Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

New spliitter??? which one???


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jksellman

jksellman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2007

Posted 08 November 2012 - 02:37 PM

I have the following
1 HR20-100 (W/ Outboard 2-TB HDD)
1 HR20-700
MRV and SWM

I currently have a four way SWM4 splitter (all four outputs are used)
I want to add another HR20-700 I have.
I see several types of 8 way SWM splitters out there...
If they're green lable and SWM, will they work (with MRV)?
Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 November 2012 - 02:45 PM

I have the following
1 HR20-100 (W/ Outboard 2-TB HDD)
1 HR20-700
MRV and SWM

I currently have a four way SWM4 splitter (all four outputs are used)
I want to add another HR20-700 I have.
I see several types of 8 way SWM splitters out there...
If they're green lable and SWM, will they work (with MRV)?
Thanks

The green label indicates it works with MRV.

Given you have a 4-way, can't you reconfigure the cables to connect the HR20?
A.K.A VOS

#3 ONLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 938 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 08 November 2012 - 02:58 PM

The green label indicates it works with MRV.

Given you have a 4-way, can't you reconfigure the cables to connect the HR20?

I'd think he should be able to...

I have the following
1 HR20-100 (W/ Outboard 2-TB HDD)
1 HR20-700
MRV and SWM

I currently have a four way SWM4 splitter (all four outputs are used)
I want to add another HR20-700 I have.
I see several types of 8 way SWM splitters out there...
If they're green lable and SWM, will they work (with MRV)?
Thanks


You should only have one cable going to each HD-DVR. So a four-way splitter is what you should need.
The HR20-100 should have the cable going from the 4-way to a green-label two-way splitter, with a Band-Stop filter on Sat-In-1 going to one side of the two-way splitter, and then the DECA going to Sat-In 2 and the other side of the 2-way splitter.

The HR20-700 just needs one cable going to the DECA and then the DECA going to Sat-In 1. As would any other HD-DVRs (the HR20-100 is the odd one).

What are you using your other two ports for? (CCK and power-Inserter on it's own run?)

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen Shot 2012-11-08 at 2.55.12 PM.png

DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#4 OFFLINE   otaliema

otaliema

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
  • LocationMid-west USA
Joined: Aug 09, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 03:18 PM

Based on the hardware on the list you "should" have two open ports on the 4way.
Do you have a CCK? if yes gonna venture on a limb and say the PI and the CCK each how thier own lines.
Other wise where are the lines running too?

I am a former DIRECTV employee however all statements opinions, views, expressions, etc, are entirely my own even if logic says otherwise.

They DO NOT reflect on DIRECTV and or any partner, affiliated company's, polices, processes, opinions, or things that are not listed here.

Set up. HR24-200, HR24-200, HR22-200, H23-600. Whole Home, BBCCK, SL3 SWiM.

I have found that working with computers is like working with a toddler, sometimes there is no reason for the melt down, just keep on moving forward.


#5 OFFLINE   jksellman

jksellman

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2007

Posted 08 November 2012 - 04:20 PM

I have one run to each of the DVRs, one for the power supply and one for the modem (internet)....
I have the modem and power supply located near my UPS....

#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 November 2012 - 04:23 PM

I have one run to each of the DVRs, one for the power supply and one for the modem (internet)....
I have the modem and power supply located near my UPS....

With some tweaking both of these can be on the same coax, which frees up one port of your 4-way for your new HR20.
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   jksellman

jksellman

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2007

Posted 08 November 2012 - 04:34 PM

What tweeking will let me run the modem and the power supply on one cable?
Also, just so I know, which 8-way splitter(s) will work?

#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 November 2012 - 04:42 PM

What tweeking will let me run the modem and the power supply on one cable?
Also, just so I know, which 8-way splitter(s) will work?

The power supply has an output connector that the CCK [running to your modem] can connect to, thus both are on one coax.

If you want to go with an 8-way:
http://www.solidsign...ku=874409002084
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...