Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What is the required uplink bandwidth needed for a Sling box


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ratompkins

ratompkins

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 04:13 PM

I have 3 MB DSL from ATT, but the upload rate is only around 300KB. I get messages that I can't get HD and often can't get any signal at all.
What bandwidth is required for the Sling box.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RaymondG@DISH Network

RaymondG@DISH Network

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2011

Posted 08 November 2012 - 04:39 PM

I have 3 MB DSL from ATT, but the upload rate is only around 300KB. I get messages that I can't get HD and often can't get any signal at all.
What bandwidth is required for the Sling box.


You can check the required speed by device by visiting http://www.mydish.co...slinging-device. Please let me know if this helps. Thanks!

#3 OFFLINE   ratompkins

ratompkins

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 04:58 PM

Thanks for the info. Using a smartphone the required BW for standard definition is 250KB and high definition required 500KB. So basically you are not going to get high def and standard def is iffy. I gave up and unplugged my slingbox months ago since it rarely worked.

#4 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 136 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 08 November 2012 - 06:43 PM

I have 2 setups...one has 1 meg up and the other about 500kb.....the one meg blows the doors off the other....a friend that had 5meg is stunning!

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,829 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 08 November 2012 - 06:45 PM

I gave up and unplugged my slingbox months ago since it rarely worked.

It is important not to blame the Slingbox for your lack of bandwidth.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   ratompkins

ratompkins

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 09:06 PM

I have limited experience with Broadband, so my question is what is the normal upload bandwidth. I have experience with ATT DSL and Windstream DSL and they both are 3MG download and approx 300KB upload. When I talked to them about the up load speed they both said 300 MB was standard.
Appreciate your input
Thanks
Bob

#7 OFFLINE   eddwall

eddwall

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2012

Posted 08 November 2012 - 09:17 PM

6 meg DSL service at the house.

Really pleased with the sling adapter. I have two slings, one for each Hopper.

Able to get most attempts in HD.

Plan to upgrade my phone to Galaxy S 3 or a note for bigger screen & better viewing. And of course the 4G LTE can't hurt either.




spam firewall