,338 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 08 November 2012 - 07:26 PM

That would have been a SWM LNB.

#13 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,363 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 08 November 2012 - 07:46 PM

I'm not as technical as most of the posters here, but didn't he go from 4 tuners to 9 and shouldn't he have gotten a SWiM16?

#14 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,338 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 08 November 2012 - 08:36 PM

I read it as the HR20 was replaced with the HR34, and is no longer in the picture.

#15 OFFLINE   DTWBHN

DTWBHN

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2011

Posted 08 November 2012 - 08:54 PM

The HR34 showing duplicate recordings is a firmware issue according to directv. I believe your streaming problems reside withingthe receiver deca on the HR21, that would be the white(with 3 lights) or black(with 2 lights) box on the back of the box. There are 2 different models, i will tell you from experience that the lights could all be green and it could still be bad. They sometimes just go bad, and usually wont show issues unless placed under "load" as in streaming content. If thats not it the ethernet port on the back of the 21 is probably going bad. It could be many things but those are the most common issues. The 34 is just gonna be a little goofy for ya until direct gets all the bugs worked out. ***be sure to read my disclaimer***
DirecTV, Wildblue, and Hughesnet Tech.
42" Pany to a HR24, 19" Sanyo to a H25, 32" Emerson to a H24 and a HR24 in the garage
***My comments are personal opinions and do not reflect the opinions of any of the companies I work for or who they are affiliated with***
"my OTA antenna is still my favorite"

#16 OFFLINE   tom74

tom74

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 09:05 PM

I read it as the HR20 was replaced with the HR34, and is no longer in the picture.


That is accurate.

#17 OFFLINE   tom74

tom74

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 09:09 PM

The HR34 showing duplicate recordings is a firmware issue according to directv. I believe your streaming problems reside withingthe receiver deca on the HR21, that would be the white(with 3 lights) or black(with 2 lights) box on the back of the box. There are 2 different models, i will tell you from experience that the lights could all be green and it could still be bad. They sometimes just go bad, and usually wont show issues unless placed under "load" as in streaming content. If thats not it the ethernet port on the back of the 21 is probably going bad. It could be many things but those are the most common issues. The 34 is just gonna be a little goofy for ya until direct gets all the bugs worked out. ***be sure to read my disclaimer***


Thank you very much. I will wait and see if it happens again. If it does, I will try to convince DTV to replace the deca on the 21 and if that does not work than the HR21. Never had much luck getting DTV to change such stuff. Had a bad LNB once that seemed to require an act of congress to get switched out.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...