Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

TV Ratio


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   shoeheel

shoeheel

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 118 posts
Joined: Oct 14, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 10:54 AM

What does "TV Ratio" under my HR24/100 display settings do? Mine is set to "Standard 4:3" but my 720p, Widescreen, 16:9, TV seems to operate fine, with full HD. My DVR video display settings are Native "On", Screen Format "Original Format". All of the TV Resolutions are "checked on". Does this trump the TV Ratio? If so why have the "TV Ratio" setting?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,792 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 11:00 AM

What does "TV Ratio" under my HR24/100 display settings do? Mine is set to "Standard 4:3" but my 720p, Widescreen, 16:9, TV seems to operate fine, with full HD. My DVR video display settings are Native "On", Screen Format "Original Format". All of the TV Resolutions are "checked on". Does this trump the TV Ratio? If so why have the "TV Ratio" setting?

This has stripped everything off of the video, so your TV is doing what it has to.

You do want to change to 16:9.

What the difference is has to do with the other format options.
Currently with 4:3, you have the option for HD in letterbox, which you don't need, but don't have the option for pillarbox for SD, which you might want.

Changing to 16:9, gives you the option for SD format changes and nothing for HD, which you don't need, as your TV is 16:9
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   shoeheel

shoeheel

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 118 posts
Joined: Oct 14, 2006

Posted 09 November 2012 - 11:10 AM

This has stripped everything off of the video, so your TV is doing what it has to.

You do want to change to 16:9.

What the difference is has to do with the other format options.
Currently with 4:3, you have the option for HD in letterbox, which you don't need, but don't have the option for pillarbox for SD, which you might want.

Changing to 16:9, gives you the option for SD format changes and nothing for HD, which you don't need, as your TV is 16:9


Thanks! A very good explanation!

#4 OFFLINE   TANK

TANK

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 883 posts
  • LocationFLORIDA
Joined: Feb 16, 2003

Posted 11 November 2012 - 09:39 AM

Since you have a 720p ,I would suggest also turning native to "off " and only selecting 720p as your resolution. I do this with my 720p plasma and it seems to allow my HR23 to work a little faster . It also seems to make the sd channels look a bit better.

Try it for a day or so,if you don't like it just change it back

#5 OFFLINE   Newshawk

Newshawk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,427 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2004

Posted 11 November 2012 - 11:17 AM

Since you have a 720p ,I would suggest also turning native to "off " and only selecting 720p as your resolution. I do this with my 720p plasma and it seems to allow my HR23 to work a little faster . It also seems to make the sd channels look a bit better.

Try it for a day or so,if you don't like it just change it back

I second Tank's suggestion. I watch a lot of anime from the Anime Network On Demand (channel 1889). It's in SD but most of the newer series are letterboxed so I use the "Crop" setting to make the video fit the screen. However, some older series are in 4:3 format, so I switch back to "Pillar Box" to watch them. With only 720p selected, I only have to cycle through four formats-crop, original format, stretch and pillar box. Oh, and watching Doctor Who before BBC America went HD was at least tolerable.

DIRECTV employee April 2004-November 2012.
The above comments are my own because I don't know if anyone would care about my opinions anymore.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...