Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need to enter channel numbers 2 or 3 times


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 12 April 2013 - 07:15 PM

It takes at least 15 to 20 minutes to reboot twice!

I never have that problem on the HR24-200, in fact it reboots pretty fast like getting a snack at the kitchen then returning to my bedroom to see picture.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 12 April 2013 - 07:19 PM

But the HR22-100 in the other hand takes at least 7 to 10 minutes, which i rarely if ever needed to reboot.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#53 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 13 April 2013 - 11:59 AM

I never have that problem on the HR24-200, in fact it reboots pretty fast like getting a snack at the kitchen then returning to my bedroom to see picture.


I just rebooted nine 24s the other day. Took ~ 1.5 hours. I watched each one reboot. I was having problems with my MRV and had to do a complete shutdown of the MRV system and then reboot. So, it took about 10 minutes for each receiver to reboot. Some were faster than others. Apparently depends on the size of the content on each 24. In other words a 24 with an empty drive reboots faster than one that has a lot of content on the drive. All had 2TB drive on/in them.

Rich

#54 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 13 April 2013 - 12:23 PM

But i have a 1tb ext drive on the 24 thats almost full but still reboots normally, but the 22 has a 2tb that's half full but takes 10 minutes at least even on internal drive.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#55 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 13 April 2013 - 01:00 PM

But i have a 1tb ext drive on the 24 thats almost full but still reboots normally, but the 22 has a 2tb that's half full but takes 10 minutes at least even on internal drive.


After rebooting all those 24s I'll stick with about 10 minutes a reboot. The 22-100 you have is more than capable of doing some very strange things. I wouldn't use that unit as a benchmark for anything.

Rich

#56 OFFLINE   CopyCat

CopyCat

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 324 posts
  • LocationSouth Carolina
Joined: Jan 21, 2008

Posted 14 April 2013 - 09:32 AM

I found the best remote for our units is my iPad using the DirecTV app.


If it an't broke, don't fix it

Slimline Dish w/SWM-5LNB to 8 way splitter.
HR24-500 HDMI Sony KDL-52XBR2
HR24-500 HDMI Sony KDL-46XBR4
HR21-200 - Component Emerson LCD SLC195EM8
All networked via CAT5 to a Netgear 10/100/1000 Switch connected to a Cisco Linksys E4200 to DSL.

#57 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,263 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 16 April 2013 - 11:52 AM

This has been going on for at least 5 years. The remote is fine. DirecTV needs to fix the software on the DVR, which they will never do. If they had the skill or mental capacity to fix it, they would have done it long ago. So you can do all the little tricks and temporary fixes you want, but nothing is going to change on the current hardware. The best you can hope for is that as time goes on, later generations of DVRs will be fast enough to mask the problem.



#58 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 16 April 2013 - 11:59 AM

Same procedure with any camera: Hold camera in one hand looking at LCD display, with other hand point the IR emitter directly into the camera lens, press a button on the remote, if the remote is working the IR emitter will show up on the display as a white light.

My phone shows a white box every time I hit the remote.  Didn't matter where I held the remote or camera, it showed the white box every time I hit the remote.  That was with the remote in RF mode.

 

Rich



#59 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 16 April 2013 - 12:07 PM

This has been going on for at least 5 years. The remote is fine. DirecTV needs to fix the software on the DVR, which they will never do. If they had the skill or mental capacity to fix it, they would have done it long ago. So you can do all the little tricks and temporary fixes you want, but nothing is going to change on the current hardware. The best you can hope for is that as time goes on, later generations of DVRs will be fast enough to mask the problem.

 

I know you don't want to hear this, but I've only had that problem with HRs with corrupted Guide data.  Flushing the Guide data stops that problem immediately.  I don't view this as a temporary fix, once you do the flushing you should be good for a long time.  I also don't see it as a hardware problem.  I don't see it as a software problem either.  I do see it as a Guide data problem that is, at worst, an infrequent problem.  

 

Rich



#60 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,263 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 16 April 2013 - 12:49 PM

I know you don't want to hear this, but I've only had that problem with HRs with corrupted Guide data.  Flushing the Guide data stops that problem immediately.  I don't view this as a temporary fix, once you do the flushing you should be good for a long time.  I also don't see it as a hardware problem.  I don't see it as a software problem either.  I do see it as a Guide data problem that is, at worst, an infrequent problem.  

 

Rich

I dumped DirecTV years ago (in my own home at least), so it makes no difference to me. I'm open to any and all permanent solutions (not temporary workarounds or band-aids). But I have to disagree that errors in guide data bringing the system to its knees is not a software problem. I don't know about you, but if my software couldn't handle errors gracefully, I'd be fired. Especially if I was unable to fix it for 5 years and counting.



#61 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 16 April 2013 - 01:40 PM

I dumped DirecTV years ago (in my own home at least), so it makes no difference to me. I'm open to any and all permanent solutions (not temporary workarounds or band-aids). But I have to disagree that errors in guide data bringing the system to its knees is not a software problem. I don't know about you, but if my software couldn't handle errors gracefully, I'd be fired. Especially if I was unable to fix it for 5 years and counting.

 

 

I didn't say it brought the system to it's knees.  I was talking about one HR. That's all that's affected by corrupted Guide data.  If the problem is with each HR in a system, something else is wrong.  I have 12 active HRs and none, normally, have this problem.  Usually, it's only on the HR that you use the most.

 

Rich



#62 OFFLINE   makaiguy

makaiguy

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 675 posts
  • LocationAiken, SC
Joined: Sep 24, 2007

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:37 PM

Of course, to completely flush the guide data, you're rebooting your DVR twice in succession.  Whose to say it's not the rebooting, instead of the new guide data, that's the fix?


DirecTV customer since 1997
HR24-500, HR22-100
I don't do buddy/friends lists, don't ask.

#63 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,263 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:59 PM

I didn't say it brought the system to it's knees.  I was talking about one HR. That's all that's affected by corrupted Guide data.  If the problem is with each HR in a system, something else is wrong.  I have 12 active HRs and none, normally, have this problem.  Usually, it's only on the HR that you use the most.

 

Rich

I've had my share of HRs over the years (not a completely insane number), and all were painfully slow at all times after, say 2008, IIRC. They were pretty speedy before that time. If I had paid attention, I probably could have told you the exact software version where things went wrong. Didn't matter how many guide flushes I did. The only flush that eventually solved the problem was when I flushed my DirecTV contract down the toilet (figuratively of course). What blows my mind is that were still debating the exact same issue all these years later. Nothing has changed.



#64 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,330 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 16 April 2013 - 03:25 PM

I've had my share of HRs over the years (not a completely insane number), and all were painfully slow at all times after, say 2008, IIRC. They were pretty speedy before that time. If I had paid attention, I probably could have told you the exact software version where things went wrong. Didn't matter how many guide flushes I did. The only flush that eventually solved the problem was when I flushed my DirecTV contract down the toilet (figuratively of course). What blows my mind is that were still debating the exact same issue all these years later. Nothing has changed.

This issue is different. I have a fairly speedy receiver that has this channel numbers not registering to change the channel. The numbers take just fine, the channel just won't change.  It's not IR (thanks again for trying the remote awhile back) only, either, because it happens with IP control, too. The only solution seems to be hitting 'Enter' after the numbers.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#65 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 17 April 2013 - 01:10 PM

Of course, to completely flush the guide data, you're rebooting your DVR twice in succession.  Whose to say it's not the rebooting, instead of the new guide data, that's the fix?

 

Oh, I dunno.  Perhaps because one reboot does nothing?  I didn't come up with the whole flushing the Guide data thing by myself, I read about it and tried it and it worked.  A single reboot did nothing.  There are people on this forum I've come to trust and that's where I got the idea from.  I didn't randomly make it up, I followed someone who knew more than I did.  

 

When I first found this forum I knew practically nothing about HRs.  I learned from those who knew a lot more than I did.  I'm perfectly comfortable admitting my ignorance and asking for help, not arguing constantly with those who know more than I do.

 

Rich 



#66 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 17 April 2013 - 03:27 PM

To flush guide data, do you have to wait until the system is fully rebooted and viewing live TV before you reboot it again?  Or can you just do a menu reset and then press the red button again while it is starting up on the basic blue screen?

 

It is a little slow, especially DVR's.  One does have to wonder how taxed the CPU is.  They seem awfully underpowered.  Though HR44 users say those systems are incredibly fast.  The HR44 is using a much better CPU.  So that kind of rules out software since its running the same software as the HR34.  It must be a CPU or Memory/Bus limitation. 

 

Because its write once - deploy many... the software build is theoretically not optimized for each set to box CPU.  Why do you think Flash and Java suck performance wise?  Write once / deploy many...

 

I think there is room for optimization.  Each CPU has its own library of hardware acceleration drivers and optimization routines.  It'd run really fast if it was all written in assembly language specific to the processor.  However the development time (and remember time is money) is most likely why it is not done that way.

 

If I could do more via my iPad (like manage to do list, series priorities, see DVR disk space usage, browse VOD screens and queue content to download, etc...) I wouldn't even have to go in the guide on my HR24-200.  It would be nice if the YouTube app on iPhone or iPad could pair with DirecTV like it can with XBOX and other YouTube media streamers.  Takes a while entering search terms using the old tap text method on the DirecTV remote.


Edited by cypherx, 17 April 2013 - 03:30 PM.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#67 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 18 April 2013 - 11:49 AM

To flush guide data, do you have to wait until the system is fully rebooted and viewing live TV before you reboot it again?  Or can you just do a menu reset and then press the red button again while it is starting up on the basic blue screen?

 

It is a little slow, especially DVR's.  One does have to wonder how taxed the CPU is.  They seem awfully underpowered.  Though HR44 users say those systems are incredibly fast.  The HR44 is using a much better CPU.  So that kind of rules out software since its running the same software as the HR34.  It must be a CPU or Memory/Bus limitation. 

 

Because its write once - deploy many... the software build is theoretically not optimized for each set to box CPU.  Why do you think Flash and Java suck performance wise?  Write once / deploy many...

 

I think there is room for optimization.  Each CPU has its own library of hardware acceleration drivers and optimization routines.  It'd run really fast if it was all written in assembly language specific to the processor.  However the development time (and remember time is money) is most likely why it is not done that way.

 

If I could do more via my iPad (like manage to do list, series priorities, see DVR disk space usage, browse VOD screens and queue content to download, etc...) I wouldn't even have to go in the guide on my HR24-200.  It would be nice if the YouTube app on iPhone or iPad could pair with DirecTV like it can with XBOX and other YouTube media streamers.  Takes a while entering search terms using the old tap text method on the DirecTV remote.

 

 

I wait until the reboot is complete and I have a picture, then I reboot again.  I'd stay away from that red button.  If you have to do a hard reboot, I'd pull the cord.  To do a flush of the Guide data, I go to Settings and there is an option to restart the HR.  I use that and it works very well.

 

Rich






Protected By... spam firewall...And...