Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Problem with HR34 and C31


  • Please log in to reply
185 replies to this topic

#161 OFFLINE   TMan

TMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Oct 30, 2007

Posted 19 December 2012 - 10:32 AM

Yes we do. I killed off the power saving on my C31, and just leave it on all the time. The fix until a real fix comes out. Hopefully it burns up and they can replace it, which they will do repeatedly at their cost until it is fixed, because I am sure as hell not paying for it. No shipping costs, no replacement costs, this is their problem. Better testing in house would have found this issue.


They stay surprisingly warm when they're off, too. I know they're not really "off" when they're off, but still.
October 2012 DirecTV subscriber - HR34(Genie)/C31/C31 - AU9-S-SWM Five LNB - Premier

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#162 OFFLINE   ebox4greg

ebox4greg

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2012

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:06 AM

$20 shipping if you don't have the protection plan.......

Yes we do. I killed off the power saving on my C31, and just leave it on all the time. The fix until a real fix comes out. Hopefully it burns up and they can replace it, which they will do repeatedly at their cost until it is fixed, because I am sure as hell not paying for it. No shipping costs, no replacement costs, this is their problem. Better testing in house would have found this issue.



#163 OFFLINE   c6duffman

c6duffman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 20 December 2012 - 09:42 AM

Apparently, there's a new update being pushed out. Anyone have it yet?

http://forums.direct...PostID=11163705

#164 OFFLINE   dserban

dserban

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2008

Posted 22 December 2012 - 05:22 PM

Well, the new update did not do anything for the grey/black screen issue on the C31. Maybe is time to call DTV again.

#165 OFFLINE   c6duffman

c6duffman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:00 PM

Yep, just happened with mine. Oh well.

#166 OFFLINE   Drinyth

Drinyth

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2012

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:51 PM

I'm here for the party as well. C31s were messed up again this evening. So much for my Xmas gift from DirecTV...

#167 OFFLINE   fyrfyter

fyrfyter

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:01 AM

Woke up this morning to a frozen HR34. It was trying to download firmware 05FD. Does anybody have any info on this or how I get it to try again?

#168 OFFLINE   FavreJL04

FavreJL04

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 169 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:29 AM

Hit the red button to reset the receiver. When the "starting up" screen first appears hit 02468 on the remote. After the "almost there" screen goes away it should enter into a forced software update mode. At that point it should find it again and download it. I had to do this cycle on my H20 four times to get it to find the new software so you may have to attempt it a few times.

#169 OFFLINE   zzaapp

zzaapp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2013

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:28 PM

I have only noticed a gray screen when I try to schedule a recording online from my work computer. Not sure if that has any bearing or not.

#170 OFFLINE   c6duffman

c6duffman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 11 January 2013 - 08:21 AM

Well.... It might be fixed. I've been turning the C31 off and on a lot since the last update and so far, no gray screen.

#171 OFFLINE   Drinyth

Drinyth

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2012

Posted 11 January 2013 - 08:27 AM

Well.... It might be fixed. I've been turning the C31 off and on a lot since the last update and so far, no gray screen.


Thanks for the reply. It's been so quiet on this thread as of late, I was wondering how this update affected us. I've gotten so used to leaving my C31 on that it feels weird now to turn it off. :P

I'll make it a habit to do so, though and report back if the problem rears its ugly head again for me.

#172 OFFLINE   Drinyth

Drinyth

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2012

Posted 11 January 2013 - 08:35 AM

I just noticed that my C31 client is running version 0x70e now as well. I'm not sure when that update came through, but it appears that is a new build that just released recently?

#173 OFFLINE   philiphotog

philiphotog

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2012

Posted 11 January 2013 - 08:35 AM

So far so good with the update. I think folks are waiting to see if issues arise as with ours it would happen every 3-4 days although sometimes a couple of times a day.
The latest software earlier in the week is vastly improved. Quicker response times going though the menu and guide. The c-31s also turn on quicker and overall a pleasing experience.
If I get the black or grey screen ill update. Knock on wood.

#174 OFFLINE   philiphotog

philiphotog

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2012

Posted 11 January 2013 - 08:37 AM

I just noticed that my C31 client is running version 0x70e now as well. I'm not sure when that update came through, but it appears that is a new build that just released recently?


That's interesting. I have that too this morning and its dates 12/21. However, I checked this 2 days ago and instill had the previous c-31 update. Good catch.

#175 OFFLINE   clueless

clueless

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2004

Posted 27 June 2013 - 08:43 AM

This thread kind of just died.  I'm running the latest software on a pair of C31's and an HR34.  I've had it for 10 days and I've had to reboot the HR34 5 times due to the gray screen problem on 2 different C31's connected to 2 different TV's (I also have a video freezing problem simultaneously on the HR34).  RBR fixes it for a while.  It's gone as long as 3 days without the issue and as short as 12 hours.

 

Just wondering if software updates fixed everyone's issues on this thread?



#176 OFFLINE   Drinyth

Drinyth

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2012

Posted 27 June 2013 - 08:46 AM

I don't recall exactly what software update it was, but one of them finally fixed the grey screen issues that I was having on the C31 clients.  I haven't had to do a RBR on the HR34 since the release of that update.



#177 OFFLINE   clueless

clueless

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2004

Posted 27 June 2013 - 08:56 AM

I don't recall exactly what software update it was, but one of them finally fixed the grey screen issues that I was having on the C31 clients.  I haven't had to do a RBR on the HR34 since the release of that update.

Good for you.  Bad for me.  :)   Thanks for the quick reply.



#178 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,585 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 27 June 2013 - 12:46 PM

This thread kind of just died.  I'm running the latest software on a pair of C31's and an HR34.  I've had it for 10 days and I've had to reboot the HR34 5 times due to the gray screen problem on 2 different C31's connected to 2 different TV's (I also have a video freezing problem simultaneously on the HR34).  RBR fixes it for a while.  It's gone as long as 3 days without the issue and as short as 12 hours.

 

Just wondering if software updates fixed everyone's issues on this thread?

 

 

Please, what version? And date.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#179 OFFLINE   clueless

clueless

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2004

Posted 29 June 2013 - 08:42 AM

Please, what version? And date.

0x6db dated 6/18 on hr34 and 0x717 on both c31's

haven't had the problem for 3 days. (Knock on wood).

#180 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,585 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 June 2013 - 09:21 AM

OK, I'll knock the wood for ya, too!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...